We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“"Excellent"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Mafia

La Mafia
Ranked #3 of 1,043 Restaurants in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
“"Excellent"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Visited La Mafia based on the good reviews posted on here and it didn't disappoint. The restaurant has a really nice atmosphere and the food was delicious, my friend and I both had the fresh pasta option (I had ragu, she had pesto genovese) and shared the bruscetta to start which was excellent. Our waiter was very friendly and attentive and as well as dropping us home which is a service they offer, took us via a cashpoint as we'd asked where the closest one was earlier in the night. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,591
    595
    150
    35
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful restaurant but poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

The restaurant is beautiful,I love every room, food is good but nothing amazing.
But I have to say the service was poor,specially in a quite night you would expect a bit more.The waiter left the wine on the table and walked away to talk to the other staffs.
Very disappointed!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank graciele o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food and weird atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

The fresh pasta is very good, service ok, ambiance and decoration a bit strange (mix of Italian posters and waiters dressed as Corleone, together with French decoration - moulin rouge style and video clips of US rock music of the 70-90s.)

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Babouche2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to our expectations”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We went to La Mafia on the strength of the reviews and rating on Tripadvisor and we were expecting really good things. On arrival there was a staff member outside goofing around with a couple of guys who were standing around and we were not greeted in any way. We wandered inside and around the restaurant and were eventually approached by a waiter and shown to a table. We were surprised that at 8pm there was only one other person in the restaurant. The rom we sat in had a distracting tv on with cheesy 70s disco videos/music playing. The menu had a very wide range of pastas to choose from (no pizzas in case that is what you're expecting). The waiter took my partner's drink order and then walked off without asking what I'd like! The pasta took a really long time to arrive and we weren't provided with any bread, breadsticks etc. The dishes were decent although we thought the portions a little on the small size. There seemed to be a lot of waiting staff but seeing as the restaurant was so empty we were surprised at how inattentive they were - nobody came to see if our food was ok and we struggled to find anyone for about 15 minutes when we wanted to order another drink. This is perhaps just a one off experience as so many others seem to have enjoyed the restaurant, but we were pretty disappointed by La Mafia when we have had such good experiences in other restaurants in Brazil, Argentina and Peru.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank anjaberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun and good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

It was an "on your own" night for dinner for our tour group visiting Iguazu Falls. Rather than another hotel buffet, 16 of us opted to try something different. La Mafia turned out to be fun, and served up delicious pasta at a reasonable price. They even picked us up at our hotel and drove us back after dinner. Each room in the restaurant was decorated in a different and quirky way. Lots of "Godfather" and movie decor provided a trip down memory lane with a sense of humor. Go there- you WILL enjoy it!

Helpful?
Thank Landtreker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Mafia also viewed

 

Been to La Mafia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing