We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Colonial Iguacu
Ranked #41 of 80 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Reviewed 12 February 2013 via mobile

This hotel has one advantage...it is close to the airport and close to the falls in the Brazilian side. However...the airport shuttle we had pre-arranged with the hotel did not arrive until we had to beg the use of someone's cell phone at the airport to contact them and remind the hotel that we had made arrangements in advance (this despite having confirmed the day before)

The entrance to the hotel is nice enough...and the grounds are lovely. The rooms are basic...cement rooms with almost no decoration...no storage except a small open hanging area...one bedside lamp...old furniture... bathroom was very basic ...Shower was filthy but was cleaned after we complained. Wifi did not work on my device...I received a complimentary password for computers in lobby which worked for one day of a two day stay...addition time would have cost me.

Breakfast was average with good choices...but other meals in restaurant were below average...

I found the tour desk staff helpful...but tours were expensive.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wprincess4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

99 - 105 of 1,288 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2013

Room very small, curtains hang lose & do not cover whole window, AC makes lot of noise, lights didn't work initially later with special key they worked, not 4 star at all. Room is run down, toiletries incl. soap shampoo conditioner but no shower gel for other amenities you have to pay for usage. No closed closet only open space and clothes-hangers cannot be taken out so hanging clothes is difficult. The shower works okay temp is changeable (cold to hot vv.) however the pressure is mediocre. The light switch at the bed side only allows all lights off or on... a reading light option is not available. The noise from the street you can hardly hear however from the birds around 22:30 (10:30pm) you do hear a lot and continues noise. The bed is hard and the pillows too soft. Reception staff is friendly speak english helpful. Tour service spook good english and was very helpful and arranged all pick ups to Argentinean side of Iguaçu (departing 9am changed 5min before to 10am) and also my transfer to the Argentinean Airport of Puerto Iguazu. At the last minute I changed my intinary and that was no problem for them they happily drove me to the 3 frontier point to few this before driving to the airport. The bus driver was very helpful in explaining the history in Spanish though (I could understand most) . Hotel overall rundown, however very close to airport prearranged pick up service worked well. The rooms have AC however the whole hotel does not and it's unbearable to stay longer in the hotel main areas than 5min or you will be soaked in sweat. The breakfast was surprisingly good with a lot of variety of fruits, cereals, breads and pastries, scrambled eggs and/or sausage, yogurts and milk. Fruit juices came from a machine. Coffee and hot water for tea from a machine too, many tea varieties though. The restaurant for diner is nothing special. I had beef which was okay-good, the side dishes were nothing special again. The fish I had was cooked too much and lost it's flavor. The hotel is not meant to stay longer than 2 nights this is enough to see the falls on both sides and do one trip into town to see the Three Frontiers Point and get a general feel of the town. For the bird park I would take a 1/2 day if you have time.
Plus points: location 10min walk to Iguaçu Falls Brazilian side and close to Foz de Iguaçu (40R$ on way taxi or bus 2.60R$). Close to Airport.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RMDTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

I stayed at this hotel 2 nights and I was very happy with my choice.The hotel is situated at 1.5 km away from the airport, has free shuttle( you have to mention in the Special area when booking thye hotel with which flight you arrive and with which one you'll leave and they will arrange the transfer for you) and it's only 1 km away from the Falls(10 min walk- on the street, there is a small side walk). You can eat all meals at the hotel or you can take the green bus to the city( 1 ride is 2.9 R$ aprox 1,10 euros) and get off in the city center. The last bus from the city to the hotel is leaving around 22.00 and you can take it from the station in front of McDonald's. The city in not a big deal but if you want to do smthg more in the evening you can have a look there, too. the rooms are clean, they will provide you with towels, soap and shampoo.The AC in the room was ok, not too loud.The hotel has 3 swimming pools: 1 for adults and 2 for kids.There is also a play ground for kinds, so it's perfect if you travel with children.
The entrance fee for the Brazilian side of the falls is 42R$ and it takes aprox. 3 hours.It's open btw 8 and 17:00.I recommend you to visit the Bird Park as well.The entrance fee is 28R$. If you plan to visit the Argentinian side of the falls I recommend to plan 1 day for that. You can book the trip from the Harbor Turismo at the hotel for 135R$ per person.this includes the transportation and the entrance fee. You can also take the bus from the city center, but it's time consuming and it's not worth it. The entrance fee for Argentinean side is 65 Pesos.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RalucaVanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Well, first of all the hotel free transfer from the airport that was booked over the phone never arrived. The cheap room number 28 (don't go there!) cost me around USD 75.00 booking earlier. It was kind of dirty and old. Top seat in the toilette was broken, flush valve was leaking, the shower door was out of place and the whole structure barely standing. TV was bad and not working properly. While showering one day at noon I could see the through the windows full of spider web, the hotel employees having lunch, and they were looking at me! They charge you for everything, like the towels by the pool. Oh the towels were very old, the floor mat got holes on it. Did I mention the restroom was really, really small? And the A/C worked but it was old style, big and very noisy as well. The hotel got a tourism company that charges you a lot, way too much to take you anywhere for any attraction. They were charging me USD 65 for transportation to Itaipu Dam and USD 15 for the Cataratas park. I rented a car for a day and put gas on it for USD 40.00 (great deal in the airport) and went everywhere, Even to downtown Foz, Paraguay and Argentina. Bottom line, don't go there!

Room Tip: Don't get the rooms 1 to 28 for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Enatru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Location: Only a short 10-15mins walk up the main road to the entrance of the park of Iguassu Falls. Save on the 30mins bus trip from the Foz do Iguacu main hub at the expense of the hotel restaurant food.. If you want, it is safe to even walk from the airport to the hotel. It is only 1km away.

Rooms: Very large with 1 king size bed and 1 single bed although we only needed 1 king size bed. Showers are clean with sliding doors so water does not leak out. The AC is very strong to cater for the humid weather.

Restaurant: Dinner with 2 course was very filling with delicious bread and dips included. Breakfast was included and had a variety of hot and cold food.

Room Tip: Pool towels at extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJ202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights, and if you want to stay there and not go out and eat or to see the Argentina side of the falls, then this is a good stay.

If you are a foreigner you will be treated like a "Cash Machine"...in an obvious manner.

The hotel has a Tourism company that will charge you 30-40x the normal prices. A trip for 2 to the Argentina side of the falls and the boat ride will cost you 530 R$!!!!!

I would recommend staying at a little nicer place unless you rent a car. The tourism company will charge you 40 R$ each to travel 8km downtown to eat. They will charge you 70 R$ (EACH) for a 15min ride to Argentina. Keep in mind they have a deal with the taxi services and they will charge the exact same and not use the meters.

If you do stay at this hotel - take this advice - Take the Bus!! 2.90 R$ each ride.

These people rob you blind...when we were surprised at the prices, the tourism desk stopped being courteous. We spent the 3 full days trying our hardest to escape this trap.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TMIL44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

The Hotel is in a great location close to the falls, bird park and airport, but apart from that you're a bit marooned as far as getting out and about to dine or explore Foz. All the transportation from the Hotel is expensive. We were there 2 days and one night and managed to lay about the pool, which was full of bugs and debris and where the service was non-existent. The music was so loud, 60's British aged rockers, I had to request it to be changed to something Brazilian and peaceful (we were the only people at the pool at the time) and there was a shortage of anything in any language other than Portuguese so you could tour, read maps, or dine in the restaurant, unless you were able to find the tour lady or get to the front desk. With the number of overseas visitors that stay in the Hotel I did suggest that 1 of each brochure, menu etc. be printed in the languages of the most often visiting tourists. The buffet breakfast was excellent and no language required, lunch the same. My husbands dinner,however, a plate piled high with deep fried pig fat is the perfect example of not having anyone with english about to order from the menu (even pics would have helped). We howled with laughter and had all the guests looking at us, we shared my very overcooked chicken something-or-other. The wine was blissfull.

Room Tip: If you're travelling with a suitcase ask for a room on a floor that has a ramp or elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Msbbls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
Canzi Cataratas Hotel
#46 of 80 in Foz do Iguacu
176 reviews
Maria Ricca Palace Hotel
#48 of 80 in Foz do Iguacu
435 reviews
City Center
Taroba Hotel
Taroba Hotel
#12 of 80 in Foz do Iguacu
6,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 80 in Foz do Iguacu
2,750 reviews
Foz Presidente Comfort
#26 of 80 in Foz do Iguacu
476 reviews
Viale Tower Hotel
#11 of 80 in Foz do Iguacu
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial Iguacu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial Iguacu

Address: Avenida das Cataratas Km 20, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85853-900, Brazil (Formerly Harbor Hotel Colonial)
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range: £32 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonial Iguacu 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Facilities devoted to the Fun and Relaxation." Located 1 km from the International Airport of Foz do Iguacu and near the Falls, the Harbor Hotel Colonial was designed to provide the best and most complete recreational facilities. Besides all the infrastructure for leisure, Harbor Colonial Hotel, offers spacious apartments with air-conditioning, music, cable LCD TV, private telephone, minibar and Free Wi-Fi. At Harbor Colonial Hotel, you will not only enjoy an environment with elegance and comfort but also may hold your event with all the infrastructure that conventions and events deserve. It has a room designed for up to 200 people and a choice of coffee breaks. Restaurant open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Comfortable and warm environment with air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Colonial Iguacu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Hotel Colonial Foz Do Iguacu
Harbor Hotel Colonial And Spa
Hotel Colonial Iguacu Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - Parana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing