We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Badly overpriced, misleading pictures”
Review of Pontal De Ocapora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pontal De Ocapora
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Porto de Galinhas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We were visiting Brazil for a couple of weeks and a Brazilian friend recommended Porto de Galinhas for a beach break. Having done some research online Pontal de Ocapora seemed like a very nice hotel and we went for it - including a beach-front suite.

- We contacted the hotel 3 weeks prior to our arrival to sort out transfer from Recife airport to the hotel, and we got confirmation on the total cost, time and date of the pick up. There was nobody there on our arrival.
- The "beach-front" suite is not quite on the beach front. Instead, it has direct access to two of the swimming pools (rooms #1 and #2), including a children's pool that naturally opened quite early - so it was just impossible to have a lie-in. Access to the beach was no better than from any other room. The hotel's entertainment was also held by the pool, and that also involver very loud music.
- Hardly any of the staff spoke any English. Thankfully we managed to get by with some Spanish
- After a lot of effort we managed to be changed to a different room, where the aircon did not work and the bathroom looked like it was last renovated in the 70s
- The food wasn't terrible, but it was not great either. Loads and loads of cheese covering most dishes.

On the positives: the beach was nice and quiet (especially once you compare them to Porto de Galinhas!). Also, one of the hotel staff (called Di) was very nice and helpful, and made every effort to help out!

Would not recommend, especially at those prices

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank ADA x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,608)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 17 of 2,608 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2013

It's a very nice isolated hotel, it's like fantasy island, the beach is nice, the restaurant very good overall. Self service buffet and breakfast are tasty and have a good variety. The problem is ... if you don't want to eat a lot, there are not so many options for a light meal. And the price of a la carte orders are so high that you better go ahead and stick with the self service option, all you can eat. The lightest thing I could get in a dinner night, was a salad that most of it came out of a can and it was really a wash. I think the servers were not very friendly and the service (restaurant and bar) was really, really slow. You've got to be patient. There are good entertainment (music) in the evenings and plenty of options for kids. I think they could offer a shuttle to downtown a couple of times a day, but they don't. You have to get a taxi (there are plenty of them at the main entrance) and pay R$15 each trip to town (R$30 round trip). It's better if you find another couple to share the ride. They charge for internet, but I doubt you will know that before getting there. It was my surprise. R$5/hour, R$20/day. And be sure to use your full hour, because it will expire if you stop to do anything else. I live in the US where hotels do not charge for internet use (so far). Also you have to be close to the reception. My room didn't even picked internet signal. It was frustrating. It seems another way to be ripped off by the tourism industry. The environment inside and outside the hotel is really very pleasant, with its particular fauna and flora... the gardens are very well taken care of. It's a pleasure to be there, besides being a little pricey and their employees not really friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SEdgar2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

The place is very beautiful and it doesnt matter if it is raining or not, you still get a great feeling of being there. The rooms are large with a large tv to match and the bathroom are okay for a size. Me and my wife had a wonderful, unforgettable stay here. The place offers lots of fun activities and also a little entertainment. There wasnt any place to buy any snacks here, so i would recommend to bring lots of food to this hotel. The breakfast was very nice, but the juice were awful. Me and my wife was dining at the hotels restaurant and we waited forever to finally get the food but the food was out of this world. Excellent! We ordered Frango a Tahiti, which i would highly recommend, because it is probably the best food i have ever tasted in my life! Although, i was very disappointed with one thing. That we didnt get the chance to play any tennis, because someone had played before and probably didnt return the equipment and that we got so many different answers for the same questions so we got very confused. It was also a confusion when we tried to find our room, because the place is pretty much like a labyrinth. There were also lots of ants crawling on the table in our room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatrickWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

located app 3 km from the center. 3 tiny but busy noisy pools with animation. small beach with old and uncomfortable chairs. rooms are normal size and style/interior is outdated. tv poorly working. poor service. unfriendly 3 of 4 days no beachtowels available, breakfast with the feeling of a mensa. food quality is below average. feels like a spring break hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FreqTravellerMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Nice structure in well preserved tropical surrounding. We stayed in two bungalows overlooking the ocean which I highly recommend. Accommodation is nice but a bit rustic, especially the shower.
The position of the hotel is great, offers open ocean with waves but in 5 minutes walk the natural pools in high tide are gorgeous and lovely where simple but nice seafood is served on the beach by a very kind local couple.
Far enough from the over touristic Porto de Galinhas which can still be reached in reasonably priced taxis in few minutes or in a lovely 1 hour walk on the beach.
Downsides: we had two buffet dinners with poor service ( drinks arrived after dinner both times) and average food. Breakfast is sad apart from the nice tapioca. We particularly missed the great fruit quality and variety that Pernambuco offers.
Though the booking process went very well directly with the hotel, check out went very wrong.
The bill was confusingly detailed ( incredibly long for a 4 nights stay as we only had drinks apart from the prepayed half-board), the receptionist was clearly confused herself and wasn't able to give clarifications. We had to leave for the airport leaving open issues to be settled through e-mail. We were unfortunately overcharged ( I don't think with bad intentions) and in more than a week after our numerous e-mail and phone calls they didn't get back to us though they are clearly aware of our complain. Advices: I recommend this hotel for its great position and nice structure but allow yourself a long time before your check-out and don't leave any pending issues. Avoid buffet dinner.

Room Tip: Some rooms seem to be very far from the ocean, pool and bar. Ocean view bungalows were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We spent about 10 days here with our 2 children (4 and 6 years old). The place is really nice located right on the beach front. Our room was very nice and could easily sleep all 4 of us comfortably. Although the place has 4 pools none of them actually allows for some decent swimming but that did not prevent our kids from jumping in them.
The food is of good quality and offers good varietz
It is a nice walk back (around 5km from the town of Porto de Galinhas( along the beach

The only real negative is that none of the staff was able to speak some english or spanish.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnerjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

The hotel is well located, specially if you want to relax. It's a little far from town. So, if you go to Pontal de Ocaporã you may want to stay in the hotel during the trip, just enjoying the gorgeous structure and the food, which has an excellent quality. The food is really good. Besides, there are activities, for children and for adults, that take all day long.

Room Tip: There are rooms close to the pools and the beach, which are nice because of the landscape, in the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank baracho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto de Galinhas hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Viva Porto de Galinhas
Hotel Viva Porto de Galinhas
#9 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
2,293 reviews
0.8 mi away
Village Porto de Galinhas
Village Porto de Galinhas
#8 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
2,937 reviews
1.5 mi away
Porto de Galinhas Praia Hotel
Porto de Galinhas Praia Hotel
#13 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Solar Porto de Galinhas
Hotel Solar Porto de Galinhas
#6 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
2,287 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Armacao
Hotel Armacao
#10 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
2,128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pousada Tabapitanga
Pousada Tabapitanga
#4 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pontal De Ocapora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontal De Ocapora

Address: Sitio Costa Tropicana | Pontal Do Cupe, Porto de Galinhas, Ipojuca, State of Pernambuco, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Pernambuco > Ipojuca > Porto de Galinhas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#4 Romantic Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
Price Range: £166 - £368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pontal De Ocapora 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pontal De Ocapora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontal De Ocapora Hotel Porto De Galinhas
Pontal De Ocapora Porto Galinhas
Pontal De Ocapora Porto De Galinhas, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing