We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great facilities within walking distance to the Iguacu falls!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Colonial Iguacu
Ranked #41 of 79 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Reviewed 4 June 2011

My two teenage kids and I had a pleasant stay and were very pleased with the great facilities (pool areas, restaurant etc) and the fact that we could walk to and from the falls (about 1km) was so convenient! The English speaking staff were very helpful. In fact as we were preparing to leave for the nearby airport at 5am, a staff member came running out with the ipod one of the kids had forgotten in our room. Big thank you to the staff!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loris0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

139 - 145 of 1,260 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2011

Got a good rate through bookings.com. Hotel was very quiet as it was late April. Room was comfortable and we had full cable tv access (useful as we wanted to watch the Royal Wedding!). Bar service was good although we were a bit disapointed with the restaurant buffet - there was nothing tempting on the dessert bar and there was only one choice of white wine which was awful. Athough the hotel advertises wi-fi in the public areas only, we were able to access it in our room as we were close to the cafe. Would recommend hotel for a short stay (eg. 2 nights).

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OutnAbout2600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Nice place if you want to relax and be far away from everything. Foz de Iguazu is not a particularly pretty town so there's really no need to stay in the city. This hotel is close to the falls and has a bus stop right in front of it that will take you either to the falls (can also do in a 20 min walk) or into town.

The staff were nice and helpful and I liked the open spaces (pool, bar, garden). Good place for couples and families.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anjaliosetsinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

Hotel is situated less than 2km from the airport and offers a free shuttleservice (at least when booked with booking.com). The 24hrs reception is very friendly and will help you in English. There is also a tour-office where you can book tours to the falls (both Argentina and Brazilian side).

The room is OK size (luxurious room) with small fridge/minibar, airconditioning (noisy) and bathroom. The rooms are quite noisy (people/children in the hallway) and there is some constructionwork going on (not to mention some noise from the airport...)

Cafeteria serves OK food at reasonable prices, the restaurant serves a R$28 buffet dinner. Swimmingpool is included so is a nice breakfast buffet. The value tours offered at the hotel seem to be limited, we did the Argentina-tour which was basically just a transfer (no guide or whatsoever) so beware what you book (there are more than enough alternatives, please book in advance).

The hotel is situated quite some distance from town so you have to rely on supplies you brought or buy at the hotel. Prices of minibar, food and drinks (even roomservice) are reasonable. Laundry is quite expensive however (and no option to do self-laundry unfortunately)

Overall we've enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Good value for money and a relaxed atmosphere. Staff is very friendly and helpfull and because of location it is easy to reach the falls (common, that's the main reason you'll be here...)

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WieMie-nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

Reserved it from booking.com. Great rate with breakfast.
Although the website pointed it as a 4 stars, it's more adequate the hotel classification used here in tripadvisor, as it is 2 stars - maximum.
The luxurious room seems to have passed through recent renovations, but the poor furniture and build materials makes it look really poor. The bathroom is really bad, poorly renovated.The AC is extremely noisy, inadequate for any light sleepers, unnaceptable.
The breakfast is nice, great amount of fruits, juice, cakes and breads.
Pool area is old but gardens are well cared.
The location is nice. If you really like to walk, you could go to 'Parque Iguaçu' and to the airport by feet, by car it's a 5 minute travel to each of them.
Tourist services offered by the hotel are handy but very expensive.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricArthurBlair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2011

-overall the room was quiet, aircondition very loud
-near street-> only 1,5km to waterfalls, you can literally walk to the falls, which we did
-Bathroom was very clean
-Service was friendly and helpful-good english
-breakfast very good and rich as well as dinner
-nice pool outside, unfortunately lots of loud english/swedish guys
-fitness center very old, machines unable to use because of rust
-computers to use for internet

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellerfromheart77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rede_Harbor, Manager at Hotel Colonial Iguacu, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2011

Sr would like to inform you that the hotel's apartments are in reforms. According to our reform of the apartments will get new furniture and new air-conditioning as well as revitalization of the bathrooms. For more information about the new apartments please visit the Harbor Hotels.

Thanks for your comments and would like to reaffirm our commitment to delivering high quality services and security during your stay at the Harbor Hotel Colonial.

Best Regards,
Harbor Hotel Colonial

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

The hotel does free transfers from the brasilian iguacu airport if you email them your flight details. A driver was waiting for us when we arrived. The hotel is on the main road to the national park so about a half hour bus ride out of the town centre. There is nowhere to go immediately around the hotel in the evenings, The reception staff were lovely and very efficient. The public areas are spacious with a TV, sofas and an outside pool. The face is open till about 9pm and serves basic food, pizzas, burgers, pasts etc. We had booked an 'economy' room which was disappointing. It was shabby and there were bare wires hanging off the walls and when I turned on the light in the bathroom the front of the lightswitch fell off, There was a fridge and free tv tho. We stayed one night in that room but complained to reception about the bare wires and they moves us straight away to a standard room which was much bigger - more travel lodge standard. My advice would be unless you are on a really tight budget pay a little extra and get a standard room. Breakfast was very continental in style - cheeses, cold meats, lots of different breads, cakes, scrambled egg and best of all pineapple, melon, papaya etc which i love. The hotel is about a half hour walk from the national park entrance, or you can get a bus (stops right outside) or a taxi. When you arrive at the park you can book all the boat trips etc at the entrance, I highly recommend the boat trip to the falls but be prepared to get absolutely soaked cos they drive the boat right into the spray. Protect your cameras etc. Don;t bother with rain hoods cos they will not help. Lockers are provided for you to put bags/shoes etc in before getting into the boat. We enjoyed our stay at the hotel but I felt it was a little isolated (we took a bus into the town and walked around). Not sure I would chose it again but the one thing I can say is that the staff without exception were charming and really could not do enough to help so full marks to them.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harrythehound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rede_Harbor, Manager at Hotel Colonial Iguacu, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2011

Sir, Thank you for your comments.

We would like to inform you that all our apartments are in general reforms. This includes furniture of the rooms, bathrooms and air conditioning.

On your next visit to Brazil we would be honored to receive your visit again.

Best Regards,
Harbor Hotel Colonial

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
Canzi Cataratas Hotel
#45 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
173 reviews
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#17 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
1,375 reviews
City Center
Taroba Hotel
Taroba Hotel
#13 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
5,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Foz Do Iguacu
#16 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
1,438 reviews
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
2,668 reviews
City Center
Aguas do Iguacu Hotel Centro
Aguas do Iguacu Hotel Centro
#8 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
2,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial Iguacu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial Iguacu

Address: Avenida das Cataratas Km 20, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85853-900, Brazil (Formerly Harbor Hotel Colonial)
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range: £35 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonial Iguacu 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Facilities devoted to the Fun and Relaxation." Located 1 km from the International Airport of Foz do Iguacu and near the Falls, the Harbor Hotel Colonial was designed to provide the best and most complete recreational facilities. Besides all the infrastructure for leisure, Harbor Colonial Hotel, offers spacious apartments with air-conditioning, music, cable LCD TV, private telephone, minibar and Free Wi-Fi. At Harbor Colonial Hotel, you will not only enjoy an environment with elegance and comfort but also may hold your event with all the infrastructure that conventions and events deserve. It has a room designed for up to 200 people and a choice of coffee breaks. Restaurant open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Comfortable and warm environment with air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Colonial Iguacu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Hotel Colonial And Spa
Harbor Hotel Colonial Foz Do Iguacu
Hotel Colonial Iguacu Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - Parana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing