We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing more beyond what has already been written”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Ranked #1 of 80 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Great location, colonial building, fantastic service. The price is intimidating and frankly a bit of a rip off, but one does not go to Iguacu everyday!

Tip#1: Do not take the hotel taxi from or to the airport. It is much cheaper to take a taxi to the gates of the park, and take the free hotel shuttle (that leaves every 20 minutes) from there.

Tip#2: Do not take a falls facing room that comes with an extra charge. With the falls being just 50 m away, it is just not worth spending that extra on the room. Spend that money on some activity instead :)

Tip#3: Keep some time out to enjoy the property.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sub_maya_hai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,507 - 1,513 of 4,152 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

I have to admit that I hesitated a long time before clicking to book this hotel... The tag price is obviously to 95% of the people who do not know the place a big brake: after 2 amazing days spent there, I would not have stayed anywhere else. But know that you are not booking a room, you are booking a location (right in front of the falls) and an amazing staff at your service day and night.
Room wise, I had much better for much more affordable price, I admit it. The style is very classic and even by booking the deluxe, you kind of miss some space compared to similar tagged priced hotels. That said, everything is very nit and of good taste.
Cleanliness is also top of the line: I only found one line of grime in the shower because I looked closely at it. The last morning we found a dead huge insect (similar to a cockroach but not sure it was one) in a corridor. In the middle of the rainforest, there are insects anyway.
Very nice body products available and by abundance.
Staff is just AMAZING and so nice. They should honestly go on a training to many 4/5 stars hotel to be that nice and that reachable to guests.
The hotels stands inside the park in Brazil and in front of the falls, our room gave view to the fall (3305).
Pool is of a very good size, well maintained and outdoor with plenty sunbed in the middle of the garden.
Restaurant has very good quality and tasteful food. Breakfast has just everything you might want to eat.

Some tips:
- we used the hotel activities planner and were very happy about it: they provided water, repellant, waterproof ponchos for all our activities (just avoid the black well trail until the management invest in it, you can read my other review about it)
- do not take the hotel limousine/taxi. It is very easy to take a taxi from the airport to the entrance of the park and cost only 20~30 BRL. From/to the gate, you can take a hotel free shuttle of the hotel (every 20 minutes)
- I would avoid to take on the restaurant churrascaria offer. Meat is good, but does not have enough volume to have people coming to your table: picanha is not cut as it should be. Thought the buffet is very tasty: I just regretted to have paid 140 BRL (about x2 of a very good priced churrascaria) for it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francois B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel is situated within 100 meters of one of the world's most dramatic waterfalls. It is a spacious, luxurious hotel with a beautiful pool area, lovely restaurants and bar area, and super comfortable rooms. Best of all is the fact that guests can walk right across the road to access the walking path along the edge of the Iguaza Falls and out onto platforms overhanging the gorge. I can't say enough about this beautiful hotel. We loved it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Haydi_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We visited the Iguassu falls as a side trip during the 2014 World Cup. This was our "splurge" in a hotel outside our normal style and price range and we spent two nights there.

The main reason for picking the hotel was its location close to the falls. The location allowed us to spend as much time as we chose around the falls and made the best use of our time instead of travelling to / from the park.

The hotel proved to be very good in all ways. The rooms were spacious and well equipped. The buildings and grounds were well kept and interesting.

The breakfast buffet was good and varied and we also participated in the nightly dinner Brazilian buffet which included a variety of barbequed meats. The buffet was good but the meats were not exceptional so we attempted each of the many desserts instead.

We took advantage of the internal travel agent to arrange pick up and drop off at the airport, book a river excursion, and to confirm our flights and print boarding passes.

The hotel staff were helpful but sometimes took themselves too seriously providing some unintended amusement - particularly when they insisted on turning off the lounge TV to allow a pianist to provide entertainment - right before the England v Italy World Cup match. As might be expected, the audience reversed that decision but not before some of us had lost our prime seating.

The star of the show was of course the falls themselves. They were in full spate when we were there due to recent heavy rains with about six times the typical volume of water. The walkways allow you to get close to the water and you will get wet and can then take advantage of the hotel free clothes drying service. We did the Macuco boat ride up and under the falls and that was an exciting experience and not to be missed.

All in all - a good place for a splurge while you see one of the world's biggest natural wonders.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank frankmpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

One of the best hotels I've stayed at. Great in all respects. I just wish it were a bit less expensive. Location was terrific because we were able to walk to the falls before the park opened, so had the views practically to ourselves.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ciaran Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

There are many benefits to staying next to the falls, especially if it's a cool, rainy day you can go back in 2 minutes and change without waiting for a bus to take you outside the park. The hotel is EXCEPTIONAL!! Breakfast is plentiful, the resort is quite large and beautiful!! Amazing toiletries!! Staff is truly wonderful... it's expensive, but worth every penny!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pooja2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Our trip didn't start well with some confusion over the booking. The hotel made us wait in reception for over an hour while the sorted it out which wasn't appreciated. Words like "As it stands, you will be paying the full walk in rate" aren't appreciated when the problem was an admin error and not our fault. Front desk can come across rather surly and haughty generally.

Rooms are good but by no means luxurious. In addition, dining options are very limited. The a la carte restaurant is perennially booked up leaving the Brazillian buffet as the other option so if you don't want this, book your table well in advance.

Ultimately you are paying for the location rather than the hotel. Bear in mind you will need to pay to get into the park before you even get to the hotel. Being a guest doesn't exempt you.

On the positive side the location is excellent. You are able to get to the falls in the morning before the tourist busses arrive. The Iguacu Experiences staff based in the hotel are also very helpful.

Room Tip: If you can stretch to it, pick a falls facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 80 in Foz do Iguacu
2,750 reviews
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#15 of 80 in Foz do Iguacu
1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Taroba Hotel
Taroba Hotel
#12 of 80 in Foz do Iguacu
6,053 reviews
Wish Foz do Iguacu by GJP
#14 of 80 in Foz do Iguacu
2,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel das Cataratas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel das Cataratas

Address: Rodovia Br 469 Km 32 | Iguacu National Park, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85855-750, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Spa Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#5 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range: £228 - £460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel das Cataratas 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the spectacular Iguacu Falls in Iguacu National Park, the 5-star Belmond Hotel das Cataratas provides free Wi-Fi internet access. Guests can enjoy a cocktail by the swimming pool or play a game of tennis on the provided court. The falls can be experienced by speed boat, rafting or by a helicopter flyover. For excitement and adventure, guests can enjoy abseiling, rock climbing and canopy walks. Walking tours allow for the surrounding lush rain forest to be explored. Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers traditional Portuguese styled rooms with a flat screen TV, dark wood furniture and warm natural tones. Some rooms provide a balcony and seating area. The two restaurants on-site provide views of the falls and of the hotel's pool. They serve a selection of international and local Brazilian cuisine. In the evening live music can be enjoyed in the downstairs bar. The Iguacu Falls lie between the Brazilian state of Parana and Argentina. The Brazilian side offers postcard panoramic views, while the Argentinian side provides varied, up-close views. The hotel is located in a privileged position, alongside the Iguassu Falls. It is in fact the only hotel situated in the Iguassu National Park. Because of its prime location, the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers its guests a unique experience - taking walks along the trails by the falls which may be done at any time during the day, with the added advantage that from 7 a.M to 9 a.M, the trails are for guests of the hotel exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Belmond Hotel das Cataratas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Das Cataratas Hotel
Tropical Das Cataratas
Hotel Das Cataratas
Hotel Tropical Das Cataratas
Belmond Hotel Das Cataratas Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - Parana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing