We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Summerville Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Porto de Galinhas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We arrived late at night with our friends and their kids, they had a bungalow and we were booked into one of the standard rooms. We were upgraded into the bungalow next to our friends which was great and gave us more room. Pool was large and ran through the middle of the resort to the beach, pool bar and different activities around the pool too. Kids club was a bit of a disappointment as it seems to be for kids around 5 years old our friends children are 8 and 10.
The beach is great for walking but if you want to swim go to your left as you walk onto the beach and walk around the point there is a very nice lagoon just there and better for swimming and snorkelling near the reef.
At the restaurant wait until it is open for half a hour then go upstairs selection of food is just as good and it is a bit quieter than downstairs and easier access to the food.
Staff were very friendly and helpful, rooms cleaned everyday but remember and switch on the light for them to clean your room it is a switch at the door, we missed that on our first day.
Look for the Sun chairs in the shallow pools, when its hot is great to just dip your feet in the water to cool down.

Room Tip: Go for the bungalows if you can afford it you may end up in a room within the main building which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PontesHoteiseResorts, Gerente geral at Summerville Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Mr. Victor,
We appreciate your choice to stay at Summerville Beach Resort and for sharing with other travelers your impressions about our resort.
We are happy to learn that your stay was pleasant and we surprise you with our service, pool and food.
We hope to welcome you again soon.

Regards,
Dezan Rodrigo Cunha
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,244
    751
    222
    51
    31
See reviews for
1,418
350
23
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Last october, we got an opportunity to spend some award miles and decided to visit Porto de Galinhas. After browsing to choose one hotel: Summerville was the choice. We managed to get a fair fare, and were able to spend 4 nights.(If you book in advance maybe you can get a good deal). The resort is huge, located in Muro Alto Beach, a very beautiful beach( less crowded than Porto de Galinhas beach).Nice and clean pools. It has a family environment. Food bellow average. And I think the hotel has seen its days... Outadated rooms, quite noisy, lacking in confort. It only outstands because of the staff. The destination: Porto de Galinhas is five stars,once there you may visit other beautiful sites of Pernambuco's coast. When returning will definetely try another place to stay

Room Tip: Try to stay in the bangalows, not in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robteix2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuitjenhorn
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The resort is beautiful and very clean. Happy and nice people who always help you. Great big and clean pool also for small children.
Nice kidsclub and entertainmaint for everyone!
The most wonderful thing was the FREE Doctor, medical help and medicine 24 hours a day which the hotel pays for you!
Every day live music.
Thank you Summerville and especially BRUNO!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wmaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denkendorf, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We paid around 350€ per night for a standard room. This should be the final of our 7week trip through Brasil, so we decided to spend more money and book a really nice hotel for the last 5days of our vacation. But we soon find out that it is not worth the money. The only good thing of the hotel is the nice pool. The water is clean and there is enough space for everybody. But the beach is not usable. The food is not what we expected for a 4*+hotel. We had better food in a 3* hotel in hotel that cost a forth of the price. No special dinner. Only cheap and standard food. Long lane in front of the buffet. The tables are not cleaned after one guest finished the meal. The personal looks very stressed, and even the other guests does not look very amused. We have full pension, but you have to pay for every extra. There is a shuttle service to Porto de Galinhas, but they charge 10R$ per person. Same we paid for the taxi. A little bottle of water(330ml) at the minibar cost 5R$ and so on. We always hear the TV of the rooms next to us that avoids us to sleep.
The personal don't speak English and I did not feel very welcome as non Brasilian.

The hotel is in my eyes a 3,5 *Hotel, and should not cost more than 150€ (450R$) per night.
We expected more and it is painful to see what you get and what your paid. Maybe it is better outside the main season. But we will not test it again. It is a lesson for us not always trust the good ratings.

Don't expect to much when you book this hotel. It is too expensive.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michito79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
90 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

‎2 star rooms, with 4 star common areas.‎

Don’t let the lovely photos of the common areas fool you, the fact that you have a nice swimming ‎pool, is not going to help you when you sweat through the night in a mouldy smelling room, with poor ‎air conditioning and a horrible bed, you can’t even dream of the pool, you just wait for the night to ‎pass by.‎

This hotel sucks from beginning to end, it’s huge, with lots of families, children and it’s a circus like ‎affair, very noisy, common, food uneven, can be trashy and can be very good, you never know what ‎you gonna get.‎

After a sleepless night, we got switched over to a suite, which is the second top room in the Hotel and ‎it does not reach the most basic room in the awesome Nannai Hotel, which is literally next door, and ‎we paid the exact same price. You might not always be lucky to get such an awesome price in the ‎Nannai, but it’s sure worth checking out.‎

The Rooms in the Summerville are old, neglected and in urgent need of refurbishment. The Hotel in ‎general is understaffed permanently and unsurprisingly the staff that are there are disgruntled. When ‎we left a member of staff asked if we enjoyed our stay, to which we honestly replied NO, he said, ‎well, I don’t like it here either, I just work here, nuff said.‎

You pay at least $400 per night for an 80’s relic, there is obviously no shame and no end to greed. We ‎popped in the next door neighbour, the Nannai Hotel and never left, the best move we did in a long ‎time. Welcome to the Nannai Hotel, were awesome meets unbelievable, do yourself a favour, check ‎out this awesome hotel, even if you have to pay a little extra, worth every single penny!! ‎

Room Tip: If you have to stay in this Hotel, don't go for anything less than a suite, the standard rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hidden01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
recife
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Amazing resort,food is incredible and staff very friendly.I loved the way i was treated.Food is delicious!Pool are very clean and hotel has a great care child program.I will never forget this experience!I wanna be back soon and i really recommend this resort to family and friends

Incrivel resort,a comida eh incrivel os funcionarios muito bacana.Amei como fui tratada.A comida eh deliciosa.Piscinas sao limpas e o hotel tem uma reacreação boa, voltada para as crianças.Nunca esquecerei essa experiencia.Recomendo para familia e amigos,quero voltar de novo em breve!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 717pri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Staff gives you a nice treatment. Hotel pool is excellent but hotel asks for some maintenance and renovation. Food is good but could have more variation. Good child care. Don´t miss the nautical facilities outside the hotel area.

Room Tip: Nice relaxing in front of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReiBatista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto de Galinhas
2.2 mi away
Hotel Viva Porto de Galinhas
Hotel Viva Porto de Galinhas
#11 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,995 reviews
2.4 mi away
Village Porto de Galinhas
Village Porto de Galinhas
#9 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,811 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Solar Porto de Galinhas
Hotel Solar Porto de Galinhas
#7 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Prodigy Beach Resort Marupiara
Prodigy Beach Resort Marupiara
#15 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kembali Hotel
Kembali Hotel
#1 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
9.0 mi away
Serrambi Resort
Serrambi Resort
#11 of 31 in Ipojuca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerville Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerville Beach Resort

Property: Summerville Beach Resort
Address: Praia de Muro Alto s/n | Gleba 6A, Lote C, Porto de Galinhas, Ipojuca, State of Pernambuco 55590-000, Brazil (Formerly Grand Mercure Summerville Resort)
Region: Brazil > State of Pernambuco > Ipojuca > Porto de Galinhas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#2 Business Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#5 Romantic Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#9 Family Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Summerville Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most famous beaches of the Brazilian Northeast, the Summerville Beach Resort occupies a privileged green area of 70 thousand square meters in Muro Alto Beach, Porto de Galinhas in Ipojuca-PE. It is perfectly integrated into a landscape composed of coconut trees, rainforest, mangroves, and oceanfront, a huge natural pool formed by reefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Summerville Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerville Beach Hotel Porto De Galinhas
Summerville Beach Resort Porto De Galinhas, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing