We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
McLean, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Excellent experience. Top notch service.
Booked through a discount travel site, and was expecting to get the smallest room. We were actually upgraded to a gorgeous junior suite.
Breakfast and dinner buffet were very good. We had a reservation at their a la carte restaurant but decided to go to the buffet for the second night, since the variety and quality was quite good. (I'm still trying to find an outstanding Argentinian Shiraz they serve by the glass. But it does not appear it's exported to the US).
There is no need to use the travel agency inside the hotel for a trip to the Argentinian side of the falls. The valet called a taxi for us that was 1/2 the price. Very good and punctual driver.
As everybody says, go across the street to see the Brazilian side early in the morning before the park opens to the general public.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aycdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Gerente at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and reviewing the Hotel das Cataratas.

We are very pleased to hear that you did enjoy your stay and our services.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,241
    459
    91
    33
    18
See reviews for
745
2,132
203
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (583)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cusco, Peru
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Fantastic hotel, restaurant and tours. The staff have been great, my 10 years old nephew can still not believe there was someone at the airport waiting for us with an iPad with our names on it. Location is unbeatable, in front of the falls. We won't forget Iguassu for a long time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank NestorHY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Gerente at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and reviewing the Hotel das Cataratas.

We are very pleased to hear that you did enjoy your stay and our services.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

You cannot go wrong with this hotel. Perfectly located on the Brazilian side of the falls, it offers the luxury and amenities of 7-Star resort. We loved it, Rooms were very comfortable. Food was excellent and service was exemplary.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sridhar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Gerente at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and reviewing the Hotel das Cataratas.

We are very pleased to hear that you did enjoy your stay and our services.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This hotel was a true joy! Although expensive, it is worth every penny. The location is ideal. The food delicious. The room was outstanding (a junior suite facing the falls). But the true heart of this hotel is the staff. You will be treated graciously, professionally and with a true sincerity in any reply to your wishes and concerns. I have stayed at many 5 - 6 star properties, but none has been this type of a delightful experience. If you want a thorough hotel and room tour- ask for Luis, if you want to have an illuminating conversation about your stay, the park or Brazil in general, Fabio, the duty manager, is at your service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MaryO0626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Gerente at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and other TA readers.

Our main aim at the Hotel das Cataratas is to deliver the highest level of service and attention do our guests. Feedback such as yours makes us feel we are on the right track to achieve that goal.

Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,
Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luzon, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2014

One of the best decisions we made in our trip to South America was to stay in this hotel. Excellent service, excellent food, excellent facilities! This place makes you feel like royalty, and nothing beats seeing Foz do Iguacu from your hotel window. Definitely worth every penny and much more. The best hotel I've ever experienced!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathchavez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Gerente at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and other TA readers.

Our main aim at the Hotel das Cataratas is to deliver the highest level of service and attention do our guests. Feedback such as yours makes us feel we are on the right track to achieve that goal.

Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,
Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My second time at this Hotel. It only gets better. This is the Hotel where you have to stay in Iguacu. I have stayed at the Hotel in the Argentinian side. Nice Hotel but does not compare with Das Cataratas. Be carefull because the Argentinian trails are partially closed at the moment. You can not reach the Garganta del Diablo. The trail has been closed for some months now. Argentinian trails are very limited at this moment. You will end up going to the Brazilian side to view the falls.

If you can afford this Hotel this is the place where you have to stay. Its impecable in every aspect. BE SURE TO ARRANGE FOR THE HOTEL TO PICK YOU UP AT THE AIRPORT. Do not try to sabe money. It is not worth the hastle.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Victor Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Gerente at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and reviewing the Hotel das Cataratas.

We are very pleased to hear that you did enjoy your stay and our services.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Just in front of the hotel, You hâve these extraordinary Falls . It is in the protected park, isolated. You nead to eat every meals at this hôtel if You dont have a car.
Service is amasing for the rooms. Very clean and groomed. They Will dry your Clothes after your falls excursion. For sure ,You Will be wet. ;-))
Great bed And Linen .
Wood floor in the rooms.Nice decoration everywhere

Room Tip: Any one ,the falls are right out the hôtel door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chawine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Gerente at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on the Hotel das Catartas.

We are very pleased to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us.

Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,
Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
2,566 reviews
City Center
Taroba Hotel
Taroba Hotel
#15 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
5,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#17 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
1,334 reviews
Hotel Colonial Iguacu
#43 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel das Cataratas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel das Cataratas

Property: Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Address: Rodovia Br 469 Km 32 | Iguacu National Park, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85855-750, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Spa Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#5 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel das Cataratas 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the spectacular Iguacu Falls in Iguacu National Park, the 5-star Belmond Hotel das Cataratas provides free Wi-Fi internet access. Guests can enjoy a cocktail by the swimming pool or play a game of tennis on the provided court. The falls can be experienced by speed boat, rafting or by a helicopter flyover. For excitement and adventure, guests can enjoy abseiling, rock climbing and canopy walks. Walking tours allow for the surrounding lush rain forest to be explored. Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers traditional Portuguese styled rooms with a flat screen TV, dark wood furniture and warm natural tones. Some rooms provide a balcony and seating area. The two restaurants on-site provide views of the falls and of the hotel's pool. They serve a selection of international and local Brazilian cuisine. In the evening live music can be enjoyed in the downstairs bar. The Iguacu Falls lie between the Brazilian state of Parana and Argentina. The Brazilian side offers postcard panoramic views, while the Argentinian side provides varied, up-close views. The hotel is located in a privileged position, alongside the Iguassu Falls. It is in fact the only hotel situated in the Iguassu National Park. Because of its prime location, the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers its guests a unique experience - taking walks along the trails by the falls which may be done at any time during the day, with the added advantage that from 7 a.M to 9 a.M, the trails are for guests of the hotel exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Hotel das Cataratas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Das Cataratas Hotel
Tropical Das Cataratas
Hotel Das Cataratas
Hotel Tropical Das Cataratas
Belmond Hotel Das Cataratas Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - Parana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing