We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really liked the Harbor Colonial. Fantastic value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Colonial Iguacu
Ranked #42 of 79 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Was picked up from the airport by someone holding my name up. The pickup was free. The hotel was quite clean and the room had a large comfortable bed. Good dinner and breakfast. The hotel seemed popular as there were quite a few people.

Staff was quite helpful Sold me plug adaptors to convert European plugs to Brazilian. Cost only 5 Reais.But no converter available for UK plugs.

A tip - Avoid the Reais 30 fee for a trip to the Falls entrance and back. you can walk it and if you are two ore more a taxi will be cheaper.

Room Tip: Didnt have any problems with the room provided.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SiddMoras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,247)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Colonial Iguacu
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 81 of 1,247 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

This hotel has a quite good location if your stay is short - it's very close to the airport and not far away from the waterfalls national park (and bird park). The service is ok, stuff very friendly. They're offering free shuttle service from and to the airport. I only had a negative experience with the air-conditioning unit outside - rain drops dropping onto this box were too noisy. Maybe just a bad luck on the room selection. I stayed for 2 nights. Breakfast was good enough.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotel was much better than I expected. Very close to the airport with free shuttle service. Clean room, wifi working perfectly. We enjoyed pools and restaurant. Very clever and friendly people. Very helpful in giving advices and services for visits to the park. I would come back to this hotel again for sure.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank italian_traveller54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

First, I will share that I have been living in Brazil for over a year now and look at hotels a little different now. In Brazil, I would consider this hotel a 3 star. It has pool, restaurant, 24 hour room service. However, if this hotel was in the US, it would be a 2 star. That might give you some insight to the star system in Brazil.

Ok, on the the review.
We stayed here for one evening for the inconvenience of the airport. We had a 5:30am flight and a toddler. Need I explain? The lobby is nice, but the rooms are not new. Indeed, the halls are dark and dated. But, the room was very clean.
We had to use room service- while it wasn't 4 star dining, it was prompt and hot.
The service people were very nice also. They brought us a crib, not a travel pen, a full-size crib for our toddler and the maid brought warm sheets.
The showers were hot and great water pressure. Overall, it was a nice place for overnight. Good bargain, especially for the ease to the airport.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Copalolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

After check in we discovered that our room wasn't actually made up and needed to be cleaned. In stead of offering another room, they made us wait an hour before getting the room. Unfortunately we had to change the room again because of the television. We got a super humid and smelly room in the ground floor. The smell and the humidity were unbearable. The hotel staff is really chatty but not very toward coming when there are problems. This hotel is not recommendable, you can get better for your money.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Mipanko63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harbor C, Gerente de relações públicas at Hotel Colonial Iguacu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014
Google Translation

Prezado Viajante,


Agradecemos a preferencia e a oportunidade em colocar nossas falhas para sempre buscarmos a excelência em nossos serviços.

Convidamos a voltar ao nosso hotel para verificar nossas melhorias.


Atenciosamente,
Equipe Harbor Colonial

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

On arrival at the reception, which is only a short taxi ride from the airport, you are greeted with an impressive sight. However this is not carried on into the rooms.
I found them to be very old and tired with the room bearing no comparison to the pictures shown on the website.In room 107 there is no wardrobe, a very small fridge and the bed was two singles put together that were of different heights from the ground causing a huge lump down the join. The towels were exceptionally thin and more like blotting paper, along with stained and worn out bedding. There was no mattress or pillow protector and had an odour of sweat.

Positives were a flat screen TV, not used very much other than CNN and air conditioning, which appeared to be a new unit.

Breakfast buffet was a great selection of breads! fruit and continental type fare.

Some Reception staff need a course on attitude and customer service
There was a charge for printing off airline boarding passes, the first time I have ever been charged by a hotel throughout the world.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Enjoyed three nights at Harbor Colonial and can't speak highly enough of the staff and location and value for money. The rooms were comfortable and beds good. Once again no coffee making facilities but this is normal in Brazil.
The hotel is located less than 1kl from the entrance to both the Parque des Aves (Bird Park) and Cataratas National Park (Iguacu Falls). The Harbor Tourismo operate a desk in the lobby and can provide tickets and transport to the parks for a small fee. The hotel provides free transport to/from the local airport but a $R30 fee applies per person for the much longer trip to the airport on the Argentinian side.

Would we stay again - ABSOLUTELY.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
Canzi Cataratas Hotel
#47 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
168 reviews
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#18 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
1,355 reviews
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
2,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Foz Do Iguacu
#16 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
1,426 reviews
Maria Ricca Palace Hotel
#44 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
428 reviews
City Center
Aguas do Iguacu Hotel Centro
Aguas do Iguacu Hotel Centro
#7 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
2,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial Iguacu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial Iguacu

Address: Avenida das Cataratas Km 20, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85853-900, Brazil (Formerly Harbor Hotel Colonial)
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range: £32 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonial Iguacu 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Facilities devoted to the Fun and Relaxation." Located 1 km from the International Airport of Foz do Iguacu and near the Falls, the Harbor Hotel Colonial was designed to provide the best and most complete recreational facilities. Besides all the infrastructure for leisure, Harbor Colonial Hotel, offers spacious apartments with air-conditioning, music, cable LCD TV, private telephone, minibar and Free Wi-Fi. At Harbor Colonial Hotel, you will not only enjoy an environment with elegance and comfort but also may hold your event with all the infrastructure that conventions and events deserve. It has a room designed for up to 200 people and a choice of coffee breaks. Restaurant open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Comfortable and warm environment with air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Colonial Iguacu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Hotel Colonial Foz Do Iguacu
Harbor Hotel Colonial And Spa
Hotel Colonial Iguacu Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - Parana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing