We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach front B&B close to Porto de Galinhas”
Review of Pousada Ecoporto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pousada Ecoporto
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Porto de Galinhas
Certificate of Excellence
Utah
Level Contributor
112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beach front B&B close to Porto de Galinhas”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed for a week vacation in this lovely place. Ecoporto is a beach front bed and breakfast inn. The breakfast is delicious. It is really nice to be on the beach with just few steps. It is about 20-30 minutes' walk along (avoid to walk at night) the beach to reach the Porto de Galinhas Village or the Natural pools. Or it is R$10 reais per cab to reach the Village. At night, it is very silent and all you can hear is the sound of the waves. The only reason I would not rate higher is because one night we stayed without power all day and night and I did not feel that much efforts were made to have it fixed. I did not even see the owner (who lives next door) trying to fix the problem. The staff said that it was the city problem. They distributed candles to the guests (the same kind they burn at the cemeteries in Brazil) which I thought was dangerous .

They offer beach/pool towels, as well as chairs and umbrella to be set at the beach on request.
The only thing I wished is that they had warned us about the mosquitoes. The first night my son had over 50 mosquito bites. Be aware that you will need a lot of repellent as well as bug sprayer which the staff provides as well.

The bedrooms: All rooms are beach front and it has 3 floors. We stayed in the first floor (ground floor) because according to them, for safety issues, family with children must be in the first floor. My sisters stayed in the 2nd floor, which was nice too, but the coconuts trees were blocking the view. We all stayed on bedrooms for three people, one double bed and one single bed. I asked if we could move to the second floor to be close to my sisters bedrooms since my daughter was old enough (11 years old) and they said it was full. And the 3rd floor are double rooms and won't fit us three. The rooms were clean, it definitely needs a lot of maintenance (and they took care very promptly as soon as we requested), beds are nice, decorations are very basic but had everything we needed.

The staff: Since the day I first contacted to get information about the Pousada, Cristiane was always nice and replied all my enquiries quickly. The check in was smooth (other than that they split our group) and fast. The front desk people in general were always very helpful. There were few nights that only one of the male employee at the front desk that did not show much interest in helping. All the ladies including Dna. Cecilia, the manager were all very helpful.

The restaurant: The Pousada has a small restaurant where the breakfast is served daily. The breakfast is really good, with varieties (they change every day most of the Brazilian's treats). I took many pictures of the breakfast because I wanted to post here. However we had our camera lost/stolen during a tour in Maragogi. It was a nice water proof blue Fuji camera. In case anyone ever finds it, please pot here. The camera can be purchase again, but the pictures are priceless. The lunch and dinner food is just OK for the price you pay, but considering the convenience it is nice to be able to eat there. Just be patient because it takes at least 30 - 40 minutes until they will serve your meal. Ours took even longer because we were a group of 9 people. The first two nights we waited so long that the following nights we ate there, we ordered from the room and they called us when the meals were ready. One of my favorite from there is a sandwich called "The fillet". My sister liked the soups. My kids liked the "spaghetti a alho e oleo ". The portions are small and very few meals would serve two.

I recommend this place for its price compared to others beach front hotels.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beach front. Your preference will be from first or second floor if you are staying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyFavoritesPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    524
    267
    43
    4
    3
See reviews for
230
464
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

This was our first trip to the Brazilian Northeast, and our first destination after flying into Recife was Porto de Galinhas. We had a nice, relaxing time during our all-too-short stay here, and we were very happy with our choice to stay at the Pousada Ecoporto.

We rented a car in Recife and drove down to Porto de Galinhas (travel time was about 1 1/2 hours). The Pousada is located just a couple of miles north of the center of town, right on the beach overlooking the ocean. We were able to park the car right in front, very convenient. It was also an easy 5 minute drive into town, but if you don't have a car, I believe the pousada has a shuttle that will take you there and pick you up as well.

The pousada itself was great! As mentioned, the hotel is right on the beach, and our room had a great view of the ocean. The balcony had shutters that could be opened to let in more sunlight and fresh sea-air, or they could be closed for more privacy. There was also a hammock that you could hang up and take a relaxing nap while listening to the waves. The room was very clean, nice size, with a comfortable bed. Bathroom was clean with a relatively large shower. The maid service did a great job cleaning, even folded little towel animals on the bed with hibiscus flowers everyday. The breakfast was very tasty - nice selection of breads, fresh fruits and juices, and meats. Staff was very hospitable, helped us reserve a dune buggy tour of the surrounding area and beaches.

Would highly recommend this pousada for anyone traveling to Porto de Galinhas!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poi8981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We have visited this pousada two times and if you are planning to go to Northeast Brazil for vacation (via Recife) we highly recommend this little cosy hotel with a fantastic sea view from all the rooms. The couple who owns the pousada is charming and friendly and the breakfast is satisfying like the meals they serve for lunch and dinner. The room and bathroom are simple in a brazilian way, but you feel at home right away.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimFredrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campinas, São Paulo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Lovely, by the beach, silent. The owners are a couple from South Brazil which means that there are lots of books araound, the silence is one of the mains characteristic for who searchs for resting.

Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank acristina7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2010

If want to runaway from big, crowded resorts and if you are looking for a small, but cozy and exclusive place to stay in Porto de Galinhas. Pousada Ecoporto is the right place.

The best of it is the proximity to the beach and tranquility it can provide. There are only 28 rooms (all facing the ocean with big balcony and hammock) . You can relax in the swimming pool or under the coconut tree in comfortable shares feeling the breeze of the ocean (very windy place, which comforts you from the very hot weather).

Feeling like taking a swim in the sea or walking on the beach? With only 10 steps you reach the white sand of the "Cupe Beach". Lots of waves, kind of dangerous sea, but not crowded at all. No sales people, no loud music, no kids screaming, no guys playing football.

The room is big and comfortable. Bathroom could be better.
Restaurant is ok and staff too.

I would definitively recommend and come back.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adriabreu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
189 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2009

This is a review written by a person who hates beach, sun and sea. Despite all this detestable things, I've really enjoyed my stay at Ecoporto in Porto de Galinhas. I went there with my boyfriend who, opposite from me, loves beach, sun and sea. He liked the hotel too.
The building has all the rooms with views to the beach, and just to the beach. There's no way of being watched by curious neighbours, real privacy. Each room has a balcony and a "rede", that brazilian hanging bed.
Pousada Ecoporto is near the beach, but it is not in the touristic center of Porto de Galinhas. It can be good for those who enjoy walking "au bord de la mer" to reach the restaurants and stores, and for those who prefer sleep in a quiet place than to be bothered all night by the music from the bars and restaurants.
The most impressive is the kindness of the whole staff. The owners are always there to assure the quality of all services. The breakfast and dinner are good and the waitress, excellent! She can tell the guests the name of each hen of the decoration (hen = galinha, from Porto de "Galinhas"). If I didn't hate beaches so much, I would be seriously attempted to stay at Ecoporto forever.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nizinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2008

Very large sea view room, we could hear the waves beating on the shore. Our room had a balcony with a hammock for two, perfect for a nap at the end of the day. Lots os natural lighting in the room.
The breakfast was absolutely delicious, specially the homemade cakes.
The pool is nice and the hotel is right on the beach, within walking distance from the village center.

  • Liked — The entire experience
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joburg74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto de Galinhas hotels
0.1 mi away
Kembali Hotel
Kembali Hotel
#1 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
645 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Solar Porto de Galinhas
Hotel Solar Porto de Galinhas
#7 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
2,133 reviews
1.2 mi away
Village Porto de Galinhas
Village Porto de Galinhas
#8 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
2,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Viva Porto de Galinhas
Hotel Viva Porto de Galinhas
#11 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
2,030 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pousada Tabapitanga
Pousada Tabapitanga
#3 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
1,172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Armacao
Hotel Armacao
#5 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Ecoporto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Ecoporto

Property: Pousada Ecoporto
Address: Avenida Beira Mar, s/n | Merepe 2 - Km 6,5, Porto de Galinhas, Ipojuca, State of Pernambuco 55590-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Pernambuco > Ipojuca > Porto de Galinhas
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#5 Family Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Ecoporto 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pousada Ecoporto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Ecoporto Porto De Galinhas, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing