We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Ranked #1 of 79 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Lovely lovely hotel. If you are going to Iguazu you must stay here. We booked the day before and got a better deal than booking in advance. Whilst still expensive, worth every penny - and wish stayed more than 1 night. The staff are fantastic, service excellent and hotel facilities beautiful. Lovely pool. Enjoyed the buffet dinner at night time - cost about £45 each - expensive but delicious. As the hotel is in the park you can see sunset over the falls and also in the morning before the tourists arrive head down to the walkways right into the falls and get uninterrupted views. Breakfast great too. Cant recommend enough - I also stated one night at the Sheraton on the Argentina side and whilst this was great too - if you only have one night - the Das Cataratas wins hands down. The hotel is about 10 mins from the gate to the Brazilian park - the hotel has a reception at the gate and a bus takes you to the hotel reception. You need to buy a ticket to the park before going to the hotel.From the gate of the park, the Brazilian Iguazu airport is less than a 10 minute cab ride, although despite its closeness, the airport was poorly managed and chaotic check in and security. Took 2 hours from arrival to get to the gate and almost missed flight - so don't leave it too late!

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room, but superior rooms also looked great. Deluxe ones are within the main building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ramsbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,067)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,735 - 1,741 of 4,067 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

We changed to this hotel the last minute as we met this couple who stayed at this hotel. They highly recommended it. We did not have a clue of where to stay actually as it was our first time visiting the country. There is a magnificient view of the Falls. It was just breath taking. Believe me, it is worth every penny staying there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

By staying here you get to view the falls before and after the park closes -- before the hordes of people visit. All of the staff is so very helpful - the front desk, bellmen, pool guys, etc. The staff at Iguazu Experiences (travel folks) helped id deciding what to do and what to skip. I would recommend staying 3 nights. 2 nights was not enough. If you eat at Itaipu restaurant, my wife recommends the seafood riisotto. There was seafood in every bite. The octopus was just right -- not one bit rubbery.

We were going to take our own version of the full moon walk (it was fully booked) but by the time we had finished gin & tonics and the dinner, we were too relaxed and decided to veg instead. After being in the Amazon, it was great viewing a clear sky with the southern constellations.

The breakfast buffet is quite a spread. From champagne to fresh fruits including passion fruit to the best scrambled eggs ever.

Well worth the splurge.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This was my slice of luxury within 3 weeks of backpacking and it did not disappoint! You were able to stay in the park, so had the advantage of seeing the sunset of the falls which was truly amazing.
The hotel itself is spotless and the staff are friendly and attentive to your every need! When you lie by the pool, you are regularly bought cold flannels and fruit sticks, to cool you down.
I visited the Argentinian side of the falls whilst there and the bell boy booked me a taxi at a cost of 220 reals, that picked me up from the gate, drove me over, sorted out all the border crossing, had Argentina pesos ready for me and advised the best way to navigate within the falls!
The food was lovely, great spread at breakfast, there was nothing missing! In the evening there was a choice of al la carte, buffet or bar. The buffet was wonderful, so much choice and really tasty and the bar food again was lovely. Yes it was expensive compared to Brazilian prices but no more expensive than somewhere in England!
Overall this was a wonderful slice of luxury and worth it!

Room Tip: Ensure you enter through the cataratas gate and not the public entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlepinkalien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Very expensive and classy place. Out of hours entry to the park was worth the premium alone in my view as you can stroll the falls in the morning before the great unwashed arrive and at sunset. Hotel service, food, location and rooms are excellent.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank worldtravellerplu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Reading other TA reviews, I agree with everyone who said that this hotel is truly special; from the front desk staff (a young man who's surname is Chan who told me a story about his father which really personalized the service he provided), to the server at the bar who was very apologetic that he was not able to serve me as quickly as he wanted because there was a sudden rush of people in the bar (and his service the rest of the evening was flawless), to the staff member who saw me exercising, without the lights on (it didn't even occur to me to turn on the lights when i started exercising as it wasn't dark) and came in to turn on the lights.

We were on an afternoon flight and didn't check in until almost 4pm. A huge advantage of staying at this hotel is we were allowed to stay on the trails as long as we wanted. While all the non hotel visitors had to catch the last bus out of the park (at 6:30pm), we stayed and walked back to the hotel when it was getting dark. This is a huge advantage especially since we got the park so late in the day. Furthermore, we got up early the next morning and were on the trails before 7am and we saw no more 5 other hotel guests the entire time we were on the trails that morning. The falls are even more magical when you can enjoy them in relative peace and quiet. We headed back to enjoy the gorgeous buffet breakfast just when the swarms of park visitors started arriving on the buses.

Just some points that readers may find helpful:
1.Your taxi cannot take your directly to the hotel. The taxi can only take you as far as the gate to the National Park and the Hotel van will take you from the gate to the hotel (I believe around 7 miles or so).
2. If you fly into the Foz du Iguacu (IGR) airport, the taxi to the National Park gate will be 30 Reals. The taxi driver will stop at the National Park Information centre so you can go inside to purchase your entrance ticket before proceeding to the gate. It is only 5-10 minutes from airport to national park
3. When you leave the hotel, the hotel van will drive you back out to the front gates again. It is here that a taxi can meet you to take you wherever you need to go (tell the hotel when you check out that you need a taxi and they will call and have one waiting). In my case, I wanted to see the falls from the Argentina side and was staying one night in Puerto Iguazu. The taxi picked us up at the gate and drove us to the border. He took us inside to get stamped out of Brazil and then drove us across the Argentina border crossing and dropped us off at the hotel we were staying in Puerto Iguazu. This cost us 120 Reals.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank skaterdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

If you want to spoil yourself look no further than the Hotel Das Cataratas. I spent two nights at the hotel in October with my husband to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary and I cannot fault the hotel or the staff. Yes its pricey but it is worth every penny.
The views are absolutely breathtaking, the staff are attentive, the rooms spotless and the meals excellent.
The views from the Mirante Tower were stunning - not only of the falls but of the whole of the Cataratas Parque.
We ate in the buffet barbeque restaurant on our first night and in the A La Carte restaurant on the second night. On each occasion the waiters were very attentive, making sure that drinks were topped up and seating you at your table.
As we had a full day planned for our second day we had a reasonably early night so didn't try out the bar until our second night when we enjoyed a few drinks of Cachaca - and a taste of some of the special bottles of Cachaca courtesy of the bar waiter!
Unfortunately we had an early morning flight to catch but there was a cold buffet breakfast laid out in reception so that we could eat before being driven to the airport.
I hope that we can return some day and enjoy the pool area and the spa which, due to time constraints, we were unable to do on this trip.
Definitely worth every penny!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
2,720 reviews
City Center
Taroba Hotel
Taroba Hotel
#12 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
5,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Colonial Iguacu
#40 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
1,277 reviews
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#16 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel das Cataratas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel das Cataratas

Address: Rodovia Br 469 Km 32 | Iguacu National Park, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85855-750, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#5 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range: £248 - £505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel das Cataratas 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the spectacular Iguacu Falls in Iguacu National Park, the 5-star Belmond Hotel das Cataratas provides free Wi-Fi internet access. Guests can enjoy a cocktail by the swimming pool or play a game of tennis on the provided court. The falls can be experienced by speed boat, rafting or by a helicopter flyover. For excitement and adventure, guests can enjoy abseiling, rock climbing and canopy walks. Walking tours allow for the surrounding lush rain forest to be explored. Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers traditional Portuguese styled rooms with a flat screen TV, dark wood furniture and warm natural tones. Some rooms provide a balcony and seating area. The two restaurants on-site provide views of the falls and of the hotel's pool. They serve a selection of international and local Brazilian cuisine. In the evening live music can be enjoyed in the downstairs bar. The Iguacu Falls lie between the Brazilian state of Parana and Argentina. The Brazilian side offers postcard panoramic views, while the Argentinian side provides varied, up-close views. The hotel is located in a privileged position, alongside the Iguassu Falls. It is in fact the only hotel situated in the Iguassu National Park. Because of its prime location, the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers its guests a unique experience - taking walks along the trails by the falls which may be done at any time during the day, with the added advantage that from 7 a.M to 9 a.M, the trails are for guests of the hotel exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond Hotel das Cataratas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Das Cataratas Hotel
Tropical Das Cataratas
Hotel Das Cataratas
Hotel Tropical Das Cataratas
Belmond Hotel Das Cataratas Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - Parana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing