We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spartan Accommodation With Good Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Baviera Iguassu
Ranked #48 of 78 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
107 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Spartan Accommodation With Good Food”
Reviewed 24 July 2008

My 15 year old son and I stayed at Baviera Iguassu while we visited the Brazilian side of the waterfalls, the Itaipu Dam and Ciudad del Este, Paraguay. The hotel is located a five-minute walk from Foz de Iguacu's main street, Av. Brasil, where a bank, many shops, restaurants and an internet cafe are located. There also are several decent outdoor restaurants closer to the hotel.

The room was Spartan, but with good hot water in the shower. The breakfast was very good, with a wide variety of tasty fruits, meats, cheeses, home-made cakes, etc.

  • Liked — Excellent breakfast included in the room price.
  • Disliked — Nothing specific.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arjaydobleyoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    60
    25
    3
    3
See reviews for
52
21
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2008

This is our view of the Hotel Baviera.
The lobby is nice, bright and airy and the people at the desk could not be friendlier or more helpful, although we had to struggle with our portuguese. We were grateful that the laundry service we used to wash our clothes is right next door to the hotel, and since the laundry service was having dryer problems the day we turned in our clothes, it was nice to know that we would get our clothes back that evening, no matter how late it got. We noticed that the laundry place has a door into the hotel, so the two businesses seem to work together.
The hallways to the rooms are kind of dark, but the motion detection lights come on as you approach any area. Our room itself was kind of dark and drab, but we had no complaint with our beds. The bathroom sink does have only one faucet (cold) and the shower is electric (all the hot water you want).
The breakfast spread was fantastic, they left no breakfast food unaccounted for. It seemed even more luxurious after coming in from Argentina, where all that is usually served for breakfast is bread and watered-down juice.
The hotel is in a great location, and we were able to walk to two different excellent restaurants each night we were there. There is an internet cafe right across the street and the bus stop is one block away.
This hotel is just fine for a quiet, comfortable night and a hearty breakfast the next morning if you are passing through to see the Brazilian side of the falls. We would stay here again.

  • Liked — It was quiet and the breakfast was excellent
  • Disliked — The drab room
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Vicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red River, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2007

Location was nice and overall experience was fine. Hotel is older and rooms are perhaps a little rough but it is an affordable place. I would recommend if you are on a budget.

  • Liked — Cheap
  • Disliked — bathroom
  • Stayed September 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank haydon3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2006

I cannot disagree with others who have suggested the hotel's location is good, however it is a small town and this isn't really that important a factor. The place is dark and dingy and is certainly at the bottom end of the "mid-range" accommodation scale. Our double room, although a decent size, was not clean - dirty sheets & littered. The bathroom was also below modern-day normality with one unadjustable tap in the sink that dribbled tepid water and a shower that was also unadjustable, rusty and had exposed wiring. The breakfast was ok but not as appealing as many others experienced throughout Brazil. The hotel is cheap and is somewhere to lay your head for a few hours but don't expect to hang-out there for any length of time.

  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank exon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
125 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2006

Efficiently run by a German émigré and his son, the prime advantage of this hotel is its location. Aside from the Tropical and the Sheraton, both of which are located within the Brazilian and Argentinian parks, you won't find a better location on the Brazilian side, since it's right on Schimmelpfeng, the city of Foz' central avenue. There's laundry services right next door, a number of restaurants, including a fatnastic Middle Eastern one right in front of the hotel.

The rooms are incredibly well priced considering the location, and there is fantastic cable TV reception here as well. The breakfast spread is solid (less so if you are vegetarian), though not spectacular by Brazilian standards.

The main problem with the hotel is the hot water, which basically isn't. Like many mid and low priced hotels in Brazil, the hotel has individual heaters that are designed to heat water just as it arrives at the shower spout, and these are not able to heat water all that well. That may be less of a problem in the summer, but you may not be too thrilled about it in the winter.

Finally, I should note for what it's worth that one of my fellow travellers claimed that she had bedbug bites all over her the morning she left. I have no way of confirming that, but you may want to double check your room.

As with all hotels in Iguassu, check the prices they quote you for tours and transportation with other hotels and travellers to make sure you aren't being ripped off.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — everything else about the hotel is average, but there's nothing terribly wrong with it either.
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eaglehaslanded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
530 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 437 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2006

The Baviera Hotel, located at Av. Jorge Schimmelpfeng 697 in Foz de Iguacu, is conveniently located within 15 miles of the famous falls, spotless, and a real bargain for travelers visiting Iguacu Falls or the world's largest hydroelectric plant just north of Iguacu. In our March, 2006, stay, the management was friendly and helpful, and the 40-item breakfast included with the room was a great way to start the day.
Our double room was $36.00 per night if paid in cash, which we certainly did. The air-conditioned hotel is within walking distance of several restaurants, but one night we drove out to the Tirol Restaurant for a German meal--what a treat! One serving could have served four, and the proprietor, who had helped build the dam nearby, was entertaining and helpful. We highly recommend Tirol, and Hotel Baviera. The area was easy to navigate, and the falls alone are worth a trip to Brazil.

Helpful?
4 Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
Hotel Tres Fronteiras
#49 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Hotel Flor Foz
#24 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Viale Tower Hotel
#12 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Villa Iguacu Palace Hotel
Villa Iguacu Palace Hotel
#59 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
San Juan Tour
#21 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Hotel Rouver
#36 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baviera Iguassu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baviera Iguassu

Property: Hotel Baviera Iguassu
Address: Avenida Jorge Schimmelpfeng 697 | Centro, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85851-110, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu > City Center
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 78 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baviera Iguassu 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Baviera Iguassu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Baviera Iguassu Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - Parana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing