We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but my experience was not that great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Serena Hotel Boutique Buzios
Ranked #28 of 101 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Certificate of Excellence
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice but my experience was not that great”
Reviewed 12 July 2012 via mobile

This is an interesting hotel, close to the beach of geriba owned by Rochelle, an argentinien company. We were well received with a complimentary drink and plced in the far corner of the hotel, i guess, because they had discount offers through the internet. I guess the discount was duhe to the fact that the neighbor rooms were being remodelled and we had to hear saw, drillers, and hammers working until about 9 pm at night. The room was acceptael but had a strange smell. We decided not to complain because the people working there were very nice and the breakfast absolutely perfect! I would recommend the hotel but ask which room are they offering. The standard room (second floor) is really not that nice.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Walter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventas, Director Comercial at Serena Hotel Boutique Buzios, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear Sir,
First of all, we would to thank you for taking the time to send us your comments on your stay at our hotel. They do help us to improve our service, and they also allow us to customize it to guests’ needs and expectations.
Together with Serena’s General Manager we are now working on the issues mentioned by you that occurred during your stay at our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    238
    57
    30
    38
See reviews for
306
518
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Round Rock, TX
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I loved everything about Buzios! And was so glad I did my research and stayed at Serena. The hotel staff was great even before my arrival in helping me arrange my transport from Rio. Once I walked into the lobby, I immediately felt relaxed. The lobby was open to the beautiful pool and courtyard area. Lovely music playing from the speakers. It was so calm. I arrived early and my room wasn't yet ready so I sat outside next to the pool and had lunch and drinks. The entire stay was amazing. I was able to take a surfing lesson that was offered with my room. So much fun!!! And although my stay was short (4 days), I felt right at home. The hotel offered a shuttle every night to take you into downtown Buzios. Serena is not in the center of town like many of the other hotels/pousadas but with the free shuttle and the availability of taxi's I never had a problem. It was nice to be able to walk to Geriba beach only 1 block away from hotel. But I strongly suggest taking a taxi and checking out the other great beaches in Buzios. Brava was my favorite.

I can't wait to get back to Buzios. I'm fairly certain that it is now my favorite place on earth. And Serena made my stay even better!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brooke2h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katowice, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

After travelling around the continent I was hoping for a few days of relaxation but, when I arrived at the hotel I knew it was going to be a "survival trip". My room was extremely small, dirty, everything would stink like hell, A/C worked louder than a jet engine and the toilet was disguisting, not forgetting about the mattrace on the floor. The restaurant looked similar to a Subway bar somewhere by the subway. Food was not edible and there was a very small variety of it. The staff spoke completely no English, so you would not be able to communicate with them. There was also a pool, which basically looked like a salt marsh. It was a terrible experience, so we left after two nights, loosing the rest of our money. But we did not care about it- we didn't want to suffer there. We went to Copacabana Palace in Rio, where we enjoyed our stay a lot and I can definately recommend that property to anyone, who wants to relax in a beautiful hotel. Simply remember to stay away from Serena in Buzios.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LotFTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventas, Director Comercial at Serena Hotel Boutique Buzios, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Sir,

After checking all the information on your stay, we confirmed that you left our property in disagreement with our cancellation policies –which were informed when booking your stay and also accepted by you. According to said policies, your stay should be paid in full even when leaving the hotel and not using the room booked.
We have no records of any complaint based on the situations described in your comments. Therefore, we do not consider it appropriate to receive a qualification based on your disagreement with our commercial and cancellation policies which, once again, were informed and accepted when booking your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Everything perfect--room, staff, breakfast, pool and what a beach.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrianGruber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

the internal space and beautiful wel kept garden. the pool is ok and service is world class, except for the guys in the beach. check for traffic during peak seasons, but off season is a bless to stay here

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guga_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012 via mobile

We love this place ... So much that we have decided we'll come back every year. We are a young couple and this hotel had everything we wanted. Great staff, easy location, activities, great breakfast. The staff were great and very patient with our lack of Portugese, the breakfast is great, the downtown shuttle is excellent, the atmosphere is s relaxing. We can't say enough great things! The rooms are a little run down but it's only a place to sleep and the rest of the place is amazing!
Negative - bring mosquito repellant - they visit at night.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NMasdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012 via mobile

The Serena hotel was very misleading on it's in/out transfer service so be extremely cautious. They also tried to charge me twice for the room. The dinner buffet is about $70 reais a person and not worth the money. The staff wasn't very helpful. The hotel isn't conventiently located either. The pros would be the breakfast buffet and free surf lessons.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventas, Director Comercial at Serena Hotel Boutique Buzios, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
When booking online –on pay at destination websites or when choosing paying at the property- hotel charges will not be posted at the very same time of booking. In said cases, accommodation expenses will be charged when checking in, as credit cards are only requested for guarantee purposes and will be used in case of no-shows or late cancellations.
According to hotel procedures, therefore, accommodation may be paid in advance or at the hotel.
The outstanding gastronomy and services found at Serena Boutique Resort are the result of competitive prices and excellent food quality and variety.
At Serena Boutique Resort, our staff is very well trained –we deeply take care of this matter training our staff on a continuous basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
1.7 mi away
Ferradura Resort
Ferradura Resort
#19 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
2.5 mi away
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & Spa
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & S...
#5 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pousada Pedra Da Laguna
Pousada Pedra Da Laguna
#14 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa
Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa
#27 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
0.1 mi away
Corais e Conchas
Corais e Conchas
#17 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
2.0 mi away
Perola Buzios Hotel
Perola Buzios Hotel
#13 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serena Hotel Boutique Buzios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serena Hotel Boutique Buzios

Property: Serena Hotel Boutique Buzios
Address: Rua Campo de Pouso 1630, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil (Formerly Serena Buzios)
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#9 Luxury Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#10 Spa Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#25 Family Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#37 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Serena Hotel Boutique Buzios 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serena Hotel Boutique Buzios is located just 100 meters from the Geriba beach, being the only resort with an easy beach-level access, providing an easier access to the elderly and younger children. Surrounded by 6,000 square meters of lush tropical gardens, the hotel also features a deck and lit outdoor pool, and a 24 hour bar service. Furthermore, recreational areas, and children's play area supervised by trained staff With complimentary WI-FI throughout the resort, our rooms range up to 70 m2 with king-sized beds, cable TV, Mini bar and a safe deposit box. Most rooms offer a beautiful private garden with a Jacuzzi. Our buffet breakfast stays open till 11 am with hot dishes prepared by our very own on site chefs. Our gourmet restaurant offers a wide range of international and local cuisine with a top notch bar service. Serena also offers a weekly program of live music shows. In addition, our service is also available at the beach providing beach chairs, umbrellas, tables and chairs. The hotel has a stylish modern design, but respects the colonial materials and architecture of the local region. Serena offers free hourly shuttle services to downtown Buzios during the afternoon and night as well as other local beaches. Our guests are also encourages to take water sports lessons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Serena Hotel Boutique Buzios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serena Buzios Hotel Buzios
Serena Hotel Buzios
Serena Hotel Boutique Buzios Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing