We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely fine”
Review of Pontal De Ocapora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pontal De Ocapora
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Porto de Galinhas
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Completely fine”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We came here for a family holiday and had a nice time. The kids absolutely loved it! Nice pools and the staff that organised activities for the kids were great. Our kids also loved the evening shows! However, they don't speak much portuguese yet so it was difficult for them to join in the activities.

Location was also really good. Plus have to mention an amazing in-house photograper. He took some fantasic pictures of our kids playing on the beach.

I thought the hotel itself and the service was average. All the staff were nice enough, but the hotel seemed under-staffed and everyone was a bit stressed. We had to wait ages for food (and even drinks) at luchtime. I also thought the food was pretty poor, and to be honest this partly ruined the experience we had at the hotel. With 3 young children it was quite a big operation to travel into Porto de Galhinas for a meal, so we ended up eating at the hotel quite a lot even though we didn't like the food. The ala carte menu was in general a bit better than the evening buffet. The food was also really, really salty. But we think so about restaurant meals in Brazil in general, so shouldn't be too hard on the hotel for this one.

This is also not a great hotel to stay at if you don't speak any portuguese. We live in Rio at the moment and I have had lessons for a few months, so I know a little bit. But nevertheless, I didn't feel like the staff were trying that hard to understand. Intead some of them seemed to get a bit annoyed when I prononced words wrong and I was even laughed at a few times. This is a bit unusual, as everywhere else people have been extremely supportive and helpful when I've been trying to speak portuguese.

Bottom line is that I think the main problems we had with the place were due to cultural diffences (food, language) and that I maybe wouldn't reccomend it to the average english-speaking tourist.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sildre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,243
    924
    208
    43
    22
See reviews for
1,108
960
33
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Its a nice hotel with beautiful grounds, 3 pools, a restaurant with buffet or a la carte options, great deck with plenty of wind if you want a a relaxing night observing the stars ;)
Large rooms, but the sheets are not the best, kinda old or just not bleached enough.
Large bathrooms with a nice shower heated with solar energy. Bathroom towels are great but the beach towels..awful =(
Drinks are nice, but you should go for coconut water all the time because its the best bang for its buck. IF you want a tip, go for the pineapple drink(with our without alcohol) that you can buy on the beach in a small cart ;) its around 10 reais but its delicious and pretty .
Room is cleaned every day and there is a safe box. if you need a hairdryer you need to ask the front desk, same with the hammock.

Room Tip: all ocean views rooms are noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Débora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dresden, Germany
Level Contributor
79 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed at "Pontal de Ocapora" in Feb 2009 for 3 weeks with small children. The location is a very beautiful: green gardens surround the bungalows - from a near area of natural forest small monkeys visit the hotel area. There most important things: world class beach, different very clean pools and very helpful staffs (although: almost nobody speaks English :-( If you don't speak Portuguese: take a dictinary with you at least! Food (served buffet style) is very good at all: international and local food, fresh fruits, drinks - evrything very good! OK, after 2 weeks the choice was repeating but it seemed that we are the only ones who stayed that long... Just 2 min north of the hotel beach you find "natural swimming pools" at the beach (visit at low tide!) - beautiful for beginners to snorkel and for children to swim. Take care: sea urchins and sometimes Portuguese man of war. Near that place a mobil "beach restaurant" offers fresh food: if you buy a meal (fresh fish, lobster...) you get table, chairs and parasol for free :-)
You can do some excursions to Porto de Galinhas (buggy driving, mangroves at an estuary of a small river, more natural swimming pools, if you need to shop Porto de Galinhas is good choice). We hired an English speaking driver who showed us places that are not so crowded as the beach area is: giant cataracts 2 hours drive from the hotel, sugar cane plantations and small distillery. Negative: former natural covering of vegetation in that area is almost completely removed for sugar cane.
The hotel offers free beach towels and free WiFi (in public areas)

Room Tip: if you want a quiet room you must choose rooms near the entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StefanDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2012

This hotel has got it all. It is located in an optimal position on the beach: far from the very busy and unattractive town centre, but at a stone's throw from a coral reef spot where you can go snorkelling at low tide and see a lot of tropical fish. The beach right in front of the hotel is clean, well maintained, with friendly staff that will put your beach umbrella anywhere you tell them to and furnish your spot with deck chairs, tables, etc. at your request. Even free clean beach towels are provided. Sea water is crystal clear, but beware of strong currents (like anywhere else in Brazil). We loved the decked patio right on the beach with swimming pools and bars with polite and good looking girls serving tables. The infrastructure also includes also a well equipped gym and a social spot with shows every night. We had a bungalow with sea views close to the beach, I suggest to ask for it when booking, it was fantastic. However all apartments are surrounded by a lush garden with flowers, trees, bushes, palm trees, all very well kept. At the reception you can easily book for trips to other beaches (I suggest Praia dos Carneiros), buggy tours (I prefer walking on the beach) and even city tours in Recife and Olinda. They also have a tiny shop should you run out of sun cream. The food is abundant and varied, a typical Brazilian buffet, not extraordinary but better than standard. Dinner was a bit overpriced, but you can easily get a taxi and go to other restaurants in the area.
Overall one of the best beach resorts we've ever been, and good value for money. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for any bungalows close to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frankrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

This is a fantastic property. Great rooms, great food, great location. The grounds are well groomed and maintained, very lush. It is simply paradise.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cunningtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brazil
Level Contributor
165 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Me and my husband went to Porto de Galinhas last carnival, we didnt book in advance, and in the end stayed in this hotel because everything else was full! Overall its a great hotel, the girls from the reception were so nice and cute, the room was fine and clean, we were in half board package, the food was good, with lots of options everyday something new. We payed a very high price for a night, but Brazil nowaydays is a very expensive place....

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cestlaviebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

The hotel is located in front of a wonderful beach among very "green" area.
The problem of this hotel is the lacking of mainteneance of the areas. Old furnitures and a small swimming pool. The service is too slow.
The breakfast is very good, but for the dinner they offered a terrible buffet with an expensive price.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto de Galinhas hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Viva Porto de Galinhas
Hotel Viva Porto de Galinhas
#11 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,997 reviews
0.8 mi away
Village Porto de Galinhas
Village Porto de Galinhas
#9 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,814 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Solar Porto de Galinhas
Hotel Solar Porto de Galinhas
#7 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Armacao
Hotel Armacao
#5 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
1.1 mi away
Prodigy Beach Resort Marupiara
Prodigy Beach Resort Marupiara
#15 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pousada Tabapitanga
Pousada Tabapitanga
#3 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pontal De Ocapora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontal De Ocapora

Property: Pontal De Ocapora
Address: Sitio Costa Tropicana | Pontal Do Cupe, Porto de Galinhas, Ipojuca, State of Pernambuco, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Pernambuco > Ipojuca > Porto de Galinhas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#4 Romantic Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pontal De Ocapora 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pontal De Ocapora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontal De Ocapora Hotel Porto De Galinhas
Pontal De Ocapora Porto Galinhas
Pontal De Ocapora Porto De Galinhas, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing