We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place, Beautiful Owners”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tropico de Capricornio
Ranked #61 of 105 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 26 January 2012

This was my first trip to Brazil, traveling along with someone who knows the country intimately. The trip started horrendously when we had our passports stolen at the bus station in Rio. We had to cut our trip short but what a beautiful few days. The property's view of Ferradura is stunning and our room (St Tropez) will be always the memory of my first night in Brazil. Waking up, we found an impressive array of fruits and cheeses along with breakfast and found the other guests interesting from France.

The owners were so helpful in assisting us with contacting the local consulates and even took us back to the bus station very early in the morning so that we didnt have to worry about the trip back- we will be back in the not too distant future

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2012

I have seen various reviews here and I would like to say that my experience with the owners was wonderful. They did everything and more that is to be expected and I enjoyed the quiet peaceful week we spent there. If your idea is to find a quiet peaceful hotel this is the place. Compared to many of the other hotels in Buzios this one is definitely high on the list for amenities. All I can say is for a romantic getaway and yet to be close enough to go out for the night for a 10 reais cab fare is what I was looking for and that is exactly what the hotel is. This is a place for peace and calm and relaxation. I never expected to waited on hand and foot and have the owners care for my every need, I just wanted peace and quiet and beautiful room to spend as much time as possible in without noise and with comfort. I think it a wonderful little hotel with a great location and I would definitely stay there again. As for the comments I read about the owners I was treated extremely well and even spent new years eve with the owners and some other guests as it was raining and it was so much nicer to just sit in the peaceful hotel and enjoy free champagne and snacks and engage in some good conversation and enjoy the fireworks displays from all over the city. What a spectacular view and show and even with the rain we all had a very relaxing and enjoyable celebration. Thank you very much for a great memory and trip I will always remember.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NONE34438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

I think calling the Tropico de Capricornio a boutique hotel is slightly misleading. My understanding of boutique hotels is that they are usually high end, luxurious and “designer chic” Make no mistake, this is more akin to a guest house than a boutique hotel. The Tropico villa did not offer the style or service that one expects when booking into a boutique hotel.

On the plus side, there are beautiful, expansive views of Buzios from the villa and, the owners (French-Swiss) freshly baked croissants each morning were very nice. The gardens and pool area are very well maintained and in general, it is a really pretty setting in what appears to be the exclusive and upmarket end of Buzios.

Now for the negatives! The Tropico is approximately a 20 minute walk from the town up a steep hill, which in the searing heat, is not an entirely pleasant walk.

On our arrival, we were not offered any refreshment which was disappointing as this gesture appeared to be offered as standard in all the hotels and guest houses we stayed in on our trip. These are the little touches I would expect to receive at a boutique hotel. The owner did show us around the villa to the more expensive rooms in order to catch our interest in upgrading at the increased rate!

Our room was ok décor wise. It had a fridge which contained soft drinks which were free of charge and a rather sizeable bathroom which was more modern than the room it was adjoined to. It also had a balcony which overlooked the bay area of the town.

We turned the air-conditioning on in our room as it was extremely warm. We left it on while we went out so that the room would be comfortable when we came back. On our return, we discovered that the air-con had indeed been switched off! If leaving the air conditioning on is an issue for the owners, it really is something they should address with their guests.

Buzios itself is very very expensive, and be warned, mosquitoes are everywhere and are particularly vicious! The town is pretty, however it is approximately a 3 hour trek from Rio de Janario and personally I didn’t feel it was worth the effort of making this journey.

The Tropico de Capricornio is over priced for what it is. This is a B&B and not a boutique hotel yet it charges as if it has the ability in terms of style and luxury to cater to the higher end of the market.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mgirishrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropico27, Owner at Tropico de Capricornio, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2011

Thank you very much for your review. Apparently, you had a bad stay in Buzios, we are sorry about that. About the prices, it's a problem for all pousadas and restaurants: the change rate US$ and Euro to Reais are very bad and unfortunately, for you and us, this situation is not ready to change. I do not know if you noticed, Brazil is in the process of rapid development, the cost of living too.
For the air conditioning, as you notice, our pousada is not new and it is its charme. It's not equiped as moderns hotels with electronics locks which allow to do important energy saving when the clients are out. So, to protect our environment, when the customers leave their room, we come to switch off the lights and air conditioning. This concern of protecting nature is currently an important parameter for the classification of the hotels. We wish to improve this service to take part in the fight against the greenhouse effects. The air conditioning need maximum 10 minutes to refresh the room. 10 minutes is nothing, especially in Brazil. Many thanks again for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Tropico de Capricornio is a wonderful pousada in Alto Buzios. The owner Ellios and his wife (which were in Europe at the time) are great host. You really feel welcome there.

We stayed at the St Tropez suite which had a beautiful view from the terrace and a great bathroom with a jacuzzi.

A really wonderful little pearl in Buzios

Room Tip: St Tropez
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mads V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

I can recommend the pousada, particularly the Saint Tropez room with fantastic views over the Ferrudura Bay. With a lovely refreshing breeze from the heat the position is ideal with just a short walk downhillto at least 6 beaches ( a cheap taxi back is recommended!). The pool must be one of the largest on offer and Elios and Christiane make you feel like a member of the family. They even arranged for us to leave our bags back at the Porto Bay hotel in Copacabana beach where we had stayed previously so we could spend an extra day in Rio before flying home. They also arranged our transfers from Rio. The only downside, and it is only small as there are many restaurants in nearby Cantho, is that we would have liked the option to have a meal at the pousada in the evening so we could relax there and not have to leave the beautiful view and room. Our alternatives were the Villa D'Este and the Insolito Hotel and we certainly made the right choice.

Room Tip: St Tropez. lovely balcony, bathroom, great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrendaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropico27, Owner at Tropico de Capricornio, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2011

Dear Brenda and Clive,
Thank you very much for your wonderful review which is very encouraging to persevere in our choice of work well done.
Best Regards.
Cris & Elios

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Lovely pousada, on a hill overlooking the Buzios peninsula. Comfortable room with terrace, large bathroom with jacuzzi and sunny pool area. 15 minute stroll into town; easy to get taxis back after dark. Very friendly owners, breakfast on the terrace a particular treat!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graceful_Hedonist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Me and my wife spent the Easter Holiday at this lovely Hotel/Pousada. This was the perfect escape from the big city - Sao Paulo, where we live for the time being. Fresh air, beautiful view over Buzios, charming rooms, good service and it all comes together in a very relaxing environment. We are already planning of going back.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tobiasral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
1 mi away
Pousada Pedra Da Laguna
Pousada Pedra Da Laguna
#17 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
536 reviews
2 mi away
Rio Buzios Boutique Hotel
Rio Buzios Boutique Hotel
#33 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
256 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel El Cazar
Hotel El Cazar
#68 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Baia do Joao Pousada
Baia do Joao Pousada
#65 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
160 reviews
1.3 mi away
Costa Do Sol Boutique Hotel
Costa Do Sol Boutique Hotel
#28 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
540 reviews
0.8 mi away
Unicornio & SPA BY MN Hoteis
Unicornio & SPA BY MN Hoteis
#30 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropico de Capricornio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropico de Capricornio

Address: Rua Alto de Buzios 25, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#15 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#20 Spa Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range: £104 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropico de Capricornio 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropico de Capricornio is a lovely boutique hotel situated on the heights of Alto de Búzios, a privileged and protected quarter in the heart of an 8,000 m² tropical park, totally closed off and secure. Nine very comfortable suites offer an unequaled panoramic view over Ferradura beach and Búzios. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Tropico de Capricornio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropico De Capricornio Buzios
Tropico De Capricornio Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing