We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oct 2011 review - positive one :-)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pousada Porto Verde
Ranked #13 of 106 Porto de Galinhas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Haifa, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Oct 2011 review - positive one :-)”
Reviewed 30 October 2011

we just got back after spending 6 nights in this great place. location is great, very clean and the room is comfirtable. the staff is very nice and helpful.
negotiate the price and be sure to get at least 10% discount when paying cash. (traveled with my wife)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kafkafon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    96
    30
    3
    1
See reviews for
60
116
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
875 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 848 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2011

The journey to the pousada took an hour & a half on the air conditioned bus from Recife Airport. All for a great value 10 reais. Even though we arrived early, Ana our hostess, kindly arranged for our room to be cleaned and we in and using all the facilities before midday. This included a large swimming pool with nice shady areas and a waterfall which gave me a great massage. Rooms were very clean & workable although the mattress had seen better days. Air conditioner & central fan perfect for offsetting the heat of the night. Breakfast, by normal pousada standards was a little disappointing. No meats, no hot sandwiches, not enough sweet items - but they did cook eggs to order. Note that there are around 10 cats roaming free on the property - with more kittens on the way. Not a great nuisance but if you don't like cats don't go.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elsiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

Pros:
Beautiful building, tastefully decorated, everything is well thought out
AMAZING breakfast
Very clean
Slept great every night
Nice pool with waterfall
Pretty centrally located
Can use the hotel shower and property if you want to check out but leave later in the day
Night guard
Fantastic balconies for larger rooms (135R$/night) and nice sitting areas for lower rooms (95R$/night)

Cons:
Too many animals--probably 10-15 cats on the property, and 5-6 dogs caged up in the back
Owner's relatives(?) lounging around can feel strange
Strong smells wafting in from outside
Weird alley area at entrance
Lots of mosquitoes--property has lots of foliage, stone wells of water, etc. and feels damp

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank baexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, Brasil
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2008

Me and my husband stayed at Porto Verde some years ago and we just can't forget it. It was a wonderfull stay!!! Nice place, nice typical regional breakfast. Beautifull decor and rooms perfectly clean every day. My room was small but very pleasant and clean.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2004, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ana_DeMartine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, MA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2007

I stayed at Pousada Porto Verde with my husband and another couple for 4 nights.

The pousada is a two-story building arranged around a swimming pool and has an outdoor seating and dining area. Each guestroom has a hammock on a small personal porch. The decor of the property is very cute -- lots of bright colors and colorful decorative crafts from around the Northeast of Brazil. I thought the whole place was quite charming.

Our room was pretty small and fairly basic, but it included a TV, AC unit, and mini-fridge.

We paid R$95/night (about US$45).

The breakfast was wonderful, although maybe not unusual for your typical pousada (I don't know). Lots of papaya, watermelon, and pineapple. There were freshly baked breads and sweets. The staff would cook you up some fried cheese and eggs if you'd like. The coffee was good and plentiful.

The staff did not speak any English, but they were very friendly.

The swimming pool had a waterfall pouring into it which was a nice touch.

There were many mosquitos at night and even in the morning. This was everywhere in town though, so definitely not the pousada's fault.

There were many cats on the property and, something I found to be slightly creepy, there were a lot of dogs penned in the back of the property. Perhaps as many as 25 of them. They would all bark when someone moved their car from the parking lot. The dogs did not look like they were ever let out of their cages.

Here is an online link to some information about the pousada:

http://www.packtours.com.br/dest/pernambuco/portodegalinhas/htl/portoverde/index.htm

  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmd2007Cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto de Galinhas hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Aconchego Porto de Galinhas
Hotel Aconchego Porto de Galinha...
#19 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
351 reviews
1.9 mi away
Xales de Maracaipe Pousada
Xales de Maracaipe Pousada
#5 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
512 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pousada Iande
Pousada Iande
#4 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pousada das Galinhas
Pousada das Galinhas
#6 of 106 in Porto de Galinhas
594 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pousada Casamar
Pousada Casamar
#9 of 106 in Porto de Galinhas
392 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pousada Portomares
Pousada Portomares
#3 of 106 in Porto de Galinhas
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Porto Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Porto Verde

Property: Pousada Porto Verde
Address: Loteamento Recanto Porto de Galinhas - Praca 1 - Lote J, Porto de Galinhas, Ipojuca, State of Pernambuco, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Pernambuco > Ipojuca > Porto de Galinhas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Porto de Galinhas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pousada Porto Verde 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 15 room hotel is close to the village and the natural swimming pools in Porto de Galinhas. It is a simple but nice place to stay, providing with a small garden, swimming pool and a breakfast restaurant. All rooms (1-2-3-4 bed) offer TV, air conditioning, mini-bar, and hammock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Pousada Porto Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Porto Verde Porto De Galinhas, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing