We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Ranked #1 of 79 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Lovely stay!”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay here in March. It's really pricey but nice rooms and good service. I was a bit cold in the room - didn't find the blanket in the cupboard until the day we were leaving. Other than that everything was great - especially recommend the Barbecue buffet - again expensive but really good food and lots of choice.

I found the staff a little over the top - I kind of like to be left alone a bit more but it wasn't too uncomfortable. Really helpful if you needed anything.

The wifi, business centre internet and ATM weren't working on our first night which was kind of a pain.

I guess there were a few negatives but overall we had an amazing stay - can walk outside and have an amazing view of the falls just a few steps away. Great pool. Amazing breakfast and evening buffets.

It's a busy hotel but they seem to cope really well with that. I would definitely recommend it despite the price.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilMissDotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas with us and other Trip Advisor users.

We are pleased to hear that you did enjoy your stay with.

Nevertheless, all your remarks have been taken into consideration, and we are already looking for ways to improve our services and prevent any of the mentioned to happen again in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,195
    452
    90
    33
    17
See reviews for
734
2,099
201
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (577)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

This is one of the best hotels in the world for the value. We had a falls view, 1/13 possible rooms so book early. The service was perfect, not over done and every one knew our names for a 200+ room hotel. The pool and grounds were so relaxing we decided to just relax and stop touring for 3 days. Breakfast was awesome. Dinner as well.
A must stay if you are going to Iguacu.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas with us.

Your review has been forwarded to our entire team, and we are delighted to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Hotel Das Cataratas. The hotel is absolutely beautiful. The staff is top notch! Every staff member works diligently to make sure your stay is outstanding! We highly recommend a stay at this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas.

We are delighted to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us and our services.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest Regards,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This hotel stay was the best I've ever had. When we were researching places to stay in Iguassu, we almost passed on this one because of the price. Let me say - you get what you pay for and this was worth every penny! The stay was a fantastic way to spend the last few days of our vacation at Iguassu Falls. The service and hotel were impeccable and I cannot think of one thing that I would have changed. The staff was all very friendly and professional and ensured that our experience was nothing less than amazing. The food at each of the restaurants was fresh and delicious, as were the drinks from the pool bar. The attention to detail and the lengths the staff went to in order to make us feel pampered was like nothing I've ever experienced. I will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone heading to Iguassu Falls.


I will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is headed to Iguassu Falls! 5 star experience!

Room Tip: There are only 14 rooms that face the Falls, so you need to specially request these ahead of time. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas with us and other Trip Advisor users.

Our main aim at the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas is to deliver the highest level of service and experience to our guests. I have personally forwarded your review to our entire team, and this kind of feedback makes us feel that we are on the right track to achieve that goal.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed at this wonderful hotel for 2 nights while visiting Iguazu falls. We just loved it!!The service was perfect, especially the pool staff (they bring cold compress towels and complementary fruit kabobs...when you order a drink,even a soda, it comes with nuts and nibbles) and front desk and excursion staff were friendly and helpful.
Breakfast buffets (which can be poolside) offer the largest selections we have seen and were delicious. Equally fabulous was the poolside BBQ buffet. Our other meal was at the main dining restaurant, very good and a very pretty room, but pricey. We didn't realize that we could have ordered a simpler, less expensive meal had we stayed and ordered off the bar menu at the lovely public room within the hotel. Our room was the deluxe falls view room, a decent size and wonderfully appointed. It is a small view of the falls, so it is debatable whether or not it was worth the extra money. I heard these rooms are slightly larger which is a plus. When we stayed, this was an Orient Express hotel. Just a few weeks later, it is now called a Belmond Hotel, so I hope this does not change the quality of a stay. One of the best features of our visit was the fact that because the hotel is within the national park boundaries, you have access to the trails before and after the park closes to outside visitors. We walked the trails in the morning, seeing just one other couple along the way. GREAT!!!On our visit to the Argentine side, we had to jostle our way to get good views. We thoroughly enjoyed the relaxing, resort atmosphere, lovely grounds, and ppol. We visited between stops in Rio and Buenos Aires--a vacation within a vacation.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbi649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas.

Our entire team is very pleased to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us and our services.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Belmond Hotel das Catartas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here. Very impressed by the beautiful hotel and grounds, attentive staff and exceptional service. Breakfast is sumptuous and the meals overall were delicious. Even room service. I also used the spa and had a massage which was very good. The grounds are lovely and it was a delight to watch the tropical birds scurrying around the gardens while I took a dip in the delicious pool after a hot day walking around the falls. The staff all around are obviously very well trained and highly professional. I regret not having had longer to stay here!

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Nadine1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas with us.

We are very pleased to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us and that you had the time to relax and unwind in our grounds.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I spent a great time, I wish that I could be longer.
The possibility of jogging in the morning and evening along the outstanding waterfalls in the peace and quiet ... Unique surroundings, a large number of attractions for everyone, with respect for the environment.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas.

We are all very pleased to hear that you did enjoy your stay and the time around the falls.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foz do Iguacu
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,498 reviews
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#19 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loi Suites Iguazu
#4 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,056 reviews
Mabu Thermas Grand Resort
#23 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel das Cataratas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel das Cataratas

Property: Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Address: Rodovia Br 469 Km 32 | Iguacu National Park, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85855-750, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#5 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel das Cataratas 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the spectacular Iguacu Falls in Iguacu National Park, the 5-star Belmond Hotel das Cataratas provides free Wi-Fi internet access. Guests can enjoy a cocktail by the swimming pool or play a game of tennis on the provided court. The falls can be experienced by speed boat, rafting or by a helicopter flyover. For excitement and adventure, guests can enjoy abseiling, rock climbing and canopy walks. Walking tours allow for the surrounding lush rain forest to be explored. Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers traditional Portuguese styled rooms with a flat screen TV, dark wood furniture and warm natural tones. Some rooms provide a balcony and seating area. The two restaurants on-site provide views of the falls and of the hotel's pool. They serve a selection of international and local Brazilian cuisine. In the evening live music can be enjoyed in the downstairs bar. The Iguacu Falls lie between the Brazilian state of Parana and Argentina. The Brazilian side offers postcard panoramic views, while the Argentinian side provides varied, up-close views. The hotel is located in a privileged position, alongside the Iguassu Falls. It is in fact the only hotel situated in the Iguassu National Park. Because of its prime location, the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers its guests a unique experience - taking walks along the trails by the falls which may be done at any time during the day, with the added advantage that from 7 a.M to 9 a.M, the trails are for guests of the hotel exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Belmond, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Hotel das Cataratas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Das Cataratas Hotel
Tropical Das Cataratas
Hotel Das Cataratas
Hotel Tropical Das Cataratas
Belmond Hotel Das Cataratas Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - Parana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing