We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unquestionably five star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
Basel
Level Contributor
307 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Unquestionably five star”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

A magnificent hotel.

Greeting at reception was perfect and comprehensive, explaining all the amenities and walking us to our room. We were upgraded to a deluxe room in the Garden Wing, the newest part of the hotel with wide corridors, deep-pile carpets, polished wood.

Our huge pale green and yellow room was beautiful with a massive bed, free bottles of water and a large safe. Free wifi, no password required, throughout the hotel. Loved the free Havaianas.

Beautiful bathroom and a lovely shower, especially after arriving hot and sticky from a visit to the Argentinian side of Iguazu Falls.

Dinner in the poolside restaurant began with very good caipirinhas. We both had the Brazilian barbecue buffet which was massive and a meat-lovers feast: apart from the many starters including a fantastic Brazilian catfish soup and brie in pastry with berries, there were various cuts of beef from fillet to rib, lamb, pork, and chicken. Plenty of salads, a wonderful array of breads and a table of desserts - excellent creme brulee.

The breakfast was by far the best we had on this trip. Lots of hot foods like bacon, sausage, roesti, plus a cook on hand making perfect omelettes; cereals, yogurts, a huge array of fresh fruit, freshly-squeezed juices, breads, home-made jams (pineapple particularly good), sweet pastries and cakes.

Perfect location for viewing Iguazu Falls from the Brazilian side before the crowds arrive.

Service at the pool is just fantastic. Every now and again someone comes around bringing cold facecloths or refreshments such as cold juice cocktails, fresh fruit skewers.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank herebedragons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on the Hotel das Cataratas.

Our main goal is to deliver the highest level of service and comfort to our Guests. Feedback such as yours makes us feel that we are on the right track to achieve that.

Our Chef was particularly happy with the comment on our Creme Brulle!

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,217
    457
    91
    33
    18
See reviews for
739
2,118
202
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We loved the staff at this hotel and their English was wonderful. Our room had a lovely view of the falls. The bar in the hotel was very nice. The workout center was small but had what we wanted. Our driver was wonderful and took us places in the park. There was a ropes course next door to do tree adventures. It was well done and there were some elements I had not done before in the US. The food was very good. I would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and other TA readers.

We are most pleased to hear that you did enjoy your stay and your time around the falls.

Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Many times on our travels we've found that hotels (and restaurants) in stunning locations often get away with lousy service and inflated prices. Hotel des Cataratas was a wonderful exception to this rule. Obviously the location is unbelievable (the ability to stroll down to the falls early morning or evening when all the crowds have gone is fantastic) but in addition the service was absolutely world class; our room was lovely; the pool was excellent and we had two great meals. It's expensive but worth every penny.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dd-nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on the Hotel das Cataratas.

We are ver pleased to hear that you did enjoy your stay and our services.

Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

My wife and I stayed here as part of an Adventure World package. The hotel is just plain magnificent!
Service could not be faulted, the food is to die for, Reception staff are just so helpful- in short everything works.
Having the Falls at the bottom of the garden is the icing on the cake. Pricey, yes, but worth it.
Champagne included in the breakfast buffet says it all!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anthony c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and other Trip Advisor readers.

We are very pleased to learn that you did enjoy your stay at the Hotel das Cataratas.

Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Stayed 2 nights in this fabulous hotel.We wanted to stay in the park itself and as this was the only hotel in the Brazilian part of the park, were not expecting much as we were a captive audience. How wrong we were.This is a beautiful, colonial style hotel of the highest quality, the sort of hotel you would be happy to stay in for weeks even without the stunning views of the falls and the fact that you had exclusive access to them before the park opened and after it closed.
Room was stunning as was the pool area. Restaurants were delightful and the food excellent and the staff could not do enough for you,. Everything at this hotel was of the highest quality, expensive, of course, but worth every penny(or real)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank RICHARD S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Opeartions Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on the Hotel das Cataratas.

We are very pleased to hear that you did enjoy your stay and our services.

Our main aim is to deliver the highest level of service and provide our guests with a unique experience. Feedback such as yours make as feel that we are on the right track to achieve those goals.

Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The hotel is in the best location possible for visitors to Iguassu Falls. The service and the staff are exceptional. The food is excellent and the ambience a real Colonial pleasure. We had a wonderful stay in this special hotel.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a room with a view of the falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillyMM13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on the Hotel das Cataratas.

We are very pleased to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us and are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,


Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornelius, North Carolina
Level Contributor
777 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Our trip to Brazil can't get any better! Starting with "location, location and location".
Located in the Iguacu National Park, we have private park access from 7am - 9am and 5pm - 7pm, everyday. No other crowds or tourist to compete with for viewing the awesome falls.
Now other exceptional services include rooms with a view of the falls.
Direct pick up from airport
Wondeful dining options including free breakfast, Brazil bbq buffet or poolside service.
The staff is very knowledgable and friendly. Could go on and on...

Room Tip: Can't miss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank george60898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on the Hotel das Catartas.

We are very pleased to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us.

Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foz do Iguacu
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
2,527 reviews
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#18 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Taroba Hotel
Taroba Hotel
#14 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
5,174 reviews
Loi Suites Iguazu
#5 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,078 reviews
Mabu Thermas Grand Resort
#20 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
2,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel das Cataratas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel das Cataratas

Property: Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Address: Rodovia Br 469 Km 32 | Iguacu National Park, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85855-750, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#5 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel das Cataratas 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the spectacular Iguacu Falls in Iguacu National Park, the 5-star Belmond Hotel das Cataratas provides free Wi-Fi internet access. Guests can enjoy a cocktail by the swimming pool or play a game of tennis on the provided court. The falls can be experienced by speed boat, rafting or by a helicopter flyover. For excitement and adventure, guests can enjoy abseiling, rock climbing and canopy walks. Walking tours allow for the surrounding lush rain forest to be explored. Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers traditional Portuguese styled rooms with a flat screen TV, dark wood furniture and warm natural tones. Some rooms provide a balcony and seating area. The two restaurants on-site provide views of the falls and of the hotel's pool. They serve a selection of international and local Brazilian cuisine. In the evening live music can be enjoyed in the downstairs bar. The Iguacu Falls lie between the Brazilian state of Parana and Argentina. The Brazilian side offers postcard panoramic views, while the Argentinian side provides varied, up-close views. The hotel is located in a privileged position, alongside the Iguassu Falls. It is in fact the only hotel situated in the Iguassu National Park. Because of its prime location, the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers its guests a unique experience - taking walks along the trails by the falls which may be done at any time during the day, with the added advantage that from 7 a.M to 9 a.M, the trails are for guests of the hotel exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Hotel das Cataratas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Das Cataratas Hotel
Tropical Das Cataratas
Hotel Das Cataratas
Hotel Tropical Das Cataratas
Belmond Hotel Das Cataratas Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - Parana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing