We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean place”
Review of Taroba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taroba Hotel
Ranked #12 of 80 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We stayed for only two nights while visiting the Iguazzu Waterfalls and didn't check out any of the hotel's facilities. The hotel was still under construction but it did not interfere with our stay. The room and bathroom weren't the largest but comfortable for the two of us. Everything was very clean and staff was helpful.

The breakfast area has waterfalls, which creates a nice atmosphere. Food at breakfast was fresh and plentiful. There was a nice variety of hot and cold options.

The hotel is located about 5 minute walk from the Bus terminal in Foz do Iquacu and buses to the airport/and or the National Park and to Argentina stop half a block walk from the hotel. They run every 15-20 mins from early in the morning until late at night. We never had to wait more than 5 mins for a bus to show up. And the best part - the fare was less than $2.

There is a restaurant in the hotel - we didn't try it out and there are few places within 2 blocks (mainly steakhouses) but not much else around. The city center is a little further away. It's a walkable distance but it felt a little strange to walk when it was dark. We were never in any danger but I still felt a little worried.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marketa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauro S, Manager at Taroba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2013

Hi Marketa C! Thank you for dedicating your time and leaving a comment about our Hotel and staff. Your evaluation is very important so we can constantly improve our services. We hope you had nice days while being here and we are looking forward to see you again! Best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

239 - 245 of 6,179 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2013

I stayed in this hotel since all the reviews about the hostals in iguazu werent to positive.
I used the hotel to visit both sides of the waterfall.

(Im an expert on the bordercrossing now :))

I took an extra big room for one person.
The room was still small. But it had what all the standerd hotel has.
It depends on what you expect. I normally take hostals. But..if you are a hotel visitor then you may expect cable television instead of portugese television.
The room was clean. I was in the newer part of the hotel.
So the bathroom was modern. The bed was perfect.

The hotel is near the busstation..very handy to go to argentina and to go to brasilian side.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruud V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauro S, Manager at Taroba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2013

Olá Ruudjes!! Thank you for dedicating your time and leaving a comment about our Hotel and staff. Your evaluation is very important so we can constantly improve our services. We hope you had nice days while being here and we are looking forward to see you again! Best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

I stayed in the hotel for one night in Nov 2012, after arriving on a late flight to Foz do Iguaçu. It is located near the bus stations, pretty much in the city centre. There is a bus stop, 50m away, from where you can take the bus to the national park or to Argentina. The rooms are VERY small, you basically enough place to put your suitcase and that's it. The staff could have been a little bit friendlier, I asked for tips/advice on a couple of occasions, they kept their responses to a single yes/no. On the bright side, the internet is free.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gbelinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauro S, Manager at Taroba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Hello gbelinski!!,thank you for dedicating your time and leaving a comment about our Hotel and staff. Your evaluation is very important so we can constantly improve our services. We hope you had nice days while being here and we are looking forward to see you again! Best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Nice hotel, near popular restaurants (you can take a brazilian meal for less than U$ 8), steak houses, supermarket, laundry. I stayed at the new tower during one week. Although the room is small, is confortable and clean. Tipically a tourist hotel, the breakfast is very good and, even for bussines stay, you can choose this hotel. Offers free parking and a lot of services for tourists. The internet is slow, but you can access your e-mails and navigate through news websites. Don´t forget to bring a adapter for electrical appliances as the hotel uses the new brazilian plugs. Banks are about 1 Km from the hotel.

Room Tip: Aks for a room in the new tower (south).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Junnior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauro S, Manager at Taroba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2013

Hello "Junnior"! First of all, we would like to thank you for taking your time and leaving us a comment, it is very important to us so we can keep improving our services. We are glad you were able to move around the city and the touristic places with no problems at all thanks to our localization. We hope we were able to achieve your expectations, that you may come back soon and that you can indicate us to your friends and family. The BEST WESTERN Hotel Taroba Hotel e Eventos wishes you the best, always!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

One of the reasons we booked the Taroba is that we were wanting to visit both the Brazilian and Argentine falls using public transport and the Taroba is less than two hundred metres from the bus terminus. As a bonus, the hotel was clean comfortable and the staff very helpful. Our room was small but the buffet breakfast was huge.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauro S, Manager at Taroba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2013

Hello "Peter B"! First of all, we would like to thank you for taking your time and leaving us a comment, it is very important to us so we can keep improving our services. We are glad you were able to move around the city and the touristic places with no problems at all thanks to our localization. We hope we were able to achieve your expectations, that you may come back soon and that you can indicate us to your friends and family. The BEST WESTERN Hotel Taroba Hotel e Eventos wishes you the best, always!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Best Western Taroba during a business trip that included Foz do Iguaçu. The hotel is clean and comfortable. The front desk staff was very friendly and I was impressed with their English skills. This hotel is an affordable alternative to the fancier places near the waterfalls. Breakfast included good fruit selection, which is a must in Brazil.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MauricioBabilonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauro S, Manager at Taroba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2013

Hello "CoronelAureliano"! First of all, we would like to thank you for taking your time and leaving us a comment, it is very important to us so we can keep improving our services. We are glad you were able to move around the city and the touristic places with no problems at all thanks to our localization. We hope we were able to achieve your expectations, that you may come back soon and that you can indicate us to your friends and family. The BEST WESTERN Hotel Taroba Hotel e Eventos wishes you the best, always!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Very good location and good service. The hotel is located a couple of blocks away from the main bus terminal, which is excellent for those not relying on rental cars (buses run +/- every 30min to airport , the falls, Argentina, dam, etc). You don't need a car if you're only visiting the main attractions. There are two towers, you want to stay in tower ("torre") number 2, which is the newest one; avoid tower 1. The service is pretty good, including room service. Breakfast is excellent (the variety and quality that you'll find, however, is expected/the rule in Brazilian hotels at breakfast). The staff is very helpful. The hotel seemed to have issues regarding their check in/out system, since twice someone knocked on our door (or tried to open it) thinking the room was empty; be sure to lock your door from inside. We were charged for an extra soda but I didn't want to argue. There is in the final bill something called "touristic fee" which you can ask to be waived (they won't tell you it's optional). Our room was brand new, and so is everything in the lobby. There is a tour agency in the lobby which is quite handy for tickets, tours, transportation, etc. if you're on the run. There is a "pool" on the fifth floor of the second building but it's very small and there aren't enough recliner/chairs; don't bother. The area around the hotel seemed safe and we walked at night past 10pm without problems, in fact there are a lot of people in the streets at night. There are at least six restaurants in a 2 block radius; an excellent churrascaria is in the same block. There is a huge "hypermarket" about three blocks away. There is parking but it's small. The hotel's shuttle service is more expensive than a cab; go figure. Good value for the money.

Room Tip: take rooms only at the newest "tower" (number 2)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bielinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauro S, Manager at Taroba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2013

Hello "bielinki"! First of all, we would like to thank you for taking your time and leaving us a comment, it is very important to us so we can keep improving our services. We are glad you were able to move around the city and the touristic places with no problems at all thanks to our localization. We hope we were able to achieve your expectations, that you may come back soon and that you can indicate us to your friends and family. The BEST WESTERN Hotel Taroba Hotel e Eventos wishes you the best, always!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#3 of 80 in Foz do Iguacu
2,780 reviews
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#14 of 80 in Foz do Iguacu
1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Viale Tower Hotel
#11 of 80 in Foz do Iguacu
1,090 reviews
City Center
Aguas do Iguacu Hotel Centro
Aguas do Iguacu Hotel Centro
#6 of 80 in Foz do Iguacu
2,520 reviews
City Center
Wyndham Golden Foz Suites
Wyndham Golden Foz Suites
#25 of 80 in Foz do Iguacu
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taroba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taroba Hotel

Address: Rua Taroba 1048, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85851-220, Brazil (Formerly BEST WESTERN Tarobá Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#4 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#8 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range: £32 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Taroba Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taroba Hotel prioritizes comfort and distinguished service to cope with its charm and design. The Hotel is in a prime location in Downtown area. The main distinguishing features are the comfort necessary for your rest and our commitment to the environment. There are 176 modern and cozy rooms. They are all equipped with box-spring bed, hairdryer, cable TV, digital safe, handrail in the bathroom, telephone, minibar, cool/heat air conditioning. Rooms are 100% non-smoking, adapted for people with special needs. Guests may also count on pantry and Business Center with internet and printer at no charge for use, games room, fitness center, open and heated swimming pool overlooking the city and the zoo. In our Hotel Wi-Fi is free as well as parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Taroba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Taroba Express
Taroba Hotel Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - Parana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing