We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed impressions!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rafain Palace Hotel & Convention
Ranked #22 of 78 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
hellas peiraias
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Mixed impressions!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

We stayed four days in room 305 in the miiddle of December 2011.
The impressions that we have from this hotel are mixed.
First of all the room was noisy,
it is near to the piscine and the music from there is too loud and playing all day long,
the air condition in the room was old and noisy,
there wasn' t any power socket in the room!!!!!
most of the staff do not speak English.....
On the other hand, it was clean and
the breakfast and the dinner was very good.
They also offer free wifi in the reception of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pan_stam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    401
    138
    24
    18
See reviews for
387
159
18
248
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

I've spent almost a whole week in this hotel, as I was attending a conference hosted here.

The conference facilities are great. The hotel is nice, but is located far from the Iguazu Falls (in a highway, going out of the city in the opposite direction).

However, my problem with the hotel were the outdated practices: they charge you for everything but the air you breathe. Want wireless? 2h, 24h or 48h cards are sold. Want to do a web check-in for your return flight? You want to purchase access to the business center. The guys at the front desk won't print the check-in for me even after I've paid for wireless access for my whole stay. Want to use the safe in your room? You guessed right, you have to pay for the key.

The prices are not cheap (USD $10 for a 24hr wireless card), but even when they are (keys for the safe box), they're not worth the inconvenience cause to their guests.

I guess they're abusing their location. The hotel is out of the city, there are no stores nearby, and you can't walk around (you're in a highway).

Would not recommend this hotel if you can choose. If you can't help it, be prepared.

Room Tip: rooms looking towards the conference center have balconies where you can look at the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fernan_aguero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

The best part of our stay at this hotel was the day we left. The bed linen was soiled, toilets would not flush and a friend of ours asked if she could use our shower as she could not turn the cold taps on in her room.
In a hotel claiming to be four star one would not expect this and certainly wouldn't expect to have to pay to use a room safe.
Three times we asked for a change of room and were offered idetical accommodation on different floors. Identiacl except on one of the floors offered the door jamb was split and the door lock was not reliable.
Get passed an impresive reception and all the accommdation is brown and uninviting more akin to a prison cell.

Room Tip: Go elswhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank susilew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
serbia. belgrade
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2011

I`v spent a night there during my tour through South America and my visit of Iguacu Falls.
It was very nice hotel, very comfortable room. Swimming pool is big, with nice park around. Breakfast was excellent. I would recommend this hotel to everybody.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljiljakf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

We stayed at Rafain Palace for a conference my husband was attending and it was really great. They went out of their way to work with you and help you to do all the tours in the area. The room decor may be a little out dated but they were clean! The breakfast was really good...especially the coffee and fresh fruit!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thefairygodblogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2010

We were in Foz Do Iguazu for 36 hours, purely to see the falls of course, and this was fine as a place to rest our heads. It had a very impersonal feel, as it was huge with hundreds of rooms and various conventions going on while we were there. The staff were very rigid and efficient to the point of scariness - everything was organised with military precision and we almost caused an upset by asking an outrageous request - "could we have the restaurant menu in the bar?" (because the restaurant was so lacking atmosphere!) - the answer was a clear no.
A fine place to stay but far out of town if you want to explore at all. And the room was extremely dated - we got a suite not decorated since the 70's!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campinas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2010

Although it feels like you are walking onto the set of "Three's Company", this hotel has some good points:

Good:
* Very clean
* Giant pool
* Jacuzzi
* Sauna
* Breakfast and dinner (the food was suprisingly very good)

Bad:
* The bed (and I can sleep on anything, but I woke up every morning with a lot of pain. I should've just slept on the floor).

Just remember one thing, when visiting Foz do Iguazu, you are not there to stay in your hotel. There is an agency situated in the hotel lobby that can arrange all your day trips to all the various attractions. We used an agency named CVC, and they were very good.

I am definitely planning on heading back to the Foz, but I think next time, I will find a different hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ERajah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
Hotel Rafain Centro
#25 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#18 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
City Center
Wyndham Golden Foz Suites
Wyndham Golden Foz Suites
#26 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Bella Italia
#10 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,426 reviews
Viale Tower Hotel
#12 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rafain Palace Hotel & Convention? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafain Palace Hotel & Convention

Property: Rafain Palace Hotel & Convention
Address: Avenida Olimpio Rafagnin 2357 | Parque Imperatriz, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85862-210, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#16 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rafain Palace Hotel & Convention 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 6 km from the center of Foz do Iguaçu and 20 km from the Bird Park, the Rafain Palace Hotel offers area for conventions, 3 swimming pools, soccer fields and children's activities in its 63 thousand square meters. It offers diverse breakfast and is 20 km from the Iguaçu Falls. Further facilities include an outdoor heated whirlpool, sauna, gym, kids room, climbing wall, sports court and tennis. Wi-Fi internet and parking are free and the reception serves 24 hours, helping with tourist information and hiring shuttles. The breakfast buffet serves seasonal fruits, fresh breads, cakes and juices. The restaurant offers national and international dishes, while the American bar and the pool bar preparing drinks. Room service works 24h. The accommodations are equipped with 32 "TV with cable, minibar, air conditioning, desk, safe and hairdryer. The Rafain Palace Hotel is approximately 7 km from the Friendship Bridge, gateway to the Paraguay. The Foz do Iguaçu International Airport - Falls is 20 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rafain Palace Hotel & Convention reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafain Palace Hotel And Convention Center
Rafain Palace Hotel Foz Do Iguacu
Rafain Palace Hotel & Convention Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - Parana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing