We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, stunning location, but ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Ranked #1 of 80 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This hotel is in beautiful colonial style and like the previous 3 hotels on our trip to Peru and Brazil, is owned by Orient Express so we were surprised that most staff did not speak English sufficiently to be able to help. In addition we booked a deluxe room which the hotel website says 'all deluxe rooms have a garden view'. We had wanted a Falls view but no rooms were available so we settled for garden view and paid a supplement accordingly. We were disappointed to find that our room had a view of the road outside and so did our friends' room. We asked the duty manager about this and were told, with no concern at all, that the website is wrong! Not good enough for Orient Express at all. They offered us a free dinner but did not include any drinks - tbh we would have soonered that we got the room we paid for as our supplement was more than the free dinner.

Having said all of this, our room 2201 was a lovely room provided you didn't look out of the window, the pool is beautiful and tHey bring round cold towels, fruit etc all day long. Breakfast was disappointing as they were unable to cook poached eggs or fried eggs without totally ruining them so we stuck to omelettes. The location allowed us to do a pre breakfast walk of the Brazilian side of the Iguazu Falls before it is open to the public. This was a fantastic experience and allowed us to contrast the views with the Argentinian side. The walk out onto the Devils Throat bridge was incredible but very wet - it actually felt as if you were standing in the middle of the falls. We saw the most spectacular rainbows including the first full circular one I have ever seen so it was worth staying here just for that.

Room Tip: if you're not bothered by the view but want a very big room, the 2201 or other corner rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSOCBrentwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,839 - 1,845 of 4,196 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

You must book this hotel when visiting the falls! Right in the park it gives uncrowded viewing opportunties and the perfect place to relax with its delightful pool area. Breakfasts were fantastic and the dinner restaurant featured delicious courses.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MJCH_england
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This was a really wonderful place. First, you are literally right on the stops of the falls. This is the only open in the park. Also, you can see the falls before and after everyone has left the park. So, just the location alone is amazing. The hotel itself was great too. Very comfortable. The pool was beautiful, the grounds were beautiful. There is a breakfast buffet which is very nice. The dinner is pretty expensive. The buffet was only OK, the a la cart restaurant was really good.
Our one complaint was that the internet was not that great.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kangaroo2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Unique and wonderful position , with the opportunity to visit the falls before the crowds arrive or after they have left . This hotel is excellent , very much on a par with what you expect from an Orient Express hotel . It is a quite large colonial style building which fits nicely with its surroundings . There is a helpful travel agency within the building to organise any trips you want to take from the hotel . The room we had in the Garden Wing was very nice , attractive decor , very efficient air con , and pleasant outlook . The buffet style breakfast was excellent and so was dinner . We didn't try the more formal dining room but lunch near the very nice pool was good and tasty
Staff were very pleasant . Would 100% recommend

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JANDDBritinParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Lets face it, visiting Iguacu Falls is of itself a most amazing experience, and you could camp in a tent and still have the most wonderful time.

However the Hotel das Cataratas adds to this experience with a level of comfort and service that has to be experienced to be believed. We spent two days there, and I could not find fault with a single thing.

Now, the price is in line with this standard, and can be a bit off-putting - it was more than ten times the price per night of our excellent accommodation in Cusco, for example - and we certainly couldn't afford more than a couple of nights there, but just for the experience I think that it was money well spent.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This hotel is right next door to the waterfalls and one can hear the lovely sounds day and night.
It is an older hotel that maintains the arquitecture and beauty of the past, excellent food and very pleasant spaces.
It is great for families after a whole day visiting the wonderful Iguazu Park and falls and other local attractions. Rooms are spacious and clean.

Room Tip: Our room was excelent without any special requests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtlantaDoriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed for one night and everything was amazing. Staying at the hotel also allows access to the park at anytime which was definitely worth paying the money for. Staff we're amazing and the breakfast was incredible!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phillip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#3 of 80 in Foz do Iguacu
2,785 reviews
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#15 of 80 in Foz do Iguacu
1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Colonial Iguacu
#41 of 80 in Foz do Iguacu
1,300 reviews
Wish Foz do Iguacu by GJP
#14 of 80 in Foz do Iguacu
2,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel das Cataratas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel das Cataratas

Address: Rodovia Br 469 Km 32 | Iguacu National Park, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85855-750, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Spa Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#5 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range: £228 - £469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel das Cataratas 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the spectacular Iguacu Falls in Iguacu National Park, the 5-star Belmond Hotel das Cataratas provides free Wi-Fi internet access. Guests can enjoy a cocktail by the swimming pool or play a game of tennis on the provided court. The falls can be experienced by speed boat, rafting or by a helicopter flyover. For excitement and adventure, guests can enjoy abseiling, rock climbing and canopy walks. Walking tours allow for the surrounding lush rain forest to be explored. Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers traditional Portuguese styled rooms with a flat screen TV, dark wood furniture and warm natural tones. Some rooms provide a balcony and seating area. The two restaurants on-site provide views of the falls and of the hotel's pool. They serve a selection of international and local Brazilian cuisine. In the evening live music can be enjoyed in the downstairs bar. The Iguacu Falls lie between the Brazilian state of Parana and Argentina. The Brazilian side offers postcard panoramic views, while the Argentinian side provides varied, up-close views. The hotel is located in a privileged position, alongside the Iguassu Falls. It is in fact the only hotel situated in the Iguassu National Park. Because of its prime location, the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers its guests a unique experience - taking walks along the trails by the falls which may be done at any time during the day, with the added advantage that from 7 a.M to 9 a.M, the trails are for guests of the hotel exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond Hotel das Cataratas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Das Cataratas Hotel
Tropical Das Cataratas
Hotel Das Cataratas
Hotel Tropical Das Cataratas
Belmond Hotel Das Cataratas Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - Parana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing