We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely accomodations at the head of the Falls”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Lovely accomodations at the head of the Falls”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

There's not much to say here that the photo above doesn't already put into a picture for you. The Falls are right across the street, and they are yours alone until the national park opens at 9AM. The hotel is obviously within the park and you have access to all the views by yourself if you rise early. After 9, hundreds of tourists descend on the same trails that you had to yourself before.

Accomodations are decent, clean. The beds are comfortable and there is nothing to complain about. The rooms could be bigger but if youre smart, you'll be out of them early and use them for a shower after a long day. The food is outstanding, with buffets that will fill you up with Argentine barbecue (grilled meats and offal) for hours at a time. There's a beautiful swimming pool, though the Falls are the wonder here. You only need a full day on this Brazilian side of the Falls to see all the vistas. The other side in Argentina is 30 minutes away, and allows you very close access to the falls themselves. You should spend at least one day on this side as well, as the experiences are completely different.

Room Tip: Overlooking the falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skitraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and reviewing the Hotel das Cataratas.

We are very pleased to hear that you did enjoy your stay and our services.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,240
    459
    91
    33
    18
See reviews for
744
2,132
203
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (583)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Along with most guests stayed for 2 nights to visit the amazing natural spectacle of the worlds largest waterfall and national park on the borders of Brazil and Argentina. The hotel has an priveleged setting overlooking the Falls and is a classic Colonial style painted a shade of soft pink- it is also the only hotel within the park so guests have the added benefit of exclusive access to the Falls when the park is closed to the public from 6pm to 9am. The hotel is large and rambling with some rooms a significant walk to the reception and public areas. Not all rooms obviously have a Falls view . Ours was in fact forest view which is self explanatory! Our room was not large but well appointed and excellent sleep quality. Quite fierce air con which is essential as it is a humid spot. Free good WiFi throughout hotel and grounds. Big outdoor pool with lots of loungers- can be noisy with other younger guests and constant overflying of helicopters viewing Falls. Big good quality buffet breakfast .A La Carte restaurant OK although preferred BBQ buffet offered in main restaurant. Lots of trips offered by the park travel company located at hotel. These are not cheap but well worth undertaking if they take your fancy. The hotel offers drying facilities when you return from your waterfall soaking! They also arrange private transfer - again not cheap- from the Argentine airport which is c 1 1/2 hours from the hotel ( there is an airport on the Brazilian side which is closer) it depends where you are coming from. Very good bar serving great Caprianas! Very friendly helpful staff. This is not a cheap hotel and there is the impression that you are in a busy spot with the constant arrival and departure of guests from around the globe - the hotel copes well though. Finally check out at midday although a very good spa is available and they offer shower and changing facilities for late check out

Room Tip: If you can afford it ask for a Falls view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllanCLOndonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and reviewing the Hotel das Cataratas.

We are very pleased to hear that you did enjoy your stay and our services.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This was undoubtedly the best hotel of our South American tour. To be honest the view alone would get 5 stars. The fact that the hotel goes on to deliver on every level. Service, food and value is just the icing on the cake. Those complaining about the price are not taking into account the premium for being INSIDE the National Park.
Outstanding customer service, at reception in the bar, in the restaurant and most importantly around the pool. This was the ONLY hotel on our stay in South America that really understood the meaning of customer service. The only hotel where waiters around the pool actually came to refresh your glasses.
The concierge was very efficient and made our onward reservations and transfers when our travel agent appeared to let us down. Even allowing us to call London to hassle them.
Breakfast, lunch and the evening BBQ dinner buffet were all excellent.
We messed up realy and clearly should have stayed here longer and at other destinations for less time.
It is impossible to over estimate the feeling of having the waterfalls all to yourself when the park closes to the public at 6pm. Remember this is the only hotel within the Park. You are paying for the privilege.
The falls themselves really are one of the 7 Natural wonders of the World. I feel blessed to have seen them at such close quarters.

Room Tip: Do not worry about getting and paying for a room with a waterfall view. The entire frontage of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and other TA readers.

Our main aim at the Hotel das Cataratas is to deliver the highest level of service and attention do our guests. Feedback such as yours makes us feel we are on the right track to achieve that goal.

Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

You cannot find a better hotel if you wish to stay in the Iguazu falls in Brazil. The hotel is gorgeous with fantastic rooms. The hotel staff is AMAZING - they are accommodating, helpful, kind and very friendly. The check in and check out staff are the best.

The location is unbeatable and you can get private tours/views of the falls after the crowds leave.The hotel even offers free drying service where they dry and fold your clothes at no cost. The breakfast is great and so is the in room dining.

I loved staying here and would highly recommend this hotel to everyone!! Dont stay anywhere else if you are visiting the falls.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Opeartions Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on the Hotel das Catartas.

We are very pleased to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us.

Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,
Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We chose this hotel because we arrived during the afternoon with Tam on the Brazilian side and this hotel is within the National Park. This allowed us to visit the Brazilian side of the waterfalls, while the park was closed to the general public: an amazing experience since we were almost alone. The hotel is a five star with all you would expect. After the long walk around the waterfalls we enjoyed the spa. At dinner there was a choice between à la carte and buffet. The room was ample and well appointed. Service and staff very friendly.This hotel is in a neo-colonial building with a much better visual impact on the surroundings than the equivalent Sheraton inside the National Park on the Argentinian side, which would deserve tearing down for its architectural ugliness and negative impact on the surrounding park.

Room Tip: When arriving from the airport to the hotel, you might want to book your taxi for the following day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessandro_Wilcke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on the Hotel das Catartas.

We are very pleased to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us.

Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

During our trip around argentina, we stayed here for the Iguazu part of our trip...and oh my gosh what a hotel. This hotel gave me some of the best memories of my holiday. The location is spectacular. You can see the waterfall from the front entrance! The feel of it is very colonial, and it really lives up to the Orient Express standard. Residents of the hotel are the only ones who get to enjoy the national park and waterfalls after the park is closed to all the other visitors. I got to go for a run around the park one morning when there was no one else there - what a memory! The facilities are top standard, the accessories, bed and bathroom superb. The highlight for me was the breakfast! WHAT A SPREAD! I stayed in some unique, lush, top class hotels throughout my trip and this was the best breakfast! We even enjoyed our meal in the main restaurant - the drinks are more of a highlight than the food for me..

Overall - fantastic, and I cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suchipatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and other TA readers.

Our main aim at the Hotel das Cataratas is to deliver the highest level of service and attention do our guests. Feedback such as yours makes us feel we are on the right track to achieve that goal.

Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

All areas receive the predicate excellent!!!
In all areas the staff is extremely friendly, attentive and accommodating!!!
The hotel is very maintained!!!
The pool area is very clean and the service is very attentive!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wuschel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and other TA readers.

Our main aim at the Hotel das Cataratas is to deliver the highest level of service and attention do our guests. Feedback such as yours makes us feel we are on the right track to achieve that goal.

Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,
Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
2,566 reviews
City Center
Taroba Hotel
Taroba Hotel
#15 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
5,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#17 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
1,334 reviews
Hotel Colonial Iguacu
#43 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel das Cataratas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel das Cataratas

Property: Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Address: Rodovia Br 469 Km 32 | Iguacu National Park, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85855-750, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Spa Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#5 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel das Cataratas 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the spectacular Iguacu Falls in Iguacu National Park, the 5-star Belmond Hotel das Cataratas provides free Wi-Fi internet access. Guests can enjoy a cocktail by the swimming pool or play a game of tennis on the provided court. The falls can be experienced by speed boat, rafting or by a helicopter flyover. For excitement and adventure, guests can enjoy abseiling, rock climbing and canopy walks. Walking tours allow for the surrounding lush rain forest to be explored. Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers traditional Portuguese styled rooms with a flat screen TV, dark wood furniture and warm natural tones. Some rooms provide a balcony and seating area. The two restaurants on-site provide views of the falls and of the hotel's pool. They serve a selection of international and local Brazilian cuisine. In the evening live music can be enjoyed in the downstairs bar. The Iguacu Falls lie between the Brazilian state of Parana and Argentina. The Brazilian side offers postcard panoramic views, while the Argentinian side provides varied, up-close views. The hotel is located in a privileged position, alongside the Iguassu Falls. It is in fact the only hotel situated in the Iguassu National Park. Because of its prime location, the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers its guests a unique experience - taking walks along the trails by the falls which may be done at any time during the day, with the added advantage that from 7 a.M to 9 a.M, the trails are for guests of the hotel exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond Hotel das Cataratas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Das Cataratas Hotel
Tropical Das Cataratas
Hotel Das Cataratas
Hotel Tropical Das Cataratas
Belmond Hotel Das Cataratas Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - Parana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing