We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - every part of our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Ranked #1 of 79 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Amazing experience from start to finish. The hotel is not cheap. It is however inside the national park Iguazu and this means you get to do the falls walk way before any tourists arrive in the morning and also the sunsets from the bar terrace.
We had fantastic service in all the restaurants for dinner lunch and breakfast. In the bar there were 8 members of staff working so anything you order is delivered almost immediately. The restaurant welcomed us with champagne and the menu was a wide range of international dishes. The waiters knowledgable and courteous. Breakfast was a buffet feast with an egg station, a wide selection of fruits and pastries, juices and champagne.
Everywhere in the hotel was spotlessly clean with what looked like a million staff all working hard.
The building is colonial style and the rooms are fabulous. We asked for a quiet room and had room 2226 which was a garden room with a small balcony from where we could see the pool. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone in the area, again it's not cheap but you certainly get amazing service.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and had a lovely garden one with small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An_Expat_Wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas.

Our entire team is very pleased to hear that you did enjoy your stay and the services we provide.

Our main aim is to provide our Guests with a unique experience and the highest level of service. Your review made us feel we are on the right way to achieve those results.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,067)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,550 - 1,556 of 4,067 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is perfectly located within the Iguazu Falls National Park in Brazil and in sight of the falls. It is a gorgeous hotel with well appointed large rooms and exceptional service. Public areas are elegant yet welcoming. One of the best hotels I've stayed. Staff are exceedingly helpful and knowledgable. Food at the restaurant overlooking the pool is excellent in both quality and variety. Don't miss the Brazilian barbecue. Great gym facilities and pool. Location is unbeatable as you cal step out and walk to falls anytime of day. Get an upper floor room overlooking the falls.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank RAnilC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas.

We are very pleased to hear that you did enjoy your stay and the services our team provided you with.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

As part of a tour group, we stayed at this hotel for two nights on 1 and 2 April 2014. It's just a picture perfect location.

Set in the national park on the Brazilian side of the awesome Iguazu Falls, the hotel is just a couple of minutes walk from a magnificent view of the Falls. The park itself does not open to the general public until 9:00am, so, if you choose, you can have these great views to yourselves before the crowds arrive. The best views of the Falls from this side are in the mornings rather than the afternoon.

You can also take a leisurely 2.5 kilometer walk from this location and enjoy the sights of the Falls right up to the horseshoe apex. There are also walkways over water which take you very close to the cascading torrents. Some waterproof clothing is advisable!

One of the really welcome features of this scenic walk is an elevator which takes you up to the road level where you can either walk back to the hotel or catch a shuttle bus back. Or, of course, you can take the scenic walk back and soak in more of the magnificent wonders of the world's greatest falls!

What about the hotel itself? The rooms are spacious and the beds wonderfully comfortable. Our room had a view over a large courtyard area with an attractive garden setting.

Breakfasts and dinners are of five star standard. Dinner in the formal dining areas can be expensive but certainly worth the experience. There is also the option of a cheaper evening meal in one of the lounge or outdoor areas if you wish. At our buffet breakfast, we were offered a glass (or more) of a champagne style sparkling wine! In my case one glass was certainly sufficient.

The service standards are very good. Hotel staff are polite and courteous and can generally speak reasonable English.

This is a great hotel with an old-worldly ambience.

Room Tip: If possible, choose a room with a view of the falls or, alternatively, a view over the garden courty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lxcleary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas with us.

Our main aim is to provide our Guests with a unique experience and the highest level of service. Your kind words and review made us feel we are on the right track to achieve thos objectives.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back at the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed for two nights at this amazing Hotel. It's not to be missed and well worth the money! Yes it's expensive but we will not be back to Iguassu falls and it certainly made this a trip of a life time for us. Service, ambiance and detail are top rate. It's a piece of Spanish Colonial history and the attention to detail is wonderful. The artwork and finish to all the interior is stunning. We loved the Jazz bar and the whole place. To be able to walk through the park after the others have left make this a special place. Breakfast is vast and delicious. The pool area is relaxing and beautifully set in a tropical garden, again all spotlessly clean and full of the best service you will find. Towels laid out for you olives and nuts provided free with your drinks.

Room Tip: Go to the supermarket before you arrive and bring a bottle of wine and a few sans to help make your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jude W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas.

Our entire team is very pleased to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This hotel is an absolute dream. Every guest who we spoke to or overheard could not say anything negative and we were certainly so impressed. If you only do one thing in Brazil, stay here. It has the feel of Raffles in Singapore, relaxed and special. The staff cannot do more for you, the rooms are beautifully presented and the food is delicious - champagne for breakfast on tap - yes please! Together with seeing the waterfalls from the steps of reception at any time of day or night this is an absolute MUST DO!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vfreebairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas.

We strive to provide our Guests with a unique experience and the highest level of service. Your feedback is very importante to us and made us feel, we are on the right track to achieve those objectives.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Let me begin with my very first impression, Mr. Hobson was prompt and smiling waiting for us at the airport. (Take a taxi its much cheaper)He gave us a great over view of what to expect and what to do in our short time there. Steffi then checked us in and she was absolutely a gem. She answered all of our questions and made us feel at home right away. Claudiano and Ricardo also gave us wonderful service every time we encountered them. But I must leave the best for last, Nacir. Nacir is a true gentleman who loves his job and it shows. He takes great pride in everything he does. From his introduction to his suggestions and presentation of everything he brought to our table. He boasted with great pride his years at the hotel and gave us such great short conversation every time he came to check on our service. He is such an asset to the your hotel. Nacir deserves a 10 for every aspect of his job. I hope to see him the next time I stay there, which I hope is soon. Spend the money its worth seeing the falls at 7am with no one else around. The place is amazing!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for such a kind review on the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas.

Your remarks have been forwarded to all the members of our team.Everyone was very pleased to hear that you had such a great time with us.

I've shown your review to Nacir personally, and he was very happy about your words. Here is his " Muito Obrigado!"

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back at the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. This was a perfect length of stay for visiting the falls.

Best thing is you have this great Falls all to yourself until 9AM and after 5PM. What a treat.

What a location. Walk a hundred feet and and you overlook the Argentine side of the Falls. Walk half a mile and see the entire falls. The falls is 2 miles wide and has 300 different falls as part of it.

We flew in from Buenos Aires and four of us took cab from the airport. Was very easy. We had our Brazilian visa which was a must going across border from Argentina to Brazil. The Argentine's controlled the cabs and had a reasonable pre-set price of I think $45 (for our entire group) to the main gate to the park. Needed to go get a park pass from the National Park building prior to being able to enter the park. The hotel's shuttle service took us from Park entrance to the hotel about 3 miles away.

Take the walk along the falls to Devil's throat--the most spectacular part of the falls. If you go out on the walking bridge you will get soaked but well worth it. We did this walk 3 times during our stay.

The Falls can change from day to day. The 2nd day we were there the flow of water was twice what it was the first day giving a completely different look to the Falls.

The second day we went there we went to the Argentine side of the Falls for the day. It was well worth the trip and views. You could see up close what you could only see form a distance on the Brazilian side.

Both sides had well maintained trails. It takes 6 hours to see the Argentine side. Long day but worth it. Make sure to take the boat ride under the falls. Cab fare from main gate to Argentine side should be $40. Got cab back from Argentine side easily and it was $40. Get your tickets for the boat ride at the booth right after the entrance to Argentine side. Make sure to take train out to walkway to overlook Devil's throat.

Dining options are limited because of the remoteness of the hotel but we were generally happy with the food we got.

The champagne buffet breakfast spread was incredible in a wonderful setting by the pool.

We ate in the breakfast area for lunch the first day and it was very good.

Ate in the main restaurant. It was good but not great. Other reviews had it rated better

Had room service one night and it was well done.

Management of hotel was great. We had a bad experience with the cab that we caught at front gate taking us to the Falls. Charged us $100 for a $40 ride. We reported the problem to the management of the hotel and they spent hours tracking down what happened.

Their resolution of the problem could not have been better--great communication with us and they provided us;

1. $100 credit to our bill
2. Free valet ride to the Argentine airport direct from the hotel when we left.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clarkelovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on the Belmond Hotel das Catartas.

We are very pleased to hear that you did enjoy the services our team did provide you with and that you took full advantage of the hotel's locations. You are completely right, 3 days is the ideal length of stay for Iguassu. You get to see both sides of the falls and also enjoy and relax at the hotel.

I am happy to hear that the solution we found for the inconvenience with the Cab Drive was to your satisfaction.

Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back at the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas.

Kindest Regards,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
2,720 reviews
City Center
Taroba Hotel
Taroba Hotel
#12 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
5,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Colonial Iguacu
#40 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
1,277 reviews
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#16 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel das Cataratas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel das Cataratas

Address: Rodovia Br 469 Km 32 | Iguacu National Park, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85855-750, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Spa Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#5 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range: £248 - £505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel das Cataratas 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the spectacular Iguacu Falls in Iguacu National Park, the 5-star Belmond Hotel das Cataratas provides free Wi-Fi internet access. Guests can enjoy a cocktail by the swimming pool or play a game of tennis on the provided court. The falls can be experienced by speed boat, rafting or by a helicopter flyover. For excitement and adventure, guests can enjoy abseiling, rock climbing and canopy walks. Walking tours allow for the surrounding lush rain forest to be explored. Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers traditional Portuguese styled rooms with a flat screen TV, dark wood furniture and warm natural tones. Some rooms provide a balcony and seating area. The two restaurants on-site provide views of the falls and of the hotel's pool. They serve a selection of international and local Brazilian cuisine. In the evening live music can be enjoyed in the downstairs bar. The Iguacu Falls lie between the Brazilian state of Parana and Argentina. The Brazilian side offers postcard panoramic views, while the Argentinian side provides varied, up-close views. The hotel is located in a privileged position, alongside the Iguassu Falls. It is in fact the only hotel situated in the Iguassu National Park. Because of its prime location, the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers its guests a unique experience - taking walks along the trails by the falls which may be done at any time during the day, with the added advantage that from 7 a.M to 9 a.M, the trails are for guests of the hotel exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond Hotel das Cataratas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Das Cataratas Hotel
Tropical Das Cataratas
Hotel Das Cataratas
Hotel Tropical Das Cataratas
Belmond Hotel Das Cataratas Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - Parana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing