We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bela Vist Especiale ... Beautiful View, Extraordinary Scenery, ,Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bela Vist Especiale ... Beautiful View, Extraordinary Scenery, ,Location”
Reviewed 15 June 2009

My husband and I travel to Brazil often and loved our first experience at Das Cataratas!
This tropical colonial style hotel in the middle of the Foz do Iguacu park is breathtakingly beautiful, comfortable, enjoyable with excursions underneath the falls in a jeep, boat and on top of the falls by boat (for only the brave-hearted). Walking trails are a wonderful experience, and our trip to the Argentina side allowed us to see more of this amazing waterfalls ... it is 10 times larger than Niagra with more than 100 waterfalls over a large area, visited by almost every USA President! It is the trip of a lifetime and thrill you won't want to miss! On our trip around it to ride the canoe across the top of the falls, we encountered thousands of beautiful yellow butterflies all over the area The soothing sounds of waterfalls from our room, with tropical birds and tame wildlife visiting the pool and grounds is a tropical paradise not to be missed!

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BelaVistasEspeciale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,217
    457
    91
    33
    18
See reviews for
739
2,118
202
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2009

We stayed here for the second part of our honeymoon. This is a lovely hotel in the most amazing location. You are paying a lot for the location but it was worth it. The hotel was undergoing renovation whilst we were there. The pool was finished and is fantastic. It appeared that half the bedrooms were currently being renovated and we stayed in a wing that had been finished and were lovely. Rooms weren't huge but were well furnished, comfortable and elegant. The downside was that one of the bars and restaurants were closed which gave us little choice but as we were there three nights it was ok. The renovation noise is kept to a minimum between 09-16.30 and they disguise it well. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and couldn't do enough for us. The cocktails at the poolside bar were fabulous and the staff come round with free samples of drinks, nuts and melon snacks. The main problem we had was there was the shower was cold and after two days of reporting it they finally sorted the problem out which apparently related to the whole wing and no-one else had reported it! The trail walk to the falls starts directly outside the hotel and you can see some of the waterfalls from the hotel entrance - amazing. You can't beat it - staying in the middle of a national park in 5 star luxury. Better than the Sheraton Hotel concrete block opposite - how did they get permission to build it there!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlisonandJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2009

Hotel is in fantastic grounds and right in the national park so is superbly located for the falls. Construction work was under way during our stay which meant understandable noise problems etc. However staff were friendly and room was a good size and clean. Overall it was a pleasent hotel for our 2 night stay and ideal for visting both sides of the falls.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level Contributor
82 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2009

Ignore the negative reviews of the past which nearly put us off booking this hotel. Orient Express are doing an amazing job of restoring this lovely Colonial building to its former glory. The place looks wonderful, the rooms are very comfortable, the new pool area is lovely and the evening BBQ absolutely delicious.The staff were all great too. I wish I could remember the name of one particularly helpful gentleman at the front desk so that I could commend him personally. The good location of this hotel was never in dispute and having the falls to yourself before the crowds arrive is a definate boon. We stayed 2 nights and wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
73 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2009

We spent three nights in April 2009. What we loved:

The location cannot be beat, the building is charming and fits perfectly in the natural surroundings (unlike the concrete eyesore of the Sheraton on the Argentinian side). The isolation means that the atmosphere of the place is absolutely fantastic in the evening. The watchtower on top of the entrance is a great spot for sunsets, but so are the various viewing points along the road to the falls. And by that time all the non-residents are gone so you have the place pretty much to yourself!! Just the sound of the nocturnal fauna and the falls to fall asleep to...

We stayed in a renovated room. The relatively small but very cosy and comfortable rooms are served by wide hallways and the whole atmosphere is plush and luxurious. Nice botanic prints on the wall, soft colors and tasteful furniture. The bathroom was well equiped and nicely decorated. Some people might miss the bathtub but the oversize showers make up for it. The Amazonian bath products are smell and feel really good.

The renovated swimming pool is beautiful and the perfect way to relax after a day of hiking on the Argentinian or Brazilan side of the river. Full poolside service is available, including free water and some free cocktail samples offered by the staff.

Breakfast is fantastic, in the beautifully renovated poolside restaurant: huge selection of delicious foods.

There is free internet in the lounge behind the lobby.

What we didn't like so much:

The ongoing renovation means that the main bar and main restaurant were closed.

While beautiful and lush, I hope the gardens will be renovated as well. The current landscaping is a bit old fashioned and doesn't really emphasize the natural beauty of the flora and the elegance of the hotel buildings.

Based on previous reviews, we chose not to have dinner on the premises and look for other options in town. This meant a 30 to 45 minutes drive (each way) at night. We found good food at really cheap prices in Foz de Iguazu.

Finally, we hated having to leave the place after three nights!! ;-)

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Woofy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2009

After the tackiness of Foz do Iguacu, a city built on profits from the falls and day trips to Paraguay, the Cataratas Hotel is an oasis of civilsation. Even though it is currently undergoing major renovations by its new owners (who also own the Copacabana Palace in Rio), the work in no way compromised our stay. When it is finished, the hotel will be luxurious in the extreme.

The bedrooms have been beautifully done up, with fabrics reflecting the lush flora and vibrant colours of Brazil. No neutral hotel brown in sight, thankfully. As a family with children aged 11 and 10, we had two rooms at the end of a corridor, which could be shut off with an external door, making a kind of suite. It was perfect. The only discordant note in the rooms concerned the huge flat screen TVs, ostentatiously framed and facing the bed in each room. If you have better things to do than watch TV, you are inescapably left looking at a large black rectangle in a gilt frame. We would have preferred another botanical print, like the beautiful ones elsewhere. Minibar items are even more astronomically expensive than usual - including 300ml of still water for R$6.

Bathrooms are luxurious and sparkling - full of deliciously scented traditional Granado and Phebo products. In true Brazilian tradition, though, there are no baths - only showers. We liked the special children's bath robes - and the havianas (flip flops) which were provided, in the right size, for each of us.

The public areas of the hotel are generous and tasteful and the gardens are glorious - although there aren't as many coatis roaming around as there were 15 years or so ago. We particularly liked the pool, which is properly deep and surrounded by comfortable loungers. There is a poolside bar and periodically, we were offered skewers of fresh fruit by very attentive staff. The hotel's manager is obviously genuinely interested in guests' views too - he responded very promptly to comments in our customer survey form.

Although only the poolside restaurant was open, the food - whether buffet or a la carte - was of a consistently high standard. Breakfast was sumptuous, with everything you could possibly think of on offer.

The biggest advantage offered by the hotel, however, is free access to the park before the hordes arrive. Two mornings in a row, we stood alone on a viewing platform and looked out over Iguacu Falls - which are surely one of the wonders of the natural world - ringed with rainbows in the early mroning sun and we had the place to ourselves. It was magical.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RioLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2009

We stayed at this hotel during it's renovations. It is a beautiful old style of building , quite elegant in areas if you like all the dark heavy wood pannelling and beams. I think we were the first guests in our newly refurbished room and it was clean, comfortable and airy despite there only being a small window. The bathroom was well set out with a huge shower with seat. Work was continuing in adjoining rooms in our wing so there was a strong smell of paint , varnish etc at all times and a lot of noise and workman, they started at a reasonable hour though and finished at 5 pm. There were also interruptions to power and hot water supply on a very regular basis. Sadly the bar and meals area out by the beautiful pool were still being renovated and so no services were available at the pool.
The lobby, restaurant and bar areas in the front of the hotel were all functioning but service for drinks and afternoon tea was very slow. There only appeared to be two bar staff to look after several tour groups and other guests filling in a rainy afternoon. We waited an hour for our second drink and gave up. The beautiful view including glimpses of the falls from the verandah kept us there that long.
The buffet dinner and breakfasts were very good.
There is free internet service.
The feature of this hotel is it's location. As it is within the park guests are free to walk the path to the falls or wander around the forest paths and hotel grounds without the hordes of visitors before 9am and after 5pm. The falls are spectacular and the tranquility of the location outside park hours makes for a wonderful relaxing stay. On a 6.30 am walk we spotted a number of birds and an interesting looking animal, not a coati, of which there are a large number in the park and even some that come into the hotel grounds.
When the hotel is back in full working order it will be a wonderful place to stay and enjoy one of the most spectacular natural spots I've been too.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jules838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foz do Iguacu
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
2,528 reviews
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#18 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Taroba Hotel
Taroba Hotel
#14 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
5,174 reviews
Loi Suites Iguazu
#5 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,077 reviews
Mabu Thermas Grand Resort
#20 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
2,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel das Cataratas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel das Cataratas

Property: Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Address: Rodovia Br 469 Km 32 | Iguacu National Park, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85855-750, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Spa Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#5 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel das Cataratas 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the spectacular Iguacu Falls in Iguacu National Park, the 5-star Belmond Hotel das Cataratas provides free Wi-Fi internet access. Guests can enjoy a cocktail by the swimming pool or play a game of tennis on the provided court. The falls can be experienced by speed boat, rafting or by a helicopter flyover. For excitement and adventure, guests can enjoy abseiling, rock climbing and canopy walks. Walking tours allow for the surrounding lush rain forest to be explored. Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers traditional Portuguese styled rooms with a flat screen TV, dark wood furniture and warm natural tones. Some rooms provide a balcony and seating area. The two restaurants on-site provide views of the falls and of the hotel's pool. They serve a selection of international and local Brazilian cuisine. In the evening live music can be enjoyed in the downstairs bar. The Iguacu Falls lie between the Brazilian state of Parana and Argentina. The Brazilian side offers postcard panoramic views, while the Argentinian side provides varied, up-close views. The hotel is located in a privileged position, alongside the Iguassu Falls. It is in fact the only hotel situated in the Iguassu National Park. Because of its prime location, the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers its guests a unique experience - taking walks along the trails by the falls which may be done at any time during the day, with the added advantage that from 7 a.M to 9 a.M, the trails are for guests of the hotel exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Hotel das Cataratas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Das Cataratas Hotel
Tropical Das Cataratas
Hotel Das Cataratas
Hotel Tropical Das Cataratas
Belmond Hotel Das Cataratas Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - Parana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing