We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and weird atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Mafia

La Mafia
Ranked #3 of 1,056 Restaurants in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food and weird atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

The fresh pasta is very good, service ok, ambiance and decoration a bit strange (mix of Italian posters and waiters dressed as Corleone, together with French decoration - moulin rouge style and video clips of US rock music of the 70-90s.)

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Babouche2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,622
    604
    153
    37
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to our expectations”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We went to La Mafia on the strength of the reviews and rating on Tripadvisor and we were expecting really good things. On arrival there was a staff member outside goofing around with a couple of guys who were standing around and we were not greeted in any way. We wandered inside and around the restaurant and were eventually approached by a waiter and shown to a table. We were surprised that at 8pm there was only one other person in the restaurant. The rom we sat in had a distracting tv on with cheesy 70s disco videos/music playing. The menu had a very wide range of pastas to choose from (no pizzas in case that is what you're expecting). The waiter took my partner's drink order and then walked off without asking what I'd like! The pasta took a really long time to arrive and we weren't provided with any bread, breadsticks etc. The dishes were decent although we thought the portions a little on the small size. There seemed to be a lot of waiting staff but seeing as the restaurant was so empty we were surprised at how inattentive they were - nobody came to see if our food was ok and we struggled to find anyone for about 15 minutes when we wanted to order another drink. This is perhaps just a one off experience as so many others seem to have enjoyed the restaurant, but we were pretty disappointed by La Mafia when we have had such good experiences in other restaurants in Brazil, Argentina and Peru.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank anjaberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun and good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

It was an "on your own" night for dinner for our tour group visiting Iguazu Falls. Rather than another hotel buffet, 16 of us opted to try something different. La Mafia turned out to be fun, and served up delicious pasta at a reasonable price. They even picked us up at our hotel and drove us back after dinner. Each room in the restaurant was decorated in a different and quirky way. Lots of "Godfather" and movie decor provided a trip down memory lane with a sense of humor. Go there- you WILL enjoy it!

Helpful?
Thank Landtreker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greeley, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

It was hard to believe they actually picked us up and returned us back to our hotel 9 km away for no extra charge! Food was really good with an extensive wine list. Very quaint setting with multiple rooms each with a nostalgic theme and massive collection of memorabilia. Wait staff was great...sweet attentive and courteous. GREAT experience! Highly recommend!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
298 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“A good evening”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

at this fast moving and zany restaurant. A very good alternative to hotel food, especially as there is a fast (wow!) and prompt car transfer service. Limited pasta based menu with generous portions. Don't expect Italy, it's Brazil you are in, and an out of the way small town. Sit back, order just the pasta, and some wine. Take in the local colour and enjoy it!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank exbiztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Mafia also viewed

 

Been to La Mafia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing