We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Untapped potential; great beach location”
Review of Hotel Armacao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Armacao
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Porto de Galinhas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I stayed here for 6 nights during the World Cup. A previous reviewer said it had the potential to be great, which I wholeheartedly agree with. This is not a "resort" in the American or Asian style, but it has some really positive features.

Pros:
- Great beach location (reminds me of West Maui in some ways), though surf can be rough
- Service during our stay was fantastic. Staff was very helpful and aimed to please. Yes, English is a challenge here. We arrived a couple of days before the onslaught of fans, but when they were full, they brought in extra English speaking staff to help. However, we had no trouble getting our message across to the staff when necessary (thanks, Google!)
- Lots of entertainment at the hotel - music by the beach pool, live music at night by courtyard pool, game watching, etc. (this could be due to World Cup)
- Three pools
- Beach chairs and umbrellas, complimentary. Plus, beach waiters ready to bring you caiparinhas and munchies. :-)
- Food at beach restaurant was pretty good
- 5 Reales to take quick taxi ride to the village

Cons
- Rooms are extremely basic - this is where they really fall short, in my opinion
- A/C unit did not work the first night, but they relocated us the next day
- Breakfast buffet - not great, and they had a hard time getting enough food out for a large crowd
- Language (see above)

If you don't mind just a room with a bed, and are willing to try something different, I would give it a shot!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TxT97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel_armacao, Gerente at Hotel Armacao, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Thank you for your evaluation and for taking so much time on the pros and cons. This really helps us improve our services and understand where we need to work harder.
In fact, the World Cup was a brand new situation for us. This many tourists, all kinds of languages being spoken, a very specific kind of guest... It was all too new. But I'm glad we did a good job and you were pleased with almost everything.
Hope you'll be able to come back in a "normal" period.
Best regards and thank you again for your time.
Sabrina Pellitteri - Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 2,130 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

Just finishing a stay at this "resort". It ia not a resort, the beach in front is unfit for swimming and the food is below average. But at this time of the year the prices are for 5 star.

Stay away if you do not want a swimming pool where you cannot swim because it is so full, sit at very close distance to your fellow victims of the hotel and enjoy the noise of your neighburs.

The only way to survive is excursions that are overprised. Do not go with an organized tour if you do not have a lot of patience and take a taxi for the day or a buggy. Than you can enjoy the other beaches.

Stayed: December 2013
4  Thank RolfErik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

This place has the potential to be a great resort. It's oceanfront, small villas with decent size rooms and friendly staff. It falls short because of lack of English speakers (I couldn't order wine nor ask the front desk for hotel info on certain occasions), our room smells of sewage one night (unexplained), conferences play loud music until 10pm almost every night (not good when they party when I try to relax) and there is no courtesy shuttle downtown (had to pay R10 each time we go downtown, which ours a three min car ride). I want to love this place, but it's just not there.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CL_011610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Comfortable place with outside pool placed in a very proper place, then you can drink a nice caipirinha inside the pool, admiring the beach view. Kids cub right next to the pool is also a very useful idea. Affordable price and regular service.

Room Tip: As close as possible from restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

It isn't a place to rate it's rooms or food, which are regular. The location, the pools and especially the beach pool and its around places makes it a great place for a quite holiday. Unfortunately, I came for a company convention but even so, I enjoyed it tremendously. Highly recommended!!

Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank SabaOmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

I stayed here for a conference, Wonderful location on the beach, very nice pools, friendly staff. The room I had was surprisingly dark, just one small window under a large overhang, no patio or balcony. Food was good in the buffets, but rather than go into the dinner (40 reals) I'd recommend ordering from the bar and sitting out by the pool, or a simple sandwich from room service (if you have a nicer room than I had). I was in #96, and the other slight downside was that the evening entertainment is pretty loud in that room, and it runs most nights from 8-10 pm, and people stay on in the courtyard until after the bar closes at 11. So if you want quiet that wouldn't be the room, or the bldg, for you. But I enjoyed it. It's about 2 km into town, taxis are 10 reals each way, and lots of nice restaurants there. Not much to see or do at the resort except the beach and the pools, so plan to go into town for a bit more excitement. But, overall, a great place to relax.

Room Tip: ask for a room farther away from the pool/bar/restaurant if you want it a little quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracy98110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We went to Porto de Galinhas for Easter holiday. We arrived late night and there was no parking space near to the front door. Hotel doesn't have parking. You have to park on the street.
The staff is very friendly and always try to help you.
The air conditioner in our room was leaking and making a loud noise. We called the reception and in the same afternoon they fixed it.
Hotel, room and bathroom are very clean.
There were a special agenda of activities for the holiday.
Hotel is located about 30 minutes walking (in the beach) until the village. By car it is only about 5 minutes. I think it is the closest good hotel to the village.
There are 3 pools in the hotel. So, you always find a place and a chair available.
The beach in front of the hotel is clean but the sea is agitated.

Conclusion: the hotel was a good surprise considering the rates we paid during holidays.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andre_Brasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto de Galinhas hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Viva Porto de Galinhas
Hotel Viva Porto de Galinhas
#9 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
2,302 reviews
1.3 mi away
Village Porto de Galinhas
Village Porto de Galinhas
#10 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
2,940 reviews
0.6 mi away
Porto de Galinhas Praia Hotel
Porto de Galinhas Praia Hotel
#13 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Solar Porto de Galinhas
Hotel Solar Porto de Galinhas
#6 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
2,288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kembali Hotel
Kembali Hotel
#1 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
708 reviews
1.0 mi away
Prodigy Beach Resort Marupiara
Prodigy Beach Resort Marupiara
#14 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Armacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Armacao

Address: Loteamento Merepe II, Quadra G1 - Lote 1A, Porto de Galinhas, Ipojuca, State of Pernambuco 55590-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Pernambuco > Ipojuca > Porto de Galinhas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#6 Family Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#8 Romantic Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
Price Range: £104 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Armacao 3.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the seaside of Porto de Galinhas, Hotel Armacao has 3 swimming pools, 2 restaurants, a pool bar and a beach bar.2 km away from the Fishermen's Village, where the stores, restaurants and the famous Natural Swimming Pools are located. For your commodity, we offer free wifi.Wide rooms with air conditioning, minibar, safe box and cable flat TV. Some have a private balcony with a hammock.At Hotel Armacao you will find several service options and activities. Our recreational staff provides family fun with arts class, beach games and dance competitions. At the Kids Club, a special place for the children with toys, games and books. Adults can enjoy a seaside massage gazebo, a clay tennis court and a fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Armacao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armacao Hotel Porto De Galinhas
Hotel Armacao Porto De Galinhas, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing