We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More expensive than other hotels in Foz but totally worth it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Ranked #1 of 80 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

If you come to Foz do Iguaçu mainly to enjoy the beauty of the waterfalls - stay in the hotel das cataratas, the only hotel in the national park and right in front of the waterfalls! This gives you the privilege to enjoy the waterfalls before and after the park closes for the other tourists (and this are quite a lot of people...). The city center, where most hotels are located, is about half an hour away from the park entry.
The room was very cozy and clean and the hotel staff was very kind and helpful. The hotel's restaurant is not bad, but too expensive for what it offers. The hotel bar has a terrace from where you can see and listen the waterfalls.
Do not use the hotels' pick up service from the airport - it's to expensive. A taxi will cost you only about 10 Reais from the Brazilian airport to the national park entry. From there you will take a free shuttle bus from the hotel which leaves every 20 minutes and will bring you right to the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erdbeermarmelade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Gerente at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and reviewing the Hotel das Cataratas.

We are very pleased to hear that you did enjoy your stay and our services.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,499 - 1,505 of 4,192 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is a hotel that has all the pluses, location, location, location. Unbeatable location within the park makes the falls views easy at all times situ rise mornings. Evenings and sunsets.

The hotel is immaculately maintained by very polite and friendly staff. A very aristocratic old building with excellent furnishings, and excellent rooms and services. Well equipped tour office.
Pool side restaurant for breakfast and night buffet though a bit pricey is well worth the price.

Shuttles provide easy travel to the local activity, highly recommended for families.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pixbuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Gerente at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and reviewing the Hotel das Cataratas.

We are very pleased to hear that you did enjoy your stay and our services.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Had a great stay in this grand old hotel. Being inside the park after the tourist leave is well worth the stay. Amazing landscaped grounds and breakfast buffet of foods native to the country.. a great stay. This is the best hotel for views of the falls. We could see the Sheraton Hotel that is located on the Argentina side but guests are not allowed to wander freely after dark like we were. I was able to get photos morning and night without a lot of tourists.

Room Tip: Only a few of the rooms have a view of the falls but I enjoyed walking down to the falls. Only rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ared0723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Gerente at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and other TA readers.

Our main aim at the Hotel das Cataratas is to deliver the highest level of service and attention do our guests. Feedback such as yours makes us feel we are on the right track to achieve that goal.

Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,
Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

How would you feel in having across the street one of the eight wonders of the world ? Book a stay and answer it. Even being brazilian I had been to Niagara before Iguassu. My expectations weren't as high, but that was a mistake. Iguassu is about five times bigger. It is really astonishing ! On top of that, the hotel is fantastic. Pure nostalgic style, refurbished , with great rooms, beautiful pool, and state of the art service. Food is great, buffet breakfast and a la carte restaurant that is the best in the region. Not worthy to eat anywhere else, but worth to buy new world wines on the argentina side of the border at great prices

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Gerente at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on the Hotel das Catartas.

We are very pleased to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us.

Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,
Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel is a paradise on Earth, I can even hear the falls from my room. The fall is just a couple of meters away from the front of the hotel, the view is stunning. The best part is that I get to enjoy the falls before and after the park regular hours. Getting to walk around and have the falls exclusive to ourselves is priceless. This is such a life experience.

The service is second to none, absolutely 5 stars. The food is amazing.

I highly recommend anyone to stay at this hotel. It's worth every penny.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mona_Suwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Gerente at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and other TA readers.

Our main aim at the Hotel das Cataratas is to deliver the highest level of service and attention do our guests. Feedback such as yours makes us feel we are on the right track to achieve that goal.

Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,
Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

When I booked this hotel for my wife and I to stay it it was Number 1 on the hotels at Foz du Iguaçu, but now it's Number 5.

I'll go through the good points and the bad points one by one:

Positives:

- The location is phenomenal. It's the only hotel within the National Park which means you have exclusive access to the falls when the park is shut for other visitors. We visited the falls early in the morning when it was empty and the experience was phenomenal. The falls are literally outside the front of the hotel and as that is the main attraction this makes it the perfect hotel.

- The quality of the hotel was amazing. We've stayed in some really top class hotels all over the world and this is up there with them - the place exudes class and you get what you pay for with this hotel.

- The food was very good. We had breakfast, lunch and dinner there and the quality of the food was really good indeed, and could not be faulted.

Negatives:

- The food is overpriced, for what it is. Obviously, you're miles away from any local restaurants so the only choice you have is to eat at the hotel. The food is good, but not worth the money they charge.

- We had an issue with something going missing from our room. We checked into the hotel in the afternoon and they took our bags to our room. We left our luggage closed, then left our iPhones charging and then went to the restaurant for dinner. Unfortunately, when we returned we found that our room had been turned over and my wife's iPhone cases was no longer on the table. Now for those reading this I am the most anal person you could meet and I know where everything is all the time - and I searched the whole room (which was clean anyway as we hadn't unpacked except for our phones - our passports, etc. were in the safe) and it was nowhere. The iPhone case itself wasn't expensive (it was probably worth about £15) but it was given to her by someone who is no longer with us, so has huge sentimental value. I politely told the reception that it was missing and they said they would look into it. I went back several more times after this and they basically turned around and blamed us for losing it. As we were only staying two nights and it was the end of our Brazil trip I couldn't be bothered complaining. But the fact is it was taken and we did not lose it. The fact they didn't even try to help or rectify the situation is something which spoilt our trip somewhat.

Room Tip: Get up early before the National Park is open to the public and enjoy uninterrupted access to the fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank barneystinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Gerente at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your taking your time ro review the Hotel das Cataratas.

I am very sorry to hear that you left us unsatisfied. Our main aim is to deliver the highest level of service and experience to our guests.

Should you wish to discuss the items you mentioned on your review personally, please feel free to e-mail me at stephan.ferreira@belmond.com

Kind Regards,
Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The falls are superb and this hotel is really special - the two together make a memory of a lifetime! The hotel staff are incredibly friendly and attentive - they make you feel really special and important. Food is superb too.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataratasManagement, Gerente at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on the Hotel das Catartas.

We are very pleased to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us.

Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,
Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#3 of 80 in Foz do Iguacu
2,780 reviews
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#14 of 80 in Foz do Iguacu
1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Colonial Iguacu
#41 of 80 in Foz do Iguacu
1,299 reviews
Wish Foz do Iguacu by GJP
#15 of 80 in Foz do Iguacu
2,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel das Cataratas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel das Cataratas

Address: Rodovia Br 469 Km 32 | Iguacu National Park, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85855-750, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Spa Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#5 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range: £225 - £474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel das Cataratas 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the spectacular Iguacu Falls in Iguacu National Park, the 5-star Belmond Hotel das Cataratas provides free Wi-Fi internet access. Guests can enjoy a cocktail by the swimming pool or play a game of tennis on the provided court. The falls can be experienced by speed boat, rafting or by a helicopter flyover. For excitement and adventure, guests can enjoy abseiling, rock climbing and canopy walks. Walking tours allow for the surrounding lush rain forest to be explored. Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers traditional Portuguese styled rooms with a flat screen TV, dark wood furniture and warm natural tones. Some rooms provide a balcony and seating area. The two restaurants on-site provide views of the falls and of the hotel's pool. They serve a selection of international and local Brazilian cuisine. In the evening live music can be enjoyed in the downstairs bar. The Iguacu Falls lie between the Brazilian state of Parana and Argentina. The Brazilian side offers postcard panoramic views, while the Argentinian side provides varied, up-close views. The hotel is located in a privileged position, alongside the Iguassu Falls. It is in fact the only hotel situated in the Iguassu National Park. Because of its prime location, the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers its guests a unique experience - taking walks along the trails by the falls which may be done at any time during the day, with the added advantage that from 7 a.M to 9 a.M, the trails are for guests of the hotel exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond Hotel das Cataratas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Das Cataratas Hotel
Tropical Das Cataratas
Hotel Das Cataratas
Hotel Tropical Das Cataratas
Belmond Hotel Das Cataratas Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - Parana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing