We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average location and hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Promenade Angra dos Reis
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Angra Dos Reis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
133 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Average location and hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Certainly not the best place in Angra dos Reis. Hotel seems outdated quite expensive for services and facilities rendered to clients. Only two good points for this location are the breakfast quality and cleanliness of romos and areas, I must also add that children activities seemed appropiate but nothing out of the box. Cost/benefit not worthy. Staff is gentle and average. There is no beach at all and water sports offering is very expensive. I`ve been at, at least, five Melia hotels around the world and this one was the less impressive. Stay at this hotel only if room price is far cheaper than other similar hotels & resorts around otherwise dont go and if you still wish to book a room at this place, go with low expectations so not to become disappointed after one day stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corrysp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luiz S, Gerente geral at Promenade Angra dos Reis, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Mr. corrysp, thank you for choosing Meliá Angra Marina & Convention Resort as your hotel during your stay in Angra dos Reis. We Appreciate your kindness in registering your comments regarding your last stay with us and take the opportunity to say that we were disappointed to learn that we did not reach your expectations. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the Meliá Angra Marina & Convention Resort so you can reevaluate our hotel. Sincerely, Luiz Sanches - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    493
    277
    85
    33
See reviews for
738
372
7
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

This hotel beggars bieleif, i have been here for 10 days and the service is appalling, i must add before i go on that the rooms and the staff who maintain them are second to none, the management and staff in the rest of the complex are worse than i have seen in Brazil, it is never ending problems you would expect in a cheap motel, with access to the rooms a nightmare, we paid almost £5000 to stay here and its not worth even half of that for all inclusive and i stay in hotels all over the world every month, the 2 stars are for the rooms, the food is almost the same every day with rubber chicken and stewed beef along with the usual rice and pasta with terrible sauces to splurge over it, , the site says it has 3 bars and 3 restaraunts, , utter rubbish, it has one inside bar where most of the staff are useless and a pool bar not much better, and only one restaraunt with the same old rubbish daily, internet is 5 reals per hour , another rip off for all inclusive, many drinks are not allowed on all inclusive also, after 11pm its room service only and you pay for the drinks whether coffee or alcohol, no coffee or tea making facilities in the rooms either, they have just removed the coffee machines so we cannot have coffee before the only restaraunt opens and even then the mass boiled coffee is terrible compared to the bean to cup machines, all said its a horrible resort with bad service and worse food, for £5000 for 2 weeks its a sick joke, please do not waste your money, i can think of a hundred places with excellent service and food for half of this almost and one of them is in the Maldives or even Ko Samui in Thailand and Capetown too, DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY ITS JUST NOT WORTH IT !!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Graham k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luiz S, Gerente geral at Promenade Angra dos Reis, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Mr. Graham K,
We were disappointed to know that you not had a good stay at our hotel and we apologize for the misunderstanding. The Meliá Angra Marina & Convention Resort has a restaurant and two options of bars: The Lobby Bar and The Pool Bar described on our site. Thank you for your comments which certainly help us improve and enhance our services. We hope that at the next opportunity you can return and has a new experience and reevaluate our services. Best Regards, Luiz Sanches – General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

- Not the best place in Angra
- service and food regular
- food was served cold sometimes
- seems they don't have enough structure for big amount of people
- lack of different activities for rainy days (indoor pool for example)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlfanoGuieTa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

Angra is not a popular vacation site for world travelers, mostly because, if you've come this far you might as well go to Rio, which is only 2 hours away by car. Husband and I live in Sao Paulo and we chose to visit Melia Angra for two main reasons; to get out of the city and to use our Melia MAS points. So my review has a different perspective than most Americans visiting.

We were pleasantly surprised at the hotel. Facilities were clean, pool and swim-up bar was awesome, and the rooms were nice and air conditioned. This resort was like no other we've seen in Brazil. Seriously. We've traveled to many places throughout Brazil in the past 4 years and we've never seen a hotel this beautiful. We are accustomed to small rooms, bug infested bathrooms, mediocre service, noisy construction and horrible food. Friends, this is typical Brazilian hospitality. Expect it when you travel here. Rio, Amazon, Salvador, etc. We once paid $200 dollars per night at a small, isolated beach hotel (during low season) and they asked us to throw our toilet paper in the trash can because their plumbing couldn't take paper!

No need to compare to other hotels in the world because we all know how extravagant those are. This will not come close to any 4-star in Vegas, New York or Caribbean. But the most important thing to remember about hotels in Brazil is that they are not going to wow you with their food. They love beans and rice and pao de queijo. Everything else is just an extra added bonus. If you are expecting a big breakfast, stay in the USA and go to IHOP. We were very satisfied with the meals and beverages.

If you decide to go to Angra, you'll want to venture out because there isn't a lot to see after visiting the marina. Take a drive to the colonial town of Paraty, do some shopping and find a beach cove to relax. Then spend another day on a boat excursion to Ilha Grande, where you can snorkel and swim at different little islands.

Room Tip: We were in room 340, away from main lobby and nice view of pool and marina. No complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mgaray2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

Nice staff. However, the price you pay for eating beans and rice is to high ! I have been to many All inclusive hotels. This one is a JOKE !!! The rooms are OK. AC works well and the beds are nice. Besides the nice staff ... Again ... Do not consider this place as an All Inclusive Hotel.

Room Tip: They are all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Antonio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luiz S, Gerente geral at Promenade Angra dos Reis, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Dear Mr. Antonio M,
We immensely thank you for having dedicated your time to inform us about your experience in Meliá Angra Marina & Convention Resort. Your comments regarding the all inclusive service are an incentive in seeking constant improvements to offer our guests, for its our main goal to provide ever a pleasant stay. Please accept our most sincere apologies for not getting a completely satisfactory stay and it will be a pleasure for us to have a new opportunity to receive you and demonstrate our best customer care. Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
297 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

We checked in on 2nd Jan and we have not left yet, but my stay deserved a previous review here.

I expected much more from here. Except from the good quality lodging and nice activities for kids, there is nothing else worth, at least for me.

Service needs improviments. A LOT.

CONS

1) There is not enought entertainment for adults. After 23:00, everybody go to bed and that is all. The fun is almost exclusive for kids (and it is GOOD).

2) Food is average to good, but lacks on variety. Many days I had to eat the kids meal (it´s much better at least for me). No juices made from fresh fruits.

3) Thre is no plan B for rainy days, and here, expect rainy days a LOT.

4 ) Telecom infraestructure is ridiculous: first: no 3G on your fone or mobile internet. None work here. They offer free wifi but it is extremey slow, only enought for email and maybe facebook but quite unstable. When it rains, forget internet, telephone, Cable TV. None works. And nothing to do. Nice.

5) Cleaning on common parts is poor. The bathrooms by the pool were disgusting, Had to come to my room to use the bathroom. In the bedrooms the cleaning is prefect.

6). Quality of the drinks is poor. Brazil has many nice wines and they had chosen the worst kind. One cup and I had a nice night with a wonderful headache. The Sparkling wine thank God is good.

7) The pool bar works poorly. We have to leave the pool and go to a line to be served.

8) Short of people. It seems like many of them did not come to work after new year.

9) Fitness center: very poor. Needs more equipment and manteinance. 2 of the running equioment were out of service. Gym classes once a day would do well. (The hidrogymnastic on the pool is just funny, not functional).

10) Have a small beach, a shipdeck and no watre activities?

PROS

1) Bedrooms. Nice, spacious, well furnished and looking new, clean, and comfortable.

2) Kids fun. At least somebody gotta have fun here. My kid left us alone all the time and cried to go back to kids club activities. Highlight: circus classes. Simple but he LOVED.

3) Cheese bread (pão de queijo) and milk pudding (pudim de leite). I had TONS of them. As a brazilian and daughter of a mother born and raised in Minas Gerais (land of cheese bread in Brazil) I can attest these are wonderful.

4) Swimming pool - one of the nicest I have seen.

I have already been to other resorts here in Angra dos Reis (Club Med and Vila Galé) and I can tell, what this one gains in confort and bedrooms, lacks in everything else.

They have a nice place, a nice structure, they need a new plan to make it worth the money paid.

My tip: AVOID at all costs during the rainy season (NOV-FEB), specially in the beginning of January because of the heavy rains. Unless you don´t care staying in the bedroom with no TV or internet.

OK if you are looking for a place to rest and entertain your kids. Will suit perfectly. Teenagers may find it boring.

Really hope they grab the opportunity to change while they can. This resort has a nice potential.

Meanwhile, I will stay quite disappointed and feeling like I threw away too much money for what I got.

Room Tip: AVOID at any cost the apartments close to the main building if you like and afternoon nap, or sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank essameninaviaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luiz S, General Manager at Promenade Angra dos Reis, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Dear Costumer,
We immensely thank you for having dedicated your time to inform us about your experience with Meliá Angra Marina & Convention Resort. Your comments are greatly appreciated and they are an incentive in seeking constant improvements to offer our guests, for its our main goal to provide ever a pleasant and memorable stay.
Unfortunately, during your stay, we had faced a bad weather condition that caused severe damage in the city of Angra dos Reis, reaching all sectors especially with power outage. However, our property is equipped with a generator, which was set at time to maintain the supply of alternative energy to our rooms and public areas, until the situation was remedied in the region.
We truly feel sorry for not being able to exceed your expectations and hope we have soon another opportunity to provide a new experience at Meliá Angra Marina & Convention Resort. Sincerely, Luiz Sanches – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

We´ve spent an 3 day brazilian holiday there and it was pretty worth: All inclusive system with international cuisine with good regular and light options, wine, drinks, large room, good spa and gym facilities (lacking a jacuzzi) and sports area.

As for a resort, I think it should have some improvements, like: their staff traning in providing accurate informartion to guests, sometimes had realized they simply don´t know something as well as who would know, a covered and heated pool would be great in enyoing cold days like our case (3 long rainy days), free internet is very slow (even for newspaper/email reading).

Room Tip: Stay away from apartments near reception and main bar, it could be an awful experience if you dislik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manalex133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Angra Dos Reis hotels
Praia do Jardim
Golden Tulip Angra dos Reis
Golden Tulip Angra dos Reis
#1 of 13 in Angra Dos Reis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Portogalo Suite Hotel
#12 of 13 in Angra Dos Reis
3.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Samba Angra dos Reis
#7 of 13 in Angra Dos Reis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vila Gale Eco Resort de Angra
#3 of 13 in Angra Dos Reis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,927 reviews
Angra dos Reis Boutique Hotel
#1 of 58 in Angra Dos Reis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Pousada Rio Bracuhy
#8 of 58 in Angra Dos Reis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Promenade Angra dos Reis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Promenade Angra dos Reis

Property: Promenade Angra dos Reis
Address: Rodovia Rio Santos (BR-101) km 492 | Rua Angra Azul - Pontal, Angra Dos Reis, State of Rio de Janeiro 23942-315, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Angra Dos Reis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Angra Dos Reis
#2 Romantic Hotel in Angra Dos Reis
#2 Family Hotel in Angra Dos Reis
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Angra Dos Reis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Promenade Angra dos Reis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within the Costa Bella condominium, in the city of Angra dos Reis, one of the most chosen destinations in Rio de Janeiro with amaizing beaches, islands and beautiful landscapes. The Promenade Angra Marina & Convention offers a wide infrastructure with swimming pool, wet bar, restaurant, deck, sports courts, saunas, fitness center, Plus Kids Club and game room to ensure the fun of the whole family. One of the differentials is the marina integrated to the complex, which has more than 300 places in an exclusive space by the pier. The Convention Center is also one of the highlights, a Great Meeting Room up to 300 people and which can be divided into 3 other rooms. Overlooking the woods or pool the hotel offers well equipped and very comfortable rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Promenade Angra dos Reis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Promenade Angra Dos Reis Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing