We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Foz do Iguacu
Ranked #53 of 78 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
244 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Below Average”
Reviewed 29 November 2012

I stayed for a few days at the hotel and was very disappointed with the overall service and quality of the rooms. The room is quite small and old, furniture and closets are in a poor state (the mattress, pillows and bed sheet are just awful) and the bathroom has several problems of plumbing, the box door simply did not close and the smell from the pipes was terrible. Shower either was too hot or too cold, very old indeed. In fact, the whole room smelled badly and the only way to make it go away was to leave the air conditioning on (which leaked on the floor). At least in this room, it is impossible to open the window, from which there is no view at all, at any time due to an infestation of pigeons, which also leave a terrible smell, and the noise from a electric generator that kept going way through the night, so the quality of sleep is terrible. I asked at the hotel about this constant noise and they only assured me that the generator was turned off everyday around 10pm. However, this was not true and the generator was, at most of the nights, on and off, all the time. Wi-fi internet is free, but it hardly worked. At my last day at the hotel, I found out there were renovated rooms available, for a higher price. However, I talked to some colleagues that payed more and the problems were just the same, because the "room makeover" was more cosmetic than real. Cleanliness leave much to be desired in the room and in the common areas of the hotel. At breakfast, sometimes it was impossible to seat because there were no clean tables, since there was no staff to clean it. And if you manage to seat at a clear spot, there were times that no plates, forks or even food were available. Once more, no staff to provide the service at the buffet, even for these minimum things. Also, if you are still going to stay there, do not book the van that is offered by the hotel. The service is not provided by the hotel, but by a tourism company that offers their service inside the hotel. At the time of arrival, there was no one waiting at the airport, the driver was late and you have to search for him outside the airport, so just get a taxi, the price is the same. At night, beware because in that párt of the Avenue, there is prostitution going quite as ealry as 8-9pm.
The positive side? A 15-minute walk to Cataratas Mall where there is a food court with Mac Donalds, Italian and Brazilian food, a very good baker named Maria and Marias and door to door to the hotel, several drugstores where you can buy water, ice cream, chocolates, so you do not have to pay more for them at the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CristinaSPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    131
    76
    16
    11
See reviews for
98
67
20
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

They where at the airport to receive me as requested. I asked for a clean bathroom and quiet room, they said no problem, they gave the last room at the end of the well lit corridor on the top floor. Room 514. Breakfast buffet were splendid. Yes there are plenty of pharmacies around but if you get a sore throat you have plenty of choices to get whatever you want. A block away the bus stop terminal to go to the Cataratas the Iguazú National Park (awesome), the Airport (convenient for those backpack traveleres) and the Bird Park (pretty amazing too) across the bus terminal at the stop you could take a bus to Ciudad del Este a duty free zone in Paraguay (I chose not to spend a day in caos) the best was the friendly attitude of the hotel staff and a few steps away from the hotel to the right (Ave. Brazil, 132) you can find Bar e Lanches Brasinha with a full fish or meat buffet for only 10 reais. The breakfast buffet at the hotel and the internet were included in the discount price my agency got. If you expect the luxury of a resort there is a hotel with a beautiful architecture right in the National Waterfall Park. Be prepared to pay plenty, Brazil is more expenxive than Tokio was two years ago. If you want an excellent budget hotel with convenient location try Foz do Iguazu Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a clean bathroom and a quiet room. Make sure the internet is included or be prepared an extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ViajerodelUniverso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2011

The hotel is in the centre of town. Does not look like much from the outside but the satff were very professional and helpful. Except one member of staff (seemed more senior - possibly of American Indian heritage, cannot remember the name).

Room was big, bed was very large and very very comfortable. Good TV, Air con and nice bathroom.

The breakfast was a huge buffet. Very nice but not good for my waistline.

Good value for money.

Minor points would be that the pool looked like it could do with a good clean. Kept stubbing my toe on the small steps to the pool area. The chocolate and toiletries in the room were charged for. If they are not free I would suggest they be kept in the minibar or clearly marked.

Overall I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee_in_Fareham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelfozdoiguacu, Owner at Hotel Foz do Iguacu, responded to this review, 26 May 2011
Hi Lee,
Is nice to see that the you like to stay at the hotel.
But at the same time you have problems
with the pool, so we invite you to spend
some time in Hotel Foz do Iguaçu.
Now that the pool is working and fine.

Thankfully,

Juliana Añasco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2010

I have stayed at this hotel from Sep 16th to 17th sent by my company. It was the 5th time at the hotel and it´s all the same. The service was average, reduced staff at the front desk. If you are checking out, be prepared to wait at least 15min for account crosschecks if anything is different. The buffet at the restaurant is overpriced for the food quality. The rooms at the central area have no window view and all areas basically uses air conditioning system which is very cold and dusty. The rooms have a good cleaning condition but bathroom is small, old and have bad illumination. If you need to take a rest during the day, don´t choose this one. The corridor area is very loud due to other guests coming and going for shopping all the day and the maids that also make a lot of noise chatting and cleaning. At all, would only be my personal choice if travelling with short budget. Good point is that the hotel offers free shuttle for the Duty Free Shop in Puerto Iguazu - Argentina, but I don´t know if it happens all days and most hotel in Iguassu offers the same, and also has free wireless internet.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxNg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelfozdoiguacu, Owner at Hotel Foz do Iguacu, responded to this review, 26 May 2011
Hi Max,
We would like to tell you that
we are working for changes and better changes.
The maids were trainned to work quiet and silence.
The recption was new and unskilled, I assure you
that is all different now.
Actually the Hotel Foz do Iguaçu offers new rooms,
a refurbished restaurant, is great.
Come see it ! ! !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed in Foz do Iguacu hotel for 2 nights. We were offered 2 rooms - one was old and small and the other refurbished and big - for the same price :)
Of course we took the bigger one. The staff is very nice, the breakfast was great -various kinds of foods in huge quantities. There is also a great pool outside
The area of the hotel is packed with poor people at night. But its like this all over the city, so the location is actually pretty good. There is nothing to do there anyway -only to fall on the bed exhausted after a full day at the amazing Iguacu Falls.
The hotel is very close to a bus station (to the falls on both sides - Brazil and Argentina)
There is a pretty decent internet connection in the lobby.
The only downside - there was no safe in our room.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evie_EF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelfozdoiguacu, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Foz do Iguacu, responded to this review, 27 May 2011
Hi Evie,
It´s good to know that you like it.
We hope you come again to
our Hotel in other time.
Regards,

Juliana Añasco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scandia, Minnesota
Level Contributor
145 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2009

Forget about the location, which, obviously, is the selling point. The dining was heavenly, the grounds were immaculate, the staff was schooled and courteous. One of the best three nights of my life.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Layover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelfozdoiguacu, Owner at Hotel Foz do Iguacu, responded to this review, 26 May 2011
Hi Layover,
It´s always good to know that
our clients liked the hotel.
We hope to see you again pretty soon ! ! !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
detroit, mi
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2008

This hotel was really awful. We were booked there by a friend to stay 2 nights. We had to stay the first night, but actually moved to another hotel the 2nd nite. The air conditioning wasn't working & it was over 100 degrees. The rooms were unclean, the tv didn't work, the shower door wouldn't open & there was no hot water. There were no matress pads on the beds, just ripped up mattresses with a dingy sheet over the top. Also the phone didn't work. The day & 1/2 we spent there, the elevator was also not working. We found a much nicer hotel in the area for the same price.

  • Liked — Leaving it!
  • Disliked — You name it, it was unclean, everything was broken, they screwed up our reservation etc.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sue430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelfozdoiguacu, Manager at Hotel Foz do Iguacu, responded to this review, 26 May 2011
Hi Sue.
We really sory for this incident.
I believe you stayed in the hotel.
In times not so good.
Actually we invite you to stay
at the hotel and meet the
rooms and the restaurant.
It´s all reformed.

Juliana Añasco
Depto Reservations
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
Foz Presidente Hotel
#41 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Canzi Cataratas Hotel
#48 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
City Center
Villa Iguacu Palace Hotel
Villa Iguacu Palace Hotel
#59 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Aguas do Iguacu Hotel Centro
Aguas do Iguacu Hotel Centro
#8 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,227 reviews
Ibis Foz Do Iguacu
#16 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Foz do Iguacu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Foz do Iguacu

Property: Hotel Foz do Iguacu
Address: Avenida Brasil - Downtown 97, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85851-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 78 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Foz do Iguacu 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Foz do Iguacu Hotel has a great structure with luxury and standard rooms with single rooms, double rooms and triple rooms. It offers for their guests a comfortable environment. Located at the city downtown, the parking service is free.The apartments are equipped with television, air conditioning, minibar and much more to ensure you a wonderful stay. Talk to our team through email or phone call and book the best hotel in Foz do iguacu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Foz do Iguacu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Foz Do Iguacu Brazil - Parana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing