We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth its weight in gold”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Ranked #1 of 79 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth its weight in gold”
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Very expensive and classy place. Out of hours entry to the park was worth the premium alone in my view as you can stroll the falls in the morning before the great unwashed arrive and at sunset. Hotel service, food, location and rooms are excellent.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtravellerplu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,196
    453
    90
    33
    17
See reviews for
734
2,101
201
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (577)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Reading other TA reviews, I agree with everyone who said that this hotel is truly special; from the front desk staff (a young man who's surname is Chan who told me a story about his father which really personalized the service he provided), to the server at the bar who was very apologetic that he was not able to serve me as quickly as he wanted because there was a sudden rush of people in the bar (and his service the rest of the evening was flawless), to the staff member who saw me exercising, without the lights on (it didn't even occur to me to turn on the lights when i started exercising as it wasn't dark) and came in to turn on the lights.

We were on an afternoon flight and didn't check in until almost 4pm. A huge advantage of staying at this hotel is we were allowed to stay on the trails as long as we wanted. While all the non hotel visitors had to catch the last bus out of the park (at 6:30pm), we stayed and walked back to the hotel when it was getting dark. This is a huge advantage especially since we got the park so late in the day. Furthermore, we got up early the next morning and were on the trails before 7am and we saw no more 5 other hotel guests the entire time we were on the trails that morning. The falls are even more magical when you can enjoy them in relative peace and quiet. We headed back to enjoy the gorgeous buffet breakfast just when the swarms of park visitors started arriving on the buses.

Just some points that readers may find helpful:
1.Your taxi cannot take your directly to the hotel. The taxi can only take you as far as the gate to the National Park and the Hotel van will take you from the gate to the hotel (I believe around 7 miles or so).
2. If you fly into the Foz du Iguacu (IGR) airport, the taxi to the National Park gate will be 30 Reals. The taxi driver will stop at the National Park Information centre so you can go inside to purchase your entrance ticket before proceeding to the gate. It is only 5-10 minutes from airport to national park
3. When you leave the hotel, the hotel van will drive you back out to the front gates again. It is here that a taxi can meet you to take you wherever you need to go (tell the hotel when you check out that you need a taxi and they will call and have one waiting). In my case, I wanted to see the falls from the Argentina side and was staying one night in Puerto Iguazu. The taxi picked us up at the gate and drove us to the border. He took us inside to get stamped out of Brazil and then drove us across the Argentina border crossing and dropped us off at the hotel we were staying in Puerto Iguazu. This cost us 120 Reals.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skaterdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

If you want to spoil yourself look no further than the Hotel Das Cataratas. I spent two nights at the hotel in October with my husband to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary and I cannot fault the hotel or the staff. Yes its pricey but it is worth every penny.
The views are absolutely breathtaking, the staff are attentive, the rooms spotless and the meals excellent.
The views from the Mirante Tower were stunning - not only of the falls but of the whole of the Cataratas Parque.
We ate in the buffet barbeque restaurant on our first night and in the A La Carte restaurant on the second night. On each occasion the waiters were very attentive, making sure that drinks were topped up and seating you at your table.
As we had a full day planned for our second day we had a reasonably early night so didn't try out the bar until our second night when we enjoyed a few drinks of Cachaca - and a taste of some of the special bottles of Cachaca courtesy of the bar waiter!
Unfortunately we had an early morning flight to catch but there was a cold buffet breakfast laid out in reception so that we could eat before being driven to the airport.
I hope that we can return some day and enjoy the pool area and the spa which, due to time constraints, we were unable to do on this trip.
Definitely worth every penny!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Yes, this definitely is the hotel to stay in if you wish to see the waterfall and the wildlife with no other tourists apart from hotel guests. This can done both morning and evening, and it is really worth doing. We stayed for two nights and eat at each of the two restaurants, the buffet/bar-b-que was very average especially for R$126+tax per person. The a-la-carte Restuarant may cost a little more but at least the food is freshly cooked even though they supply you with copious amounts of bread to fill you up!
The hotel itself is all you would expect of a 5 star establishment, where the pool and surrounding area are very nice indeed. One note of caution, the free wi-fi is very intermittent especially if you are away from the pool area where the signal seems the strongest.
We really enjoyed our stay mainly because of the natural wonder right on our doorstep.

Room Tip: If you do not want to use the restaurants in the evening there are places for lunch, up to about 4pm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ploiesti, Romania
Level Contributor
136 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This is certainly the best hotel experience we've ever had.
We chose it because of its location: right inside the Iguacu Cataratas Parque, which meant that we had the cataratas to ourselves between 6pm and 9am-which is access for visitors.
Apart from a lot of coatis and innumerable birds we didn't meet much wildlife ( being there a bit off season, there weren't any fruit for the monkeys to get), without counting the numerous XXL reptiles which were taking in the sun right under our window.
The property stretches on a large area, being only one storey high, surrounded by a perfectly manicured lawn with palm trees, a pool open all day/night long,and further on by forests of the lushest green-no wonder, since the air is filled in the morning with a fine spray coming from the neighbouring falls.
The breakfast buffet includes all one might want, let alone sparkling wine and smoked salmon, plus a generous amount of fruit-some of which I hadn't seen before. Waiters are there to cater for all your needs, birds do their thing right beside you, butterflies gently land on your table (if you let them)....
The room we stayed in is generous in proportions, furnished with a fine touch of colonial style, the floors are glimmering hardwood which is a treat for the soles of your feet, rooms are attended to twice a day, toiletries are excellent quality, bathrobes are friendly....
The overall feeling you have is that of being pampered and waited upon every moment, without feeling under pressure from too much caring ( like in other places)-staff are well trained to make you forget they even exist!
The reception staff speak good English and cater to all your needs;there is a free shuttle to take you to/from the hotel to the entrance of the park. We arrived late at night and were met by their taxi at the airport ( 1a.m.).
The gym looks onto the patio, is supplied with fresh water, apples, towels and opens on the pool area; I was the only one there for 2 days consecutively.
There is more to tell about this wonderful hotel, but we only spent 2 nights there and weren't able to check it all out.
Downside? The price, of course, but in this cruel world everything comes at a price; in this case at least it is fully justified!

Room Tip: Choose the Garden wing to enjoy more animals from your window. Be loaded! Climb up the tower for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adamoroianu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

I can not find a word to explain my feelings during our stay at Hotel das Cataratas. The location, staff, restaurants, open buffet breakfast, the room, quality of the service, they were all exceptional, if you come to Iguassu falls, you must stay at this hotel!! I will never forget our stay at your hotel!

The only thing that i should critize is the spa, we don't like the massage which we had, it was the worse in my life, the spa should be exceptional like the hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We just spent 4 days at Hotel das Cataratas at Iguassu Falls, and it was amazing. The room was beautiful with a balcony overlooking the gorge. The service was some of the best I have ever experienced, from check in, to tour guides, to wait staff, to chambermaids, to check out. The breakfast (included in the room rate) was delicious, with varied fruits, eggs, breads, and meat. As a swimmer, I really appreciated the huge, beautiful pool . Oh yes, and then there are the Falls, themselves which are incredible - and the wildlife and birds. By staying in the park, you have the Falls to yourself in the morning and evening - a special treat. The raft trip and the eco tour were perfect. An exquisite, excellent hotel in a beautiful setting.

Room Tip: Visit the Falls in the morning and evening, when only people staying at the hotel have access to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ssaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foz do Iguacu
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,498 reviews
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#19 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loi Suites Iguazu
#4 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,059 reviews
Mabu Thermas Grand Resort
#20 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel das Cataratas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel das Cataratas

Property: Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Address: Rodovia Br 469 Km 32 | Iguacu National Park, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85855-750, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Spa Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#5 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel das Cataratas 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the spectacular Iguacu Falls in Iguacu National Park, the 5-star Belmond Hotel das Cataratas provides free Wi-Fi internet access. Guests can enjoy a cocktail by the swimming pool or play a game of tennis on the provided court. The falls can be experienced by speed boat, rafting or by a helicopter flyover. For excitement and adventure, guests can enjoy abseiling, rock climbing and canopy walks. Walking tours allow for the surrounding lush rain forest to be explored. Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers traditional Portuguese styled rooms with a flat screen TV, dark wood furniture and warm natural tones. Some rooms provide a balcony and seating area. The two restaurants on-site provide views of the falls and of the hotel's pool. They serve a selection of international and local Brazilian cuisine. In the evening live music can be enjoyed in the downstairs bar. The Iguacu Falls lie between the Brazilian state of Parana and Argentina. The Brazilian side offers postcard panoramic views, while the Argentinian side provides varied, up-close views. The hotel is located in a privileged position, alongside the Iguassu Falls. It is in fact the only hotel situated in the Iguassu National Park. Because of its prime location, the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers its guests a unique experience - taking walks along the trails by the falls which may be done at any time during the day, with the added advantage that from 7 a.M to 9 a.M, the trails are for guests of the hotel exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Belmond, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Belmond Hotel das Cataratas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Das Cataratas Hotel
Tropical Das Cataratas
Hotel Das Cataratas
Hotel Tropical Das Cataratas
Belmond Hotel Das Cataratas Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - Parana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing