We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I stayed at that charming hotel long before it was run by Orient Express... in 1967. I was 9 years old then and even today I remember this experience as if it was yesterday. I may even have some pictures somewhere from the time. I will always remember that place

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jurgen57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and reviewing the Hotel das Cataratas.

We are very pleased to hear that you did enjoy your stay and our services.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,222
    458
    91
    33
    18
See reviews for
741
2,122
202
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (582)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dinslaken
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

If you want to see the falls, you HAVE TO choose this hotel! Why? The falls a inside a natural reserve. It opens from 9 am to 5 pm. In this time the park is full of people. Busses and Busses are coming and everything is very crowdy. It's very difficult to enjoy the unique atmosphere of this amazing place. BUT: The Hotel is located only ONE MINUTE from the falls. So you just walk over the street all the time. We've been at the falls ALL ALONE a couple of times. That is already worth it!
But the hotel is also a very good five star ressort. It's very beautiful, the rooms are nice. The pool is quite big and offers a very good service of drinks and food. The Hotel Restaurant is really amazing. We went fpr the barbecue and we had almost the best steaks on the whole brazil trip. This hotel is not only my recommendation. If you want to see the falls, THIS IS THE PLACE TO GO TO!!!
If you want to have fun, try the speed-boat-trip to the falls. You will never get this wet again! The best sunset-pictures can be taken on this little tower of the main-building. But go there pretty early - it has only space enough for 1-2 people.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lukesvater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and other TA readers.

Our main aim at the Hotel das Cataratas is to deliver the highest level of service and attention do our guests. Feedback such as yours, makes us feel we are on the right track to achieve that goal.

Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This hotel is smack bang at the middle of the Brazilian side of the falls.

The hotel is well maintained and very clean. Rooms are well appointed and comfortable.

We booked a room with a Falls View. Let's just say the hotel is being a little bit cheeky in describing these rooms with a falls view - perhaps a more apt description would be 'with Falls Glimpses'.

The quality of the food at all restaurants was very good and was matched by the quality of service.

You cannot beat the location. It is right in the falls. The Sheraton in the park on the other side of the falls does not enjoy anywhere near the proximity to the falls as does the Hotel das Cataratas.

We travelled to the Argentinian side of the falls but I would recommend doing both sides but I definitely recommend staying on the Brazilian side.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelwriter63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on the Hotel das Catartas.

We are very pleased to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us.

Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,
Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hewlett, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

can't get better than orient-express run property!!
attention to details all around....any complaint (leak in bathroom) promptly taken care of!
pool, food, grounds immaculate!!
95degrees and constant refreshments offered pool side......

bonus hotel is inside iguazu falls park so access to park when no one else can get in!!!

Room Tip: wasn't in the room other than sleeping so it doesn't really matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotteeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and other TA readers.

Our main aim at the Hotel das Cataratas is to deliver the highest level of service and attention do our guests. Feedback such as yours, makes us feel we are on the right track to achieve that goal.

Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We got here on 24 Dec 2013. Christmas eve buffet dinner was included. It was fantastic. We also had a late check out with no extra charge. Staff are very nice and service was very good. This is the best hotel in Foz do Iguazu.

Room Tip: Not too far from the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayLamSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on the Hotel das Catartas.

We are very pleased to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us.

Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

One cannot say enough about the hotel, quality of service, the food and we can't forget about the view. Looking out your window and seeing up close the magnificence of the falls is amazing. So glad we stayed at this property and I can say it was well worth it. Every aspect of the hotel is aimed at the pleasure of its quest. I am so glad we stayed here and would recommend it highly

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and reviewing the Hotel das Cataratas.

We are very pleased to hear that you did enjoy your stay and our services.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We had a very nice stay in this hotel and are looking forward to visiting other hotels from the same chain if this is the standard. The location is great to visit the falls and the surrounding rain forest, would not do it any other way. The staff and service is superb. The food is excellent. The pool, gym and rooms are outstanding. Overall a very relaxing and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandyrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and reviewing the Hotel das Cataratas.

We are very pleased to hear that you did enjoy your stay and our services.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foz do Iguacu
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
2,540 reviews
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#17 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Taroba Hotel
Taroba Hotel
#14 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
5,201 reviews
Loi Suites Iguazu
#5 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,085 reviews
Mabu Thermas Grand Resort
#20 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
2,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel das Cataratas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel das Cataratas

Property: Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Address: Rodovia Br 469 Km 32 | Iguacu National Park, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85855-750, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Spa Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#5 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel das Cataratas 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the spectacular Iguacu Falls in Iguacu National Park, the 5-star Belmond Hotel das Cataratas provides free Wi-Fi internet access. Guests can enjoy a cocktail by the swimming pool or play a game of tennis on the provided court. The falls can be experienced by speed boat, rafting or by a helicopter flyover. For excitement and adventure, guests can enjoy abseiling, rock climbing and canopy walks. Walking tours allow for the surrounding lush rain forest to be explored. Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers traditional Portuguese styled rooms with a flat screen TV, dark wood furniture and warm natural tones. Some rooms provide a balcony and seating area. The two restaurants on-site provide views of the falls and of the hotel's pool. They serve a selection of international and local Brazilian cuisine. In the evening live music can be enjoyed in the downstairs bar. The Iguacu Falls lie between the Brazilian state of Parana and Argentina. The Brazilian side offers postcard panoramic views, while the Argentinian side provides varied, up-close views. The hotel is located in a privileged position, alongside the Iguassu Falls. It is in fact the only hotel situated in the Iguassu National Park. Because of its prime location, the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers its guests a unique experience - taking walks along the trails by the falls which may be done at any time during the day, with the added advantage that from 7 a.M to 9 a.M, the trails are for guests of the hotel exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Hotel das Cataratas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Das Cataratas Hotel
Tropical Das Cataratas
Hotel Das Cataratas
Hotel Tropical Das Cataratas
Belmond Hotel Das Cataratas Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - Parana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing