We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth... at a price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
Ploiesti, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth... at a price!”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This is certainly the best hotel experience we've ever had.
We chose it because of its location: right inside the Iguacu Cataratas Parque, which meant that we had the cataratas to ourselves between 6pm and 9am-which is access for visitors.
Apart from a lot of coatis and innumerable birds we didn't meet much wildlife ( being there a bit off season, there weren't any fruit for the monkeys to get), without counting the numerous XXL reptiles which were taking in the sun right under our window.
The property stretches on a large area, being only one storey high, surrounded by a perfectly manicured lawn with palm trees, a pool open all day/night long,and further on by forests of the lushest green-no wonder, since the air is filled in the morning with a fine spray coming from the neighbouring falls.
The breakfast buffet includes all one might want, let alone sparkling wine and smoked salmon, plus a generous amount of fruit-some of which I hadn't seen before. Waiters are there to cater for all your needs, birds do their thing right beside you, butterflies gently land on your table (if you let them)....
The room we stayed in is generous in proportions, furnished with a fine touch of colonial style, the floors are glimmering hardwood which is a treat for the soles of your feet, rooms are attended to twice a day, toiletries are excellent quality, bathrobes are friendly....
The overall feeling you have is that of being pampered and waited upon every moment, without feeling under pressure from too much caring ( like in other places)-staff are well trained to make you forget they even exist!
The reception staff speak good English and cater to all your needs;there is a free shuttle to take you to/from the hotel to the entrance of the park. We arrived late at night and were met by their taxi at the airport ( 1a.m.).
The gym looks onto the patio, is supplied with fresh water, apples, towels and opens on the pool area; I was the only one there for 2 days consecutively.
There is more to tell about this wonderful hotel, but we only spent 2 nights there and weren't able to check it all out.
Downside? The price, of course, but in this cruel world everything comes at a price; in this case at least it is fully justified!

Room Tip: Choose the Garden wing to enjoy more animals from your window. Be loaded! Climb up the tower for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adamoroianu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,240
    459
    91
    33
    18
See reviews for
744
2,132
203
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (583)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ankara, Turkey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

I can not find a word to explain my feelings during our stay at Hotel das Cataratas. The location, staff, restaurants, open buffet breakfast, the room, quality of the service, they were all exceptional, if you come to Iguassu falls, you must stay at this hotel!! I will never forget our stay at your hotel!

The only thing that i should critize is the spa, we don't like the massage which we had, it was the worse in my life, the spa should be exceptional like the hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We just spent 4 days at Hotel das Cataratas at Iguassu Falls, and it was amazing. The room was beautiful with a balcony overlooking the gorge. The service was some of the best I have ever experienced, from check in, to tour guides, to wait staff, to chambermaids, to check out. The breakfast (included in the room rate) was delicious, with varied fruits, eggs, breads, and meat. As a swimmer, I really appreciated the huge, beautiful pool . Oh yes, and then there are the Falls, themselves which are incredible - and the wildlife and birds. By staying in the park, you have the Falls to yourself in the morning and evening - a special treat. The raft trip and the eco tour were perfect. An exquisite, excellent hotel in a beautiful setting.

Room Tip: Visit the Falls in the morning and evening, when only people staying at the hotel have access to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ssaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I've stayed in some amazing places but Hotel das Cataratas takes it all to a new level. The staff, the location, the amenities all surprised, delighted and exceeded my already high expectations. The rooms are absolutely sublime, with Brazilian hardwood floors dating back to 1958. The hamburger in the bar was one of the best I'd ever had. The breakfast buffet each morning was overflowing with fresh and local options.

I had originally chosen to stay here for the after hours access to the Park for photography. The other pluses of this wonderful hotel revealed themselves during my stay. I cant wait to come back, but this time with my wonderful and long suffering honey. Being here without her was a mistake that wont happen again. :)

Thanks again Fabio for your wonderfully professional and insightful service.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are wonderful and quieter than the Forest rooms. Only go for the dinner buffet if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seattlenativemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisboa
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Perfect place, wild nature, and excelent service in the Heart of "Foz do Iguaçu"! Thank you everyone for exquisite 5 stars Hotel service and welcoming. Cheers, from João , Begoña and little Pedrinho. 2 or 3 days are perfect to visit all the sorundings. Cheers

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cabraljoaopedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taichung, Taiwan
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

What can I say? A five star hotel with five star services, five star food and SIX star location.

I got a good deal from Luxury Link for a 3 night package and really enjoyed my stay there.

For me the best thing about staying in this hotel was being able to walk around while the national park was closed and only hotel guests have access to the park. Usually there would only be very few, if any people walking around and the park is just beautiful and tranquil. On the day of our check-out, it was the first fine day of our 3-day stay so we went to the fall during the park's normal open hour. There were so many people and we were practically rubbing shoulders with them and smelling their sweat and perfume. While the view was breathtaking with several rainbows, it didn't feel very nice. The chance to see rainbows in the Brazilian side is best in the morning and Argentinian side in the weafternoon.

Breakfast is fantastic in the hotel, as one would expect. It is a good idea to wake up early, go walk around the fall, which takes max 1 hour, then come back for breakfast. This is the best way to take full advantage of staying in this hotel.

Our package included dinner for 2 at the Ipe Grill, the pool-side churrascaria restaurant, which usually cost R122 per person, We went on our 2nd night. It was much better than we expected, coming head to head witht the best churrascaria in San Paulo or Rio. Every hot dish was amazingly tasty and meat was cooked to perfection, juicy and tender. Service was of course impeccable. Highly recommend it.

The only down-side of the hotel for us was the inconvenience and cost to explore areas outside the park, such as the town centro (not much to see or do really) and the Itaipu dam (recommended). It takes 15min from the hotel to the park entrance and then another 30min to the centro and 40mins to the dam. The best way would be to take the free hotel shuttle (running every 20min) to the park entrance and take a taxi there to whereever you wish to go. There are buses but timetable was unpredictable and too much trouble. The hotel usually charges twice as much for private transporation (R150 to centro, R90 to Brizillian airport, R280 return trip the dam and R280 to Argentinian park and airport).

Just a final reminder, if you hold Australian/US/Canadian passport and are going to the Argentinina side from Brazil, remember to pre-pay your entry visa online before going. They do not take payments at the Argentinian border. We were not told this and this caused us all sorts of troubles and delays.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NNJTaiwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton-le-Moor, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
385 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Visit to Ignacio Falls is a must .. They are spectacular and this is the only hotel within the national park.with direct view of the falls. A luxury hotel in the truest sense with plenty of staff, willing to be helpful. Restaurant good standard. Swimming pool lovely. Wish I could stay more than one night. Quite spread out, so long corridors but building thus kept low.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avocettoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
2,566 reviews
City Center
Taroba Hotel
Taroba Hotel
#15 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
5,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#17 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
1,334 reviews
Hotel Colonial Iguacu
#43 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel das Cataratas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel das Cataratas

Property: Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Address: Rodovia Br 469 Km 32 | Iguacu National Park, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85855-750, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Spa Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#5 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel das Cataratas 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the spectacular Iguacu Falls in Iguacu National Park, the 5-star Belmond Hotel das Cataratas provides free Wi-Fi internet access. Guests can enjoy a cocktail by the swimming pool or play a game of tennis on the provided court. The falls can be experienced by speed boat, rafting or by a helicopter flyover. For excitement and adventure, guests can enjoy abseiling, rock climbing and canopy walks. Walking tours allow for the surrounding lush rain forest to be explored. Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers traditional Portuguese styled rooms with a flat screen TV, dark wood furniture and warm natural tones. Some rooms provide a balcony and seating area. The two restaurants on-site provide views of the falls and of the hotel's pool. They serve a selection of international and local Brazilian cuisine. In the evening live music can be enjoyed in the downstairs bar. The Iguacu Falls lie between the Brazilian state of Parana and Argentina. The Brazilian side offers postcard panoramic views, while the Argentinian side provides varied, up-close views. The hotel is located in a privileged position, alongside the Iguassu Falls. It is in fact the only hotel situated in the Iguassu National Park. Because of its prime location, the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers its guests a unique experience - taking walks along the trails by the falls which may be done at any time during the day, with the added advantage that from 7 a.M to 9 a.M, the trails are for guests of the hotel exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Hotel das Cataratas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Das Cataratas Hotel
Tropical Das Cataratas
Hotel Das Cataratas
Hotel Tropical Das Cataratas
Belmond Hotel Das Cataratas Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - Parana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing