We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located with good price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Colonial Iguacu
Ranked #41 of 80 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Stayed there for 3 nights with my girlfriend. It's not very new, at least the room i stayed. Need a renovation, but it was always clean. It is near the AirPort, iguacu falls and Argentina.breakfast ok, service ok. There is a good restaurant to have dinner if you dont want to go out. The price rate was very affordable.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fernando o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 141 of 1,300 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2011

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights and were so happy that we chose this hotel! We stayed here with my father and mother, resp. 78 and 81 years old and my mother broke her hip 1,5 weeks earlier during our trip through Brazil. We had surgery in Belo Horizonte and the docter told us it was better we'd finish our trip instead of returning to Holland immediately. Everybody from the bell boy to the receptionists as well as the people in the restaurant were so helpsome. My parents were given the room with facilities for disabled and the hotel arranged for a wheel chair for my mum as soons as they could. The hotel is not new but we have the impression that they are working constantly on the renovation of the whole facility. The hotel is spacious and clean and the rooms are definitely not luxurious but good with excellent beds. The shower is just great and the rooms too are very clean.
The food in the restaurant is excellent and we loved the wine. We had the buffet every evening and it was entirely different each day we were day. Breakfast is extensive with even natural yogurt without sugar!
The hotel provides free shuttles from the airport (only 5 minutes) if you inform them of your travel details well in advance and we used the busses of the travel office to get to the national park entrance (just a few minutes). The rate they charged us was 15 reais.
We absolutely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Truus58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Looks more like a jail to me. Rooms have bad locks, no safe, no glass windows, no airco, very outdated furniture and not a friendly reception. Immediatly complained about our room, eventually showed us another one that was equally bad. Logged on the internet and book us a room at the Golden Tulip Foz do Iguacu, also a different price off course. Left my 35 euros with them and left this terrible place. Can not understand all those positive reviews by the way... stay away!

ps. came from Argentina that day, plan was to see the brazilian side in the afternoon, but this place f...d up our plans and we had to move into town.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Quee01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We chose the hotel as it was an ideal location for the falls and the wildlife parks. It was 2minutes away from the airport and 2mins away from the falls on the bus!
The reception staff were friendly and helpful (Nestor in particular - great English too) we had free wifi, the hotel lobby and public areas were spacious and clean, lovely grounds with banana and orange trees, pool, kids area etc. The toursim desk was very helpful too, gave us great advise about our options and didnt just book us on an expensive trip, we actually caught the bus outside the hotel for 2reals to the falls and walked back it was that near! And we ventured to Argentina on the second day with their help! The breakfast was excellent good selection of breads, meats cakes and juices. The rooms were quite basic we perfect for us on a short break. My only comment would be it was a little like staying on a school trip as the rooms were down one long corridor and some people let their kids run up and down them early in the morning which was a bit annoying but not the hotels fault!!
We caught the bus one night into Iguassu town to find somewhere to eat, but it was quite a journey!! about 40mins on a very packed bus so we opted for a taxi back but that cost us 40reals!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank works4thejollys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The "likes":
The hotel is situated very near the airport (max 5 minutes by car) and also very near the entrance of the Iguàçu Waterfalls (1km easily done walking !), and only 700 meters walking to the AVES natural park (birds by hundreds...!).
The hotel is not new, you can see that in the rooms configuration but it is particularly well cleaned and the personal is very friendly and ready to help any time.
A particular point I want to insit on is the restaurant of the hotel, have dinner there it is not expensive, it is EXCELLENT and you can make your choice between several preparations that are kept hot all the time (We choose the buffet-type but you can also choose a menu but the price will be different).

The "dislikes":
The transport services from the hotel and its small internal travel agency (for visits i.e.) are VERY expensive !!! Driving you from the hotel to the airport will cost you 35,- Reals but If you choose the bus (stopping on the road just in front of the hotel) it will cost you only 2,5 Reals for the same drive !!! Idem for the visit of the Water falls, if you choose the visit organized by the hotel it will cost you 180,- Reals and if you go with the bus + paying the entrance ticket it will be only approximately 45,50 Reals !!

Conclusions:
Generally you don't go to Iguàçu for the quality of the hotel but for the interesting visits you will be able to make in that place, that's why my wife and myself were happy with our choice: good hotel, clean, very good food, quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pfgbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

The hotel looks to be very good in the past. The building needs a renovation. The staff is good at all, but they do not allow you to pick some fruits from breakfast for the children, because they feel hungry during the day. Unless, you ask it for the headwaiter every morning. I got a little tired to do that every morning.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndreCunha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

My two teenage kids and I had a pleasant stay and were very pleased with the great facilities (pool areas, restaurant etc) and the fact that we could walk to and from the falls (about 1km) was so convenient! The English speaking staff were very helpful. In fact as we were preparing to leave for the nearby airport at 5am, a staff member came running out with the ipod one of the kids had forgotten in our room. Big thank you to the staff!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loris0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
Canzi Cataratas Hotel
#47 of 80 in Foz do Iguacu
182 reviews
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#3 of 80 in Foz do Iguacu
2,783 reviews
City Center
Taroba Hotel
Taroba Hotel
#11 of 80 in Foz do Iguacu
6,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Maria Ricca Palace Hotel
#48 of 80 in Foz do Iguacu
438 reviews
Foz Presidente Comfort
#27 of 80 in Foz do Iguacu
479 reviews
Viale Tower Hotel
#12 of 80 in Foz do Iguacu
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial Iguacu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial Iguacu

Address: Avenida das Cataratas Km 20, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85853-900, Brazil (Formerly Harbor Hotel Colonial)
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range: £33 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonial Iguacu 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Facilities devoted to the Fun and Relaxation." Located 1 km from the International Airport of Foz do Iguacu and near the Falls, the Harbor Hotel Colonial was designed to provide the best and most complete recreational facilities. Besides all the infrastructure for leisure, Harbor Colonial Hotel, offers spacious apartments with air-conditioning, music, cable LCD TV, private telephone, minibar and Free Wi-Fi. At Harbor Colonial Hotel, you will not only enjoy an environment with elegance and comfort but also may hold your event with all the infrastructure that conventions and events deserve. It has a room designed for up to 200 people and a choice of coffee breaks. Restaurant open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Comfortable and warm environment with air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Stayforlong S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Colonial Iguacu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Hotel Colonial Foz Do Iguacu
Harbor Hotel Colonial And Spa
Hotel Colonial Iguacu Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - Parana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing