We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Summerville Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Porto de Galinhas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Resort”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Every American I have taken here loves the resort. The pool and the restaurant are the favorites.
The pool is about a quarter of a mile long, starting from reception and going almost to the ocean. It has a waterfall bar in the middle. The aquarium at the reception was also very impressive. The restaurant had themed meals every night (Italian, French, Portuguese) and was definitely a 5 star meal. Breakfast are the best I have ever seen, with cooked to order eggs and pancakes and fruit juices and an enormous buffet.

Room Tip: Too me, the best rooms are the luxo suites, that are located on the ground floor near the pool. So...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,329
    782
    229
    54
    33
See reviews for
1,512
361
24
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Punta del Este, Uruguay
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Amazing place, fun for your whole family. If you're seeking for a romantic dinner, you must make reservations to the privet restaurant.
The pool is great and there is activity during all day, you will beber stay put!
Don't forget to book your scuba diving with the Agua viva school, Roberto and Claudia will guide you through places that you will never forget.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Luis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camaiore, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We spent 9 wonderful days at SummerVille, we arrived a few days after New Year. Did not know what to expect. Even though we had problems making ourselves understood, as we spoke only English and Italian, we did everyhting we wanted to, without problems and everyone was great.
We even had to use the medical facilities, as our eldest son hurt his foot. The medical staff were GREAT, so helpful and very professional. There was Always a great choice of food. The pools were great and excellent for kids Young and old. We had a suite which was great for the family. The only thing that did not live up to all the other services was the furniture, but personally, this did not make or break the Holiday. I would come back over and over again. The staff were great, all around.

Room Tip: We stayed on a ground floor Suite, fantastic for families with kids that want to run out of the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sophia1770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Spent a week with my wife and 2 daughters at the hotel. Overall, it was a very good stay and the resort is very nice. The pool is great and the food is also pretty good, above of what I've seen in other resorts. However, it would be great and much better if the hotel were All Inclusive instead of the full pension system (all meals included and beverages provided only during meals). One thing hard to understand is the lack of free drinking water provided outside meals time, obliging guests to pay for the water, which isn't nice. In my opinion, drinking water should be always provided for free, especially in a Beach Resort. How hard can it be to install some water fountains?

The hotel is great for kids. The monitors are very nice and my daughters loved the time they spent in the kids club.

Rooms are of a good size, but not luxurious at all, as you would expect from a 5 star hotel. Unfortunately, hotels in Brazil don't follow the same star rating quality we see in US and European hotels, and many times don't pay much attention to the comfort of the bed and pillows . This is obviously the case of Summerville, with bed and pillows just ok and average, comparable to what would be found at a 2 star hotel in the US.

The staff is very nice and we were well treated by all people we had contact with. Special recognitions to Erick (night maitre) and Valterli (Night enterteiner).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DRH7105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We arrived late at night with our friends and their kids, they had a bungalow and we were booked into one of the standard rooms. We were upgraded into the bungalow next to our friends which was great and gave us more room. Pool was large and ran through the middle of the resort to the beach, pool bar and different activities around the pool too. Kids club was a bit of a disappointment as it seems to be for kids around 5 years old our friends children are 8 and 10.
The beach is great for walking but if you want to swim go to your left as you walk onto the beach and walk around the point there is a very nice lagoon just there and better for swimming and snorkelling near the reef.
At the restaurant wait until it is open for half a hour then go upstairs selection of food is just as good and it is a bit quieter than downstairs and easier access to the food.
Staff were very friendly and helpful, rooms cleaned everyday but remember and switch on the light for them to clean your room it is a switch at the door, we missed that on our first day.
Look for the Sun chairs in the shallow pools, when its hot is great to just dip your feet in the water to cool down.

Room Tip: Go for the bungalows if you can afford it you may end up in a room within the main building which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PontesHoteiseResorts, Gerente geral at Summerville Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Mr. Victor,
We appreciate your choice to stay at Summerville Beach Resort and for sharing with other travelers your impressions about our resort.
We are happy to learn that your stay was pleasant and we surprise you with our service, pool and food.
We hope to welcome you again soon.

Regards,
Dezan Rodrigo Cunha
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florianopolis, SC
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Last october, we got an opportunity to spend some award miles and decided to visit Porto de Galinhas. After browsing to choose one hotel: Summerville was the choice. We managed to get a fair fare, and were able to spend 4 nights.(If you book in advance maybe you can get a good deal). The resort is huge, located in Muro Alto Beach, a very beautiful beach( less crowded than Porto de Galinhas beach).Nice and clean pools. It has a family environment. Food bellow average. And I think the hotel has seen its days... Outadated rooms, quite noisy, lacking in confort. It only outstands because of the staff. The destination: Porto de Galinhas is five stars,once there you may visit other beautiful sites of Pernambuco's coast. When returning will definetely try another place to stay

Room Tip: Try to stay in the bangalows, not in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robteix2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuitjenhorn
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The resort is beautiful and very clean. Happy and nice people who always help you. Great big and clean pool also for small children.
Nice kidsclub and entertainmaint for everyone!
The most wonderful thing was the FREE Doctor, medical help and medicine 24 hours a day which the hotel pays for you!
Every day live music.
Thank you Summerville and especially BRUNO!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wmaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto de Galinhas hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Viva Porto de Galinhas
Hotel Viva Porto de Galinhas
#10 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
2,131 reviews
2.4 mi away
Village Porto de Galinhas
Village Porto de Galinhas
#9 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
2,892 reviews
2.7 mi away
Prodigy Beach Resort Marupiara
Prodigy Beach Resort Marupiara
#14 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Solar Porto de Galinhas
Hotel Solar Porto de Galinhas
#6 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
2,179 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kembali Hotel
Kembali Hotel
#1 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
660 reviews
3.0 mi away
Enotel Acqua Club - Porto de Galinhas
Enotel Acqua Club - Porto de Gal...
#18 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
3,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerville Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerville Beach Resort

Property: Summerville Beach Resort
Address: Praia de Muro Alto s/n | Gleba 6A, Lote C, Porto de Galinhas, Ipojuca, State of Pernambuco 55590-000, Brazil (Formerly Grand Mercure Summerville Resort)
Region: Brazil > State of Pernambuco > Ipojuca > Porto de Galinhas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#2 Business Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#5 Romantic Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#9 Family Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Summerville Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most famous beaches of the Brazilian Northeast, the Summerville Beach Resort occupies a privileged green area of 70 thousand square meters in Muro Alto Beach, Porto de Galinhas in Ipojuca-PE. It is perfectly integrated into a landscape composed of coconut trees, rainforest, mangroves, and oceanfront, a huge natural pool formed by reefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Summerville Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerville Beach Hotel Porto De Galinhas
Summerville Beach Resort Porto De Galinhas, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing