We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice Place, Staff Not professional” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vila Gale Eco Resort de Angra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vila Gale Eco Resort de Angra
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Angra Dos Reis
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Jose dos Campos
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Place, Staff Not professional”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Me and my family (2 kids, 4 and 6 years old) had a great time. The place is beautiful, the beach is nice and calm, appropriated for children. The facilities need some renovation, mainly the games room. In fact, when we was there, they were renovating the south side. The staff was ok but need more training.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LCSOUZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Eco Resort de Angra, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Customer,
We thank you very much for having taken the time to write your comments about your recent stay at the Vila Gale Eco Resort do Angra.
It is very gratifying to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and were pleased with the services you received. We always try to provide a special service for our guests, and are particularly glad to learn when our efforts are appreciated.
We hope it will not be too long before we have the opportunity of welcoming you back at the Vila Galé Angra or any other Vila Gale Hotel at Brasil or Portugal.

Yours sincerely,
João Matos
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,010
    1,090
    477
    175
    108
See reviews for
1,776
517
8
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aveiro, Portugal
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

We stayed there for one weekend. Even though it is located in a remote location, it was quite easy to find because it has a well thought of driving instructions system, with signs along the way. The location is amazing, in between two hills, in a nice and quiet bay. the view is great, very green.
The hotel is good, but needs a little tender love and care. the decor is not very good, the rooms smell musty, but I guess that's something you get for having tropical weather.
the beds are really big, but the bed lining doesn't fit the bed. I totally recommend the hotel invests in a "facial lift" and in some updating. using a interior decor professional would not be a bad idea.
The food is quite good, and there's plenty of. It has wine (a rare thing in Brazil), included in price. The "a la carte" dinner was very good.
the staff is nice and helpful.
The spa is OK and not expensive. The wet sauna needs a little updating.
The fitness center is good.
At night, there is live music, bars, drinks, food.
Overall, I think it's good value for money.

Room Tip: rooms on the outer side are quieter (with view to the hills)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank isabel_pereira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Eco Resort de Angra, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Dear Isabel Pereira,
We thank you very much for having taken the time to write such a sincere and detailed commentary about your stay last August at the Vila Gale Angra.
It is indeed rewarding to receive compliments like yours as not many customers care to express their satisfaction about the services they received.
We would be happy if you give us another opportunity to be at your disposal in the near future.
Part of the hotel room renovation has been completed and the hotel is becoming more charming.
Again our appreciation for your genuine comments and please do not hesitate to contact my Office if you decide to come back to our resort.
Yours sincerely
João Matos
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago,
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

I spent a week at this resort for a work convention. The surrounding are beautiful and the beach is amazing. Food is good and has enough variety for a week. A part from that the rooms are a bit ran down and you can smell humidity as you walk in. The shower leaks so all the bathroom floor is wet so you can't be bear footed. The floor is also dirty and it seems its not cleaned often. Lighting in the room is insufficient and some lamps don't work. I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msalgado73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Eco Resort de Angra, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Customer,
We thank you very much for having taken the time to write your comments about your recent stay at the Vila Gale Eco Resort do Angra.
The hotel entire team works very hard day after day to exceed our guest's expectations. Unfortunately some time we do not manage to provide the services that our guests wait for.
You may be assured that we have not overseen your comments and we will take measures so that incidents like the ones you commented do not happen again.
We sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to visit any of our hotels either in Brasil or Portugal
Yours sincerely
João Matos
Operacional Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sao paulo, brazil
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Located in a wonderful natural setting, Hotel Vila Galé has everything to be a great destination, but poor management make it a less than ideal choice. Our room had no light bulbs in the bedside lamps, a barefoot walk from the bathroom to the bed left one's feet black from the very dirty floor, lounge chairs on the beach were not clean, overall maintenance levels are simply below standard and incompatible with the price charged.

Breakfast is ok, lunch and dinner are only reasonable.

Hotel staff was courteous and friendly. Beach is perfect for kids.

Unfortunately, a stay Vila Gale clearly shows it has seen better days.

Room Tip: Ground level floors have larger balconies and quicker access to pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lostart_brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Eco Resort de Angra, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear Customer,
We thank you very much for having taken the time to write your comments about your recent stay at the Vila Gale Eco Resort do Angra.
The hotel entire team works very hard day after day to exceed our guest's expectations. Unfortunately some time we do not manage to provide the services that our guests wait for.
You may be assured that we have not overseen your comments and we will take measures so that incidents like the ones you commented do not happen again.
We sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to visit any of our hotels either in Brasil or Portugal
Yours sincerely

João Matos
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

I have been at Vila Galé Angra Resort for 5 days and the stay was very nice. The food has high quality and the menu is also good. I recomend if you want to have some relaxing days with your family. Nice place for children.

Room Tip: Close to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klaus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Eco Resort de Angra, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
Dear Mr. Klaus,
We thank you very much for having taken the time to write your comments about your recent stay at the Vila Gale Eco Resort do Angra.
It is very gratifying to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and were pleased with the services you received. We always try to provide a special service for our guests, and are particularly glad to learn when our efforts are appreciated.
We hope it will not be too long before we have the opportunity of welcoming you back at the Vila Galé Angra or any other Vila Gale Hotel at Brasil or Portugal.

Yours sincerely

The management

João Matos
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

We Traveled to Rio for the Christmas Holidays spending the first half of our trip in the city of Rio and our last half including Christmas in Angra at Vila Gale Eco Resort . This hotel is perfectly suited for small children and families. It includes a children's water park and kids club. The food is absolutely amazing. For Christmas Eve dinner there was a whole roasted pig! The private beach has a gentle slope perfect for swimming with small children. The rooms are a little dated, but clean and well appointed. We will definitely be returning in the future.

Room Tip: If traveling through Rio arrange transfer through hotel as their drivers are familiar with location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lenaise N Rasha... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Eco Resort de Angra, responded to this review, 16 February 2013
Dear Mr. Lenaise,
We thank you very much for having taken the time to write your comments about your recent stay at the Vila Gale Eco Resort do Angra.
It is very gratifying to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and were pleased with the services you received. We always try to provide a special service for our guests, and are particularly glad to learn when our efforts are appreciated.
We hope it will not be too long before we have the opportunity of welcoming you back at the Vila Galé Angra or any other Vila Gale Hotel at Brasil or Portugal.

Yours sincerely

The management
Simão Teixeira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

The hotel is falling apart, the conservation is terrible, the gardens have weed everywhere, it needs a renovation ASAP. The bedrooms and common areas are dirty. There is mold and rust everywhere in the bedroom. The service isn't good and it can't be good as the employees are all tired of the double or triple shifts as we've been told. We've been asked by the manager to save water as the city had a problem with it, but everywhere you look in the hotel there's a leaky faucet, come on take care of your house first. The baby kitchen doesn't have windows, there is a lot of rusted furniture in there and it smells like moisture. Does that feel like a place where you wanna take care of your baby bottles? Despite all that the location is great, the beach is awesome, if it goes through a heavy renovation and an improvement in the service it shoud be nice.

Room Tip: Ask to be near the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ligzrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Eco Resort de Angra, responded to this review, 30 December 2012
Dear Customer,
We thank you very much for having taken the time to write your comments about your recent stay at the Vila Gale Eco Resort do Angra.
The hotel entire team works very hard day after day to exceed our guest's expectations. Unfortunately some time we do not manage to provide the services that our guests wait for.
You may be assured that we have not overseen your comments and we will take measures so that incidents like the ones you commented do not happen again.
We sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to visit any of our hotels either in Brasil or Portugal
Yours sincerely
Simão Teixeira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Angra Dos Reis
Praia do Jardim
Golden Tulip Angra dos Reis
Golden Tulip Angra dos Reis
#1 of 13 in Angra Dos Reis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Promenade Angra dos Reis
#2 of 13 in Angra Dos Reis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
Samba Angra dos Reis
#7 of 13 in Angra Dos Reis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Portogalo Suite Hotel
#12 of 13 in Angra Dos Reis
3.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Portobello Resort & Safari
#2 of 5 in Mangaratiba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Hotel Porto Real
#3 of 5 in Mangaratiba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Eco Resort de Angra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Eco Resort de Angra

Property: Vila Gale Eco Resort de Angra
Address: Estrada Vereador Benedito Adelino, 8413 - Loja 7, Angra Dos Reis, State of Rio de Janeiro 23909-901, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Angra Dos Reis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Angra Dos Reis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Angra Dos Reis
#3 Family Hotel in Angra Dos Reis
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Angra Dos Reis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Eco Resort de Angra 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Angra dos Reis, 13 km away from the city centre and 150 km from Rio de Janeiro, this hotel was built from the old Brazilian hacienda Tangua, while still preserving some of its original buildings and royal palm trees. Surrounded by a unique natural landscape, this hotel has a total of 319 rooms, from which 11 suites and 1 presidential suite. Guest may expect wheelchair access ways, 24-hour reception desk with information counter and currency exchange, luggage room and baby changing room, gaming room, infirmary several shops and a beauty salon. Children are welcome to use the playground and visit the Kid's Club. The hotel has 5 restaurants and 6 bars where you may taste the best of Brazil's dished and drinks. The amazing rooms are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, LCD TV with Cable, private balcony, Wi-Fi Connection and safe (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. In the hotel outdoors we can find swimming pool for adults and children, Jacuzzi, gardens. For those that are looking for sports the hotel offers multipurpose sports field and tennis courts. For the one that are searching for relaxation check out the Satsanga Spa, a special place where you can find massages and beauty treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Vila Gale Eco Resort de Angra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Eco Resort De Angra Angra Dos Reis, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing