We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a hole!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Park Internacional Foz
Ranked #29 of 79 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“What a hole!!!”
Reviewed 16 January 2011

Dirty and old, slow and unefficent staff. Expensive and very dull. Tierd staff with old dirty uniforms. No charm what so ever. Broken and dirty plastc furniute at the dirty pool area. We came for 4 days and the hotel did not make the trip. If travelling to Iguazo choice a nice hotel outside the city with nice swiming pool and fiendly staff. I will not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALP61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    476
    183
    60
    21
See reviews for
384
287
49
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
120 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2010

try to reserve the room as part of a deal with one of the travel agents for a whole tour

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savinoam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2010

Foz is not a great place. In fact, it's a bit of a dump. There is absolutely no reason to go there except to visit the Falls. I think this hotel was the best in town, which considering the number of tourists that visit, it is surprising that there are not more nice hotels.

The Golden Tulip is a decent enough hotel but it needs a refurbishment. I think that the Golden Tulip group must have only recently taken it over and you could see that in some areas refurbishment was beginning to take place.

The room was big, as was the bed - which was pretty comfortable. The shower and bathroom were good but there was an odd padded toilet seat which was bizarre.

The location was fine as it was close to the bus station where you can easily catch the bus to the national park.

The staff were good and I think the hotel will be really nice once it is refurbished. At the moment it is basically a decent place to stay in a town that lacks anything better.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdinburghCourtini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
96 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2010

We only stayed here one night so bit of a flying visit. Room was enormous with large comfy bed. Room decoration was definately showing signs of tiredness, the fridge sitting under theTV was an interesting design idea until we discovered that to get theTV to work you had to open/close the fridge door (basically dodgy electrics). Breakfast, as I was becoming used to in South America, was a fine affair and up to the standard of all the other hotels we'd stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColinInHants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW
Level Contributor
150 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

My wife and I planned to spend three nights in Foz do Iguacu (Foz), including one night (our first) at the Hotel das Cataratas. But after reading reviewers on Trip Advisor we decided that notwithstanding the apparently once-in-a-lifetime experience that staying at das Cataratas was likely to be we could not justify the US$700 or so (including meals) it would cost for the one night. As we intended to see both sides of the falls (Brazilian and Argentinian) we considered we would see enough over the two days without having to stay on-site. I was ever so pleased we made this decision because our flight on Gol Airlines, which was due to arrive at 2.00pm in the afternoon thereby giving us plenty of time that afternoon to soak up the falls from das Cataratas, actually landed 6 hours late at 8.00pm. It would have been money wasted. By the way, if you are flying to the falls I strongly recommend, based on our experience, avoiding Gol Airlines – they were nothing but trouble. Fly TAM, even if it is a little more expensive.

We decided to stay in the Golden Tulip International (GTI) for our three nights in Foz. We booked directly with the hotel and got a pre-paid rate for a standard room of US$110 per night. Taxi from the airport to the hotel was BRL40.

The reception staff at GTI were very pleasant and spoke English. We were given room 1007 (10th floor) and it overlooked the decent sized pool and the well maintained lawns and garden. The room was quite large and clean, although showing a little wear (a few chips on the furniture, walls). In the room was a king size bed, a refrigerator stocked with various drinks and snacks, a cathode ray tube TV with the usual cable channels, a small table with 2 chairs, a closet in which was a safe, and there was plenty of bench space to put bags, etc. The bathroom was also a good size and there was plenty of hot water. Basic toiletries (soap, hair shampoo) were complimentary. We didn't experience any noise problems during our stay. In summary, we were very happy with the room.

A buffet breakfast was included in the room rate and was more than adequate.

Next door to the hotel is a restaurant called Maran Familia Restaurant. It offers lunchtime and evening buffets which are quite extensive, very tasty and extremely good value. There are other meal options from a menu, if preferred. I’d be cautious about eating/drinking at GTI. We had a few cocktails there during our stay at a menu price that seemed reasonable, although we knew there would be a service charge and some taxes added. On check-out there was a ‘turismo’ charge of 42% added to our drinks bill! Rather excessive I thought!

GTI is well located, just a few blocks (15 minutes walk) from the bus terminal. From there you can take a bus that drops you right to the entrance of the national park for just BRL2.20. Pick up a bus at the same spot for the return journey. Buses run every half hour or so in both directions. Very simple and cheap. The bird park is a couple of hundred metres from the entrance to the national park and definitely should be visited. Both can be done easily in a day.

If you are looking for a place to stay in Foz, I recommend GTI.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aussie_bmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natal-RN
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2010

I stayed in Mercure Grand Internacional Foz for three nights from December 4th to 7th, 2009.

The hotel has: free parking, hair dryer, cable internet access in the rooms (not for free and very expensive), air conditioning, heating system, minibar in the room, elevator.

The hotel doesn't have: free wi fi internet access of any kind (neither in the lobby nor in the rooms), any computers in the lobby with free internet access.

Location: good. The hotel is in the city center and close to some small shops and restaurants. By car, it's easy to go both to the Brazilian and Argentinian sides of the Iguassu Falls, to Ciudad del Leste (Paraguay) and to Itaipu Dam. To the Brazilian side of the Iguassu Falls it's an easy twenty minutes drive on a well signed road. To the Argentinian side it's around 35 minutes and as you enter Argentina the signs and indications aren't that precise (but it's not difficult to find the way to the Iguassu Falls). To Ciudad del Leste (Paraguay) the ride takes about fifteen minutes from the hotel to the place you have to park your car to cross the Friendship Bridge (Ponte da Amizade) on foot. Because it's a mess and it's not safe in Ciudad del Leste, it is not recommend to go there by car. Close to the Brazilian side of the bridge there's a street with lots of parkings. I chose Estacionamento Silva [Rua Olavo Bilac, 214, Vila Portes, Foz do Iguaçu-PR – (55) (45) 3528-6631] and paid R$ 15.00 per day. To Itaipu Dam it's about a half an hour drive.

Price: R$ 195.00 per night for a double room (around US$ 110 at time of booking – all taxes and fees included in this price).

The room I got was large. The bed was large and comfortable. Breakfast was included in the price and it is in a buffet style, with a very good variety of food (ham, cheese, milk, coffee, eggs, breads, juices, fruits, cakes). I didn't need the staff that much, but they seemed to be helpful.

Depending on the price, I would recommend this hotel for someone who doesn't need internet.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeEsse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2009

I had a really good experience in this hotel. The bedroms are spacious and clean, the bed is really big and the bathroom is not the best one I've ever seen but it's okay . The swimming pool is great and there is also a pool table, foosball, table tennis and some other games for adults and teens, there's also a small playground for the little ones.The staff is realy helpful and nice, breakfast is good enough if it's included if it isn't I think it's a little overpriced just like things in the mini bar.
The location is good, it's a walking distance from stores, banks and restaurants. I've stayd in other hotels in Foz and think this one is a really good choice in the city.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bee-rj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Wyndham Golden Foz Suites
Wyndham Golden Foz Suites
#25 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#19 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Viale Tower Hotel
#11 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Viale Cataratas Hotel
#31 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,498 reviews
Foz Presidente Comfort
#17 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Park Internacional Foz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Park Internacional Foz

Property: Golden Park Internacional Foz
Address: Rua Almirante Barroso 2006, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85851-010, Brazil (Formerly Golden Tulip Internacional Foz)
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#22 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#23 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Park Internacional Foz 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Park International Foz is ideally located in the commercial centre. It features a swimming pool, fitness centre and a sauna. The Iguacu Waterfalls are 20 km away and the Foz do Iguacu Airport is 15 km away.Foz Golden Park International provides rooms with cable TV, a minibar and air conditioning. In addition the hotel also offers restaurants,bars, a laundry facility and a business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Park Internacional Foz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Internacional Foz Hotel Foz Do Iguacu
Mercure Foz De Iguassu
Accor Foz De Iguassu
Golden Park Internacional Foz Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - Parana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing