We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are only going to see the Falls once in your life then this is the place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“If you are only going to see the Falls once in your life then this is the place to stay”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The Hotel das Cataratas is unique, on the Brazilian side of the Iguacu Falls, and that is because it is inside the National Park. When the park closes and the hordes have gone you have sunset and sunrise and that wonderful path walk along the Falls almost entirely to yourself - worth paying almost anything for! We started our trip to these fabulous Falls by arriving by plane on the Argentinian side and taking a taxi to the entry point by the Ticket Office. They only take cash but there is an ATM nearby if you need Argentine currency. We left our luggage in secure lockers operated by the souvenir shop and off we went on the very slow train to see the star of the Falls - Devil's Throat. There's lots of walking to do on this side of the Falls on walkways that take you right across and out to great vantage points. We spent about 3 hours there then took another taxi across the border to the park gates on the Brazilian side as no taxis are allowed inside the park. The taxi ride was about an hour and not that expensive considering the cab driver handled all the passport control formalities on our behalf. Although the park was shut, the gates stay open for hotel guests and our park entry fees were charged to our hotel account so no messing about queueing for entry tickets . The hotel bus leaves at regular intervals and was there to meet us and take us, and our luggage to reception. Set on a beautifully manicured grassy mound the hotel resembles a small palace and looks spectacular at sunset. Check-in was smooth and friendly and off we went to our double deluxe which was certainly not one of the best rooms on offer in the hotel. It was fairly small but nicely furnished. We had some plumbing issues during our stay but they certainly did not distract from us enjoying our time here. The a la carte dining room that overlooks the Falls is fairly small so you need to book early if you want a table there. No a la carte table for us as fully booked, so we took the barbecue buffet option which is located in the dining area which doubles as the breakfast room out by the pool. It has some very nice outside tables so make sure you reserve one if the weather is good. The food and the choice was excellent and the starlit and candlelit setting by the pool was very romantic. We even finished off the evening with a decadent dip in the pool listening to some great music from the live singer and her accompanist - brilliant! First thing next morning we were off to see the Falls before the park opened and the endless stream of buses and visitors could ruin the atmosphere. We met only two other people on our walk down the path which follows the Falls and about a dozen on the way back. One of the walkways takes you right out over one of the falls and the sensation of being soaked by the spray is scintillating - we were there completely on our own! They say that Argentina has the Falls and that Brazil has the view, and having been to both sides we can't disagree with this statement although the experience on both sides is very different and we enjoyed both. Back at the hotel it was time for breakfast and that, again was excellent. If you are only coming here to see the Falls once then, in our opinion, the Hotel das Cataratas provides an incomparable experience. Great staff, superb location and a thoroughly amazing stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yungkara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to review the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas.

I have forwarded your review to our entire team, and all are thrilled by it.

It is our aim to provide a life experience to our guests, and your comments made us feel we are on the right track to achieve that objective.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas.

Kindest Regards,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,271
    464
    93
    33
    18
See reviews for
758
2,148
203
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

It was definitely worth paying a few extra dollars to stay at this great location. Except for the hard bed everything was excellent at this property. The service was very good all around...the great pool came in very handy after a day of hiking around the falls.

Taxis are not allowed into the Brazilian Park...therefore if you decide to arrive at this hotel via taxi you will be dropped off at the park gate and then you will catch the hotel's shuttle to get to the hotel (the shuttle runs every 20 minutes). You can avoid this inconvenience by using the hotel's private airport transfer which drops you off right at the hotel.

We also recommend using the hotel's transfer service for a round trip transfer to the the Argentinian Park...as it is very convenient and will save you time.

Take advantage of concierge service...they really helped us maximize our time in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrBeach77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas.

Our entire team is pleased to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us.

Your remarks have been noted and are being taken into consideration.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

It is not the very location, it's not immaculate service, food, pool, garden, really nice rooms that make it the best - for me. What is actually precious is the exclusive access to the falls before tourists can enter the national park.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas.

We are all very pleased to hear that you did enjoy your stay.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay here in March. It's really pricey but nice rooms and good service. I was a bit cold in the room - didn't find the blanket in the cupboard until the day we were leaving. Other than that everything was great - especially recommend the Barbecue buffet - again expensive but really good food and lots of choice.

I found the staff a little over the top - I kind of like to be left alone a bit more but it wasn't too uncomfortable. Really helpful if you needed anything.

The wifi, business centre internet and ATM weren't working on our first night which was kind of a pain.

I guess there were a few negatives but overall we had an amazing stay - can walk outside and have an amazing view of the falls just a few steps away. Great pool. Amazing breakfast and evening buffets.

It's a busy hotel but they seem to cope really well with that. I would definitely recommend it despite the price.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilMissDotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas with us and other Trip Advisor users.

We are pleased to hear that you did enjoy your stay with.

Nevertheless, all your remarks have been taken into consideration, and we are already looking for ways to improve our services and prevent any of the mentioned to happen again in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

This is one of the best hotels in the world for the value. We had a falls view, 1/13 possible rooms so book early. The service was perfect, not over done and every one knew our names for a 200+ room hotel. The pool and grounds were so relaxing we decided to just relax and stop touring for 3 days. Breakfast was awesome. Dinner as well.
A must stay if you are going to Iguacu.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas with us.

Your review has been forwarded to our entire team, and we are delighted to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Hotel Das Cataratas. The hotel is absolutely beautiful. The staff is top notch! Every staff member works diligently to make sure your stay is outstanding! We highly recommend a stay at this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas.

We are delighted to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us and our services.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest Regards,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This hotel stay was the best I've ever had. When we were researching places to stay in Iguassu, we almost passed on this one because of the price. Let me say - you get what you pay for and this was worth every penny! The stay was a fantastic way to spend the last few days of our vacation at Iguassu Falls. The service and hotel were impeccable and I cannot think of one thing that I would have changed. The staff was all very friendly and professional and ensured that our experience was nothing less than amazing. The food at each of the restaurants was fresh and delicious, as were the drinks from the pool bar. The attention to detail and the lengths the staff went to in order to make us feel pampered was like nothing I've ever experienced. I will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone heading to Iguassu Falls.


I will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is headed to Iguassu Falls! 5 star experience!

Room Tip: There are only 14 rooms that face the Falls, so you need to specially request these ahead of time. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas with us and other Trip Advisor users.

Our main aim at the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas is to deliver the highest level of service and experience to our guests. I have personally forwarded your review to our entire team, and this kind of feedback makes us feel that we are on the right track to achieve that goal.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
2,595 reviews
City Center
Taroba Hotel
Taroba Hotel
#13 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
5,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#17 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
1,350 reviews
Hotel Colonial Iguacu
#43 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel das Cataratas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel das Cataratas

Property: Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Address: Rodovia Br 469 Km 32 | Iguacu National Park, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85855-750, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Spa Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#5 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel das Cataratas 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the spectacular Iguacu Falls in Iguacu National Park, the 5-star Belmond Hotel das Cataratas provides free Wi-Fi internet access. Guests can enjoy a cocktail by the swimming pool or play a game of tennis on the provided court. The falls can be experienced by speed boat, rafting or by a helicopter flyover. For excitement and adventure, guests can enjoy abseiling, rock climbing and canopy walks. Walking tours allow for the surrounding lush rain forest to be explored. Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers traditional Portuguese styled rooms with a flat screen TV, dark wood furniture and warm natural tones. Some rooms provide a balcony and seating area. The two restaurants on-site provide views of the falls and of the hotel's pool. They serve a selection of international and local Brazilian cuisine. In the evening live music can be enjoyed in the downstairs bar. The Iguacu Falls lie between the Brazilian state of Parana and Argentina. The Brazilian side offers postcard panoramic views, while the Argentinian side provides varied, up-close views. The hotel is located in a privileged position, alongside the Iguassu Falls. It is in fact the only hotel situated in the Iguassu National Park. Because of its prime location, the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers its guests a unique experience - taking walks along the trails by the falls which may be done at any time during the day, with the added advantage that from 7 a.M to 9 a.M, the trails are for guests of the hotel exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond Hotel das Cataratas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Das Cataratas Hotel
Tropical Das Cataratas
Hotel Das Cataratas
Hotel Tropical Das Cataratas
Belmond Hotel Das Cataratas Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - Parana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing