We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the price - if you find the budget prices”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aguas do Iguacu Hotel Centro
Ranked #8 of 78 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
Ronneby, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
871 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 402 helpful votes
“Worth the price - if you find the budget prices”
Reviewed 30 July 2011

If you pay the prices they have posted in the lobby you are being ripped off! Reserve ahead on the internet and you might (as I did) find prices 60-75% lower than the posted ones. The hotel itself are clean and the rooms are spacious, with AC but no “ordinary” safe. There is some sort of safety box, but it seems you have to get a locking bolt for it in the lobby.
Positive:
The hotel are situated close to Foz do Iguacu main bus terminal which is excellent for easy and cheap access to the falls and the bird park.
The breakfast is above average with a special cheese table with tasty hard cheese!
Negative:
You’ll find reviews of this hotel saying that they have free transfer to and from the airport. This turned out to be wrong. They DO have free transfer, but only in one direction which seems to be upon arrival (which might be considered good enough). Their transfer back will be handled by the tour operator in the lobby and set you back R$20/person. The lobby personnel were unwilling to arrange for a street taxi claiming that it would be more expensive.
They do have a strange custom to hand you the TV and AC remote in the lobby for some reason, expecting you to hand them back upon departure, but it is not worth making a fuzz about.
Free wifi connection is provided, but the internet computers in the lobby will cost you.
They have a tour operator located in the lobby which can provide you with tours to almost all the desirable sites.
The choice of restaurants in the immediate surroundings of the hotel is limited. Lots of fast food joints and the “all-you-can-eat” grill of Buffalo Bronco (check for reviews), but for a more varied choice, you’ll have to walk or take a taxi down to the restaurant streets.
There is an ATM in the pharmacy next door, but they charge a R$12 fee for using this. To find a fee-free ATM you’ll have to walk approx 1 km down town.
They have an elevator, but there are some 10 stairs to climb to find it. There is a stair lift for incapacitate persons taking them past this obstacle.

Room Tip: Get a roomdown away from lift and stairs to avoid noice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dgjohansson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,107
    1,034
    184
    17
    4
See reviews for
916
702
180
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

i stayed 4 days in this hotel and it was great. The rooms are very spacious and the breakfast is really delicious. Some sites rate this hotel at 2* but it is more a 3* hotel. Location is right on the main shopping street. across the street from the main bus station that takes you in comfortable busses to the waterfalls. The big shopping mall is an easy. Staff is very friendly. Room has a minibar and a safe. there is a tiny swimming pool that could be needed after a long day of walking.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angel1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

This was my last hotel I stayed in before flying to Sao Paulo. It was just an overnight stay as I spent most of my time on the Argentine side of the falls and a few days in Paraguay.
It is a basic hotel, but decent by South American standards. It is similar to British Premiere Inn!
It is in the town, which means the traffic is quite heavy at times. It was clean, tidy and the staff were nice enough. It is fairly non-descript especially after seeing the falls!!
There are plenty of shops, bars and places to eat in the area. Foz is a strange place though. After the hussle of Rio, the off-tourist track of Asuncion and Northern Argentina, then the wonderful falls this place is just functional and not at all special as a town.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greggbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Good location in centre of town. Rooms average for South America and were clean. Just make sure you ask for room away from stairwell and lift doors as very noisy with people dragging luggage at all times through night and lift doors very noisy.. Reception staff were not very helpful and at first thought it may be due to language barrier but even when English speaking staff on duty they were still not very helpful. We went to reception of hotel across road to get information we required. Booked online for a very cheap price so good value for what we paid..

Room Tip: Ask for room away from stairwell and lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeDAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Like a few of the other reviewers, we stayed at Aguas as a cheap option while visiting the Falls. The positives are the price plus the place was clean and tidy. We also got some great help from a guy called Lucas, who helped us make the reservation.

There are however some serious downsides. First, don't go expecting any kind of luxury - this is an old-fashioned hotel, it's basic and pretty much one rung up the ladder from a youth hostel. A few specifics - the TVs are tiny, the windows in our room did not fasten very well (even though they were double-glazed they let air and noise in) and there was a general smell of humidity with mould on the ceiling in the bathroom. The breakfast was ok - a lot of choice but again don't go expecting anything special.

The biggest disappointment however was the service. Of the ten staff we came across only Lucas spoke any English or Spanish. (I realise this makes me sound like an ignorant foreigner but a tourist town on the Argentine/Brazil border with no staff speaking either English or Spanish made life difficult for over half the guests staying there). After check-in, we didn't see Lucas again, and the other staff seemed a bit clueless when it came to recommending restaurants or bars. They also struggled to book us taxis, and like some of the other reviewers, our bill wasn't correct when it came time to check-out. (More through staff error than malice though I expect.)

It's also worth noting that the area is a bit sketchy to say the least. I'm not saying it is dangerous but it didn't feel safe to us, particularly after dark. We're from London and have been traveling a lot, so we're not unaccustomed to the grittier parts of towns and cities.

Finally, Foz is not a great tourist town - the hotel and restaurant options are pretty lousy. I doubt Aguas is the worst option in town and, rather worryingly, it might actually be one of the better ones.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Br0sie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

I arrived in the evening so I took a taxi to the hotel. Check-in was flawless. Free internet was included.

The staff showed me how close the bus station was so I decided to take the bus to the Falls in the morning. The bus took about 45 minutes and is the way to go. If you leave in the morning you will meet workers on the way to the Falls. Also, you pass the airport so it gives you a little confidence on taking the bus when you want to head back to the airport.
Walking around downtown is safe and there are enough restaurants to keep you happy.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbinfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Besides the great location, very near to the bus station, the hotel is very poor in several aspects. First, the room had old furnitures and when we arrived we could smell the mold. The bed was extremely unconfortable. Nevertheless, the room was big and the bathroom had good conditions. Second, some people of the staff were rude, they don't try to seem friendly or even help you in your needs. Finally, the hotel was full of groups of noisy people, who stay talking in the corridors in the middle of the night. The breakfast was good, with several options but not so good quality. They don't offer free transfer to the airport anymore, but is very easy to take the bus.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabio_Duarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
2,595 reviews
City Center
Taroba Hotel
Taroba Hotel
#13 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
5,478 reviews
City Center
Bogari Hotel
Bogari Hotel
#4 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Foz Do Iguacu
#16 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
1,412 reviews
Hotel Bella Italia
#9 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
2,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aguas do Iguacu Hotel Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aguas do Iguacu Hotel Centro

Property: Aguas do Iguacu Hotel Centro
Address: Avenida Brasil, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85851-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu > City Center
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#9 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#10 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aguas do Iguacu Hotel Centro 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located in downtown Foz do Iguacu, just 300 m from the urban transport terminal, easy access to many restaurants, shops and the Iguazu Falls. The property has a swimming pool, and both Wi-Fi. Rooms at Aguas do Iguacu Hotel Centro are spacious and well-lit, and feature air-conditioning, minibar, cable TV, safe and telephone. The complimentary breakfast is served daily at the Colonial restaurant and includes a variety of regional delicacies such as cheeses, breads, fruits and hot dishes. For your convenience, Aguas do Iguacu Hotel has a tour desk to assist with information and arrange transportation and tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Aguas do Iguacu Hotel Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aguas Do Iguacu Hotel Centro Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - Parana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing