We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute gem! The 5* reviews are spot on!”
Review of Pousada Santorini

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pousada Santorini
Ranked #2 of 104 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An absolute gem! The 5* reviews are spot on!”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

My friend and I stayed at Pousada Santorini last week, and it was extraordinary. Francesco and the staff were like family - and with a few short days in Buzios, they helped us to see Buzios fully. The pousada itself has the feeling of being at home, and the views are beautiful. The breakfast is lovely, and all stress melts away. With over 20 beaches in Buzios I'd recommend staying for longer than a few days.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suszoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    77
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
120
241
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

I was there two weeks ago and I have to say that the hotel is beyond great! It has a beautiful view, spacious rooms, great breakfast (!!!) and the best part is the staff, including the owners. They were all very nice and helpful and made our stay so pleasurable!

The hotel is 5 minutes from Joao Fernandes beach and from that beach you can take a water taxi and go to other beaches on the coast.

It was not an issue to me, but it might be for someone older or someone without a car for example.. the hotel is on a hill, so if you don't have a car and you don't want to go up the hill all the time, it might be a problem. But being on a hill makes the view breathtaking!

Room Tip: All the rooms have a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carla_Tanaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

One of the highlightsof our holidays in Brazil is to visit Buzios staying at the Santorini Pousada where the accomodation is first class, bed linen, towels etc are likewise. The pool and surrounding area are very clean and the views are tremendous.
The staff are very attentive and the owners are so friendly that nothing is a problem.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend this Pousada to all age groups.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phillip_stjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Pousada Santorini in December and it was our favourite place in Brazil! The staff were so friendly and really made our stay special. It's a bit of a walk up from the beach but well worth it for the views! I'd definately choose to stay here again if in Buzios in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dralm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linkoping, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Me and my wife stayed for a week, and had a lovely time. In general we agree with the previous reviewer, but since we are not Portuguese/Brazilians we might add that there wasn't one day without an English spoken person attending the reception at least for some hours.
We stayed in the Master Suite, which was well worth that extra money. Plenty of space and even a walk-in closet. However, the balcony would have been even nicer with a couple of chairs and a table. Nevertheless, we had a very comfortable swing-hammock to compensate for the lack of balcony furniture.
The view was fantastic, see attached photo. The price for this view is that there are quite steep roads to climb in order to get to and from the Pousada. You need to stand on two fresh legs for the walk to and from Pousada Santorini. On the other hand, taxi is cheap with a fixed price of 15 BRL to and from the center of the village, if Raquel is not available for a lift in her car.
We would be happy to return!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy189864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Santorini Pousada is a amazing place managed by lovely people. The location is uphill, but the owner - dear Raquel - makes sure herself that you will get the sea level by car, even if she has to drive you there! Because of its placement, the view from the balconys and pool is outstanding!!!
The room is very large and comfortable, and also spotless. The breakfast is fresh and shows good variety (juice, coffee, 3 kinds of bread, scrambled eggs prepared just for you, 2 kinds of cakes, fruits, fruit mix, etc). They also have broad cable tv and WiFi in the rooms.
One day, I slept past the breakfast time. So they called me asking If I wished have that meal. I was very embarrassed, but accepted their offer. They kept the buffet, just for me, available 01 hour after the time limit!
They provide all the amenities you could desire, and towels to take to the beach with you.
At tea time, coffee and cake are served.
I miss it very much, and hope I can return there many times.

Room Tip: Room 03 is very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelinaSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn NY
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

My wife and i stayed at this lovely pousada in late January. Buzios was recommended to me by my Brazilian co-workers. Its a nice small town with 25 beaches, but if you are looking at this review you probably would know that. The pousada was recommended to us by someone local from Buzios. I also did my research and happily booked this place. We have no regrets.

The owners and staff communicated with me prior to my arrival. After booking i needed to change the dates and they were very helpful in making the change. The staff and the owner are great, very friendly. Though many of the staff dont speak English we were able to communicate between each other successfully.

The place is nice. We were able to book the master suite. The room is very spacious with a huge walk-in closet. The view is beautiful. They have a hammock in every room on the balcony. That was great as we were able to lay in it and see the ocean. The pool is decent size and we used it a few times. The room is cleaned daily. We like the pousadas personal touch with embroided towels and they also provide bath robes.

They have a good breakfast. Fresh squeezed orange juice and decent variety for B&B. Everything tasted fresh and plentiful. The chef also offers and makes scrambled eggs for you. In the afternoon they offer cake and coffee. Another nice touch. We ordered food of the menu. I like to each and try different things. They dont have a huge menu but the food is good. You will not understand the description of some of the food option, so dont be afraid to ask. What you think it is, might be different because of the local spin on it.

We were only about a 10 min walk to the beach of Joao Fernandes. Its the most popular beach in town. Though to be honest, we spend more time in Joao Fernandinho. Its just another 5 min walk but smaller and doesn't get busy until after 11 am. One thing i can tell you is that people in Brazil love their beach. And by that i mean that all the beaches that i been at in Buzios, we visited 6, all were packed.

The pousada has 9 rooms. During our stay there were anywhere from 5 to 7 other rooms in use. While you see the people during breakfast, there is enough space for everyone. And the place is still quiet and feels like home. Overall, we would recommend this place to a couple that wants to getaway.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bookwithus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
0.5 mi away
Vila da Santa Hotel Boutique & Spa
Vila da Santa Hotel Boutique & S...
#1 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
190 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & Spa
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & S...
#4 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
950 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pousada Experience Joao Fernandes
Hotel Pousada Experience Joao Fe...
#7 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pousada Aguas Claras Buzios
Pousada Aguas Claras Buzios
#5 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
749 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vila D'este
Vila D'este
#6 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
672 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa
#10 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Santorini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Santorini

Property: Pousada Santorini
Address: Rua 9 - Lote 38 | João Fernandes, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#1 Family Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Santorini 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pousada Santorini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Santorini Buzios
Pousada Santorini Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing