We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Ranked #1 of 79 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I had the pleasure of spending 2 nights at the hotel and had a great time. The hotel is excellent, the staff very professional, very friendly and they all speak very good English (not the standard in Brazil by any means). The level of service is excellent. One of the many plus points is the location of the hotel in the park that allows you, if you get up early, to enjoy the falls without throngs of tourists.
If you are planning a trip (and you should) to the Iguassu waterfalls I can't think of a better place to stay. Make sure you also visit the Argentinian side. The hotel will organise a hassle free trip for you.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Guest,


Thank you very much for your kind review on the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas.

We are all very pleased to learn that you did enjoy your stay with us and the time spent around the falls.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards.

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,061)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,582 - 1,588 of 4,061 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

Many aspects contribute to make your stay at the Hotel das Cataratas a unique experience:

1) the extraordinary location: it's the only hotel inside the Iguassu National Park, very close to the famous waterfalls. You can have lunch or dinner at the veranda of the beautiful Itaipú Restaurant admiring this wonder of nature.
2) the gorgeous architecture, in Portuguese colonial style, has been restored to its original glory and it's inscribed as a historical and cultural national heritage. The hotel belongs now to the Orient-Express chain and, in its renewal, the beautiful tiles used in its decoration were brought from Portugal.
3) as a consequence of the visiting hours of the Park and waterfalls (from 9 to 5 or 6), outside this period, the guests enjoy the place with exclusivity. During our visit, we enjoyed a memorable sunset over the waterfalls.
From check-in time till our departure, in all the sectors of the hotel, including the bars and the two restaurants, service was always impeccable and the staff very kind, efficient and friendly, making us feel very comfortable.
We had a great dinner at Itaipú Restaurant that I've already reviewed here.
The excellent breakfast, served by the swimming pool and also at the Ype Restaurant, had two surprises to me: a delicious papay jam I had never tasted before and the nice "soundtrack" of the gorgeous and colorful birds that live around there.
If you can, try to go there in a period of full moon, you'll experience another thrilling and rare phenomenon of nature: an unbelievable moon rainbow over the waterfalls.
The hotel offer a transport from and to the airport, under reservation and payment, that can be very convenient.

Room Tip: According to personal preference, one may ask for a room with view to the waterfalls (of course, mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Celestefaisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas with us.

Our main aim is to deliver the highest level of service and experience to our guests. Your feedback is of great importance to us and I have forwarded it to our entire team.

We are all very pleased to hear that you did enjoy your stay and our services.

We are looking forward to your next stay with us. Whenever you are ready to book, please e-mail me directly and I will be more then happy to assist you with all the arrangements, My direct e-mail is: stephan.ferreira@hoteldascataratas.com

Kindest Regards,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The location of this hotel is brilliant. Loved being able to walk to the falls of an evening and early in the morning before the crowds arrived in the park. The hotel has an amazing charm and is just delightful to sit at the front of an evening looking at the falls and enjoying a wine. The rooms are very nice and the pool/Restuarant area very inviting. Cool towels and small complimentary drinks handed out through the day by the pool. Great place to stay when visiting Iguassu falls

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brisbanetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas.

You are completely right! Having the falls just for yourself early in the the morning and in the evening is a complete unique experience. I am glad you got to experience that.

We are all pleased to hear that you did enjoy your stay and are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest Regards,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Wonderful hotel with excellent service. no doubts - recommend to all of who wants to visit Iguasu waterfalls and have a nice stay in very comfortable place.
Nature, garden, service, pool, sauna, breakfast!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Polina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words on the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas.

We are all very pleased to hear that our services lived up to your expectations and that your stay was to your complete satisfaction.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

By far the best place to stay in the area for a night or so at the doorstep of one of the most spectacular locations on earth! Immaculate hotel and extremely efficient staff/service throughout. Breakfast by a quiet poolside was one of the highlights. Impossible to fault and recommended to anyone visiting Foz do Iguacu. It doesn't get much better than this!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baoluo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas with us and other Trip Advisor users.

Your review has been forwarded to our entire team, and we are all very pleased to hear that you did enjoy your stay and the services provided.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas.

Kindest Regards,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed here as part of a tour and I have to say that it was without doubt the best hotel that I've ever been in. The location is perfect to see the falls, just 100m from the front and because this is actually inside the national park, you can walk down at any time without the daytime crush of tourists. The accommodation is beautiful, from the super comfortable beds and lovely white fluffy towels to the amazing breakfast spread (with champagne). Lazing by the pool is equally good. Lots of bird life, lots of cute little animals, amazing staff. It's faultless. I don't want to leave, ever!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 9HappyTrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas.

We are very pleased to hear that you did enjoy your stay and that you left us well looked after.

Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The Hotel das Cataratas is unique, on the Brazilian side of the Iguacu Falls, and that is because it is inside the National Park. When the park closes and the hordes have gone you have sunset and sunrise and that wonderful path walk along the Falls almost entirely to yourself - worth paying almost anything for! We started our trip to these fabulous Falls by arriving by plane on the Argentinian side and taking a taxi to the entry point by the Ticket Office. They only take cash but there is an ATM nearby if you need Argentine currency. We left our luggage in secure lockers operated by the souvenir shop and off we went on the very slow train to see the star of the Falls - Devil's Throat. There's lots of walking to do on this side of the Falls on walkways that take you right across and out to great vantage points. We spent about 3 hours there then took another taxi across the border to the park gates on the Brazilian side as no taxis are allowed inside the park. The taxi ride was about an hour and not that expensive considering the cab driver handled all the passport control formalities on our behalf. Although the park was shut, the gates stay open for hotel guests and our park entry fees were charged to our hotel account so no messing about queueing for entry tickets . The hotel bus leaves at regular intervals and was there to meet us and take us, and our luggage to reception. Set on a beautifully manicured grassy mound the hotel resembles a small palace and looks spectacular at sunset. Check-in was smooth and friendly and off we went to our double deluxe which was certainly not one of the best rooms on offer in the hotel. It was fairly small but nicely furnished. We had some plumbing issues during our stay but they certainly did not distract from us enjoying our time here. The a la carte dining room that overlooks the Falls is fairly small so you need to book early if you want a table there. No a la carte table for us as fully booked, so we took the barbecue buffet option which is located in the dining area which doubles as the breakfast room out by the pool. It has some very nice outside tables so make sure you reserve one if the weather is good. The food and the choice was excellent and the starlit and candlelit setting by the pool was very romantic. We even finished off the evening with a decadent dip in the pool listening to some great music from the live singer and her accompanist - brilliant! First thing next morning we were off to see the Falls before the park opened and the endless stream of buses and visitors could ruin the atmosphere. We met only two other people on our walk down the path which follows the Falls and about a dozen on the way back. One of the walkways takes you right out over one of the falls and the sensation of being soaked by the spray is scintillating - we were there completely on our own! They say that Argentina has the Falls and that Brazil has the view, and having been to both sides we can't disagree with this statement although the experience on both sides is very different and we enjoyed both. Back at the hotel it was time for breakfast and that, again was excellent. If you are only coming here to see the Falls once then, in our opinion, the Hotel das Cataratas provides an incomparable experience. Great staff, superb location and a thoroughly amazing stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yungkara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to review the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas.

I have forwarded your review to our entire team, and all are thrilled by it.

It is our aim to provide a life experience to our guests, and your comments made us feel we are on the right track to achieve that objective.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas.

Kindest Regards,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
2,717 reviews
City Center
Taroba Hotel
Taroba Hotel
#12 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
5,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Colonial Iguacu
#40 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
1,277 reviews
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#16 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel das Cataratas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel das Cataratas

Address: Rodovia Br 469 Km 32 | Iguacu National Park, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85855-750, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Spa Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#5 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range: £247 - £507 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel das Cataratas 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the spectacular Iguacu Falls in Iguacu National Park, the 5-star Belmond Hotel das Cataratas provides free Wi-Fi internet access. Guests can enjoy a cocktail by the swimming pool or play a game of tennis on the provided court. The falls can be experienced by speed boat, rafting or by a helicopter flyover. For excitement and adventure, guests can enjoy abseiling, rock climbing and canopy walks. Walking tours allow for the surrounding lush rain forest to be explored. Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers traditional Portuguese styled rooms with a flat screen TV, dark wood furniture and warm natural tones. Some rooms provide a balcony and seating area. The two restaurants on-site provide views of the falls and of the hotel's pool. They serve a selection of international and local Brazilian cuisine. In the evening live music can be enjoyed in the downstairs bar. The Iguacu Falls lie between the Brazilian state of Parana and Argentina. The Brazilian side offers postcard panoramic views, while the Argentinian side provides varied, up-close views. The hotel is located in a privileged position, alongside the Iguassu Falls. It is in fact the only hotel situated in the Iguassu National Park. Because of its prime location, the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers its guests a unique experience - taking walks along the trails by the falls which may be done at any time during the day, with the added advantage that from 7 a.M to 9 a.M, the trails are for guests of the hotel exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond Hotel das Cataratas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Das Cataratas Hotel
Tropical Das Cataratas
Hotel Das Cataratas
Hotel Tropical Das Cataratas
Belmond Hotel Das Cataratas Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - Parana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing