We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, noisy room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bourbon Cataratas Convention & Spa Resort
Ranked #4 of 78 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great service, noisy room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

The hotel is very well maintained, despite being old. Rooms are very spacious and clean and the breakfast and dinner buffets (included in most of the packages) have a lot of options for all tastes. The hotel offers a lot of entertainment choices for the guests, from humor shows to a soccer field. WiFi is free and the connection is good throughout the facility. Staff is very friendly and well trained, making you feel welcome at all times. The only downside is the noise. We got a room on the second floor of the main building, with a garden view (aka parking lot view) and could hear everything from the rooms next door and also from outside (which is a problem, given that all tours meet there early in the morning). If I stayed there again, I would pay the extra to stay in the new tower.

Room Tip: High floor in the new tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolina-SP-Brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,323
    690
    148
    32
    8
See reviews for
1,204
218
31
492
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

A large hotel with apparently good facilities but has sadly in my view lost its way. Reception was offhand on arrival and despite a request because of a foot op for a room close to reception/restaurants we were sent on a trek to possibly the remotest room in the hotel. After objecting we were allocated a room in the older part of the hotel (apparently downgraded) which was dark,cramped and overlooked a roof! (beware superior garden view!). The toilet flooded on our last day and despite reporting it nothing was done! Not even an apology and thanks for the report.

The hotel clearly specialises in catering for families and children. We were greeted by Brazilian Disneyesque characters on our way into breakfast. Breakfast served in a cafe area which was cramped for the numbers using it was a bit of a bear garden. Children everywhere, people pushing around the adequate buffet does not add up to a peaceful start to the day. Children processed around the hotel(at times 40-50 of them) through the lounges following Pied Pipers doing actions! The children seemed to thoroughly enjoy it but it doesn't add up to a tranquil environment.

Service in the Trattoria was appalling on our 2nd night.25 minutes to have our order taken. 45 mins to be served with a Minestrone soup and a pizza after a complaint to the manager. Others who arrived after us had eaten and gone by the time we got our food. We then ordered an ice cream which was delivered but not the ice cream we ordered! This was then given to us as a complimentary reward for the experience!

A large convention was arriving as we left so late check out was refused. The very real sense given to us was that we were a number rather than guests, we didn't really matter because the hotel is busy so everything is ok. And of course we were older and didn't have children. I don't usually mark as critically or write about hotels in this tone but this hotel leaves a great deal to be desired.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedeBourbon, Gerente at Bourbon Cataratas Convention & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 27 January 2015
Dear Mr. Stephen,

Thank you for your rating of Bourbon Cataratas.

With regard to the topics you mentioned, they have all been reviewed and the staff has been advised so as to ensure that these issues do not happen again.

It’s a pleasure to service you. You’re always welcome to stay with us.

Best Regards,
Osvaldo Neto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

i stayed there for 4 nights, they offered us welcoming drink which was nice. the room was good, but it didn't have tissue paper and slipper. The towels weren't clean enough, I mean they weren't so bright and white color, they have to be changed. I expected one bottle of water as complimentary which wasn't there because there weren't close supermarket around. the bell boys were fast and nice. receptions was always there to help. pools area were nice and clean. the garden behind the pools was very nice and clean and good place for walking. the Breakfast area was very small specially when there are groups. the breakfast variety was not good. really expected to have more tropical fruits , fresh juices, warm foods. that was like 3 or 4 stars hotel breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanaz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
96 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Renovated hotel, good stay for a family in Foz. The entertainment for the children helps a lot, although not all kids carers are as attentive. Easy meals for the kids and for the babies are a major plus. Free and ample parking. Internet is now free with sufficient (but very stable) bandwidth all across the hotel - a significant upgrade! Tower rooms give you better view of the city, although not extraordinary to pay more for. One good indoor pool and adult and child pool also adequate but not acclimatized.

The front desk reception, waiters and other attendants are very helpful (congrats to Joceli in the front desk!). Free welcome drinks very tasty.

Significant cons:
- food is very expensive and under par: we paid US$30,00 for a buffet meal that had no real beef meet - just strognoff, a cheap way to serve beef... Other restaurants also very expensive. You can choose much better options elsewhere. Breakfast is adequate for the price paid, nothing spectacular.
- doors in the room do not lock appropriately for children, very easy to open. Needs high lock immediately.
- rooms near the elevators in the tower are very noisy and you can hear the elevator bell all day long.

Overall a good resort but far from perfect. For the price of the room with half pension (US$230,00 for a couple with two children) that was ok. Would consider other choices in the area if you plan to eat a lot in the hotel.

Room Tip: Stay way from the elevators (rooms ending in 6 and 7 in the tower rooms - 286, 287, 386, 387, etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DR_JLF22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Very nice, hotel, near the Iguazú Falls, it is a 10 min drive. Confortable, wonderful bed, good sleep. People are very nice, but I would like to thank Sandra in the SPA,she was very nice and gave a great massage!!! With ointments of this region, with relaxing effect. Nice pool, connecting paths with wonderful vegetation. Good food.
Next to the convention center
Even though I did not travel with kids, they have a great area and activities for them.

Room Tip: I stayed in the tower and the room was fine, though I heard the new area has better rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank analuisa22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Quite an expansive property with exceptionally large pool in grounds. Many families in attendance. Received a very warm and genuine welcome Staff always well turned out. Friendly reactions all round and it has a good resort feel. Room was comfortable although with a firm bed. Generally well equipped room (but no iron/board for pressing clothes). Free wi-fi but slowish.
The main restaurant has a comprehensive and very tasty buffet. Very many choices. Strange thing though that wine is not served in dining room, staff have to go to the main bar for a very limited selection. The alternative pasta restaurant is also very good and reasonably priced.
A very worth while resort style destination, whether a visit to Iguassu Falls is on the itinerary or just looking for a "chill out" visit

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the main pool would be ideal, also they catch all day sun on the balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tastony2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sao paulo, brazil
Level Contributor
396 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Went there as it was the venue for a business meeting. Good localization and nice property, attentive service at the reception desk. Rooms are small and rundown for brazilian standards. Bad wi-fi signal in the room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acukiert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,470 reviews
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#18 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Wyndham Golden Foz Suites
Wyndham Golden Foz Suites
#26 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Cataratas Convention & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Cataratas Convention & Spa Resort

Property: Bourbon Cataratas Convention & Spa Resort
Address: Avenida das Cataratas Km 2,5 | Vila Carimã, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85853-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#2 Spa Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#2 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#3 Green Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#3 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#10 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bourbon Cataratas Convention & Spa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bourbon Cataratas Convention & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bourbon Cataratas Hotel Foz Do Iguacu
Bourbon Cataratas Convention Hotel
Hotel Bourbon Cataratas Convention
Bourbon Cataratas Convention & Spa Resort Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - Parana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing