We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Ferradura Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ferradura Resort
Ranked #20 of 105 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2012

If the review is helpful please click the link "Was this review helpful?" at the end.

Period of stay: november 2012

Booking: For 2 adults and 1 child. It was made using the www.booking.com. Price was $150 for one night.

Check-in: Fast. Staff attentive and kind. We were accommodated in a room exactly according to the reservation. The room could be used only after 15:00 PM but they let us use the room at noon as we were with a kid and the hotel wasn´t full, very kind.

Room: Modern, comfortable and clean. Cable TV. Electronic safe. Nice clean bathroom with excellent shower. In one word excellent !

Garage: Free !

Breakfast: Excellent! What a breakfast ! They have a restaurant inside the hotel but I didnt use it.

Facilities: gym, wi-fi, kids-place, sauna, newspapers. They have a very beautiful swimming pool (photos posted). The beach ( Ferradura beach ) is from a 3 minutes walk from the hotel. What a paradise !

Location: A little away from the city center, need transportation to get there. Using a car its a 10 minutes ride.

No doubt I would return to this lovely hotel. Staff is extremely polite.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouCarioca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luiz M, Gerente at Ferradura Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2015

Dear guest,
Thank you for selecting the Hotel Ferradura Resort as their destination for rest and tranquility. We always seek to offer the best in comfort and well being of our guests and their assessment confirms that we are on track! This will hopefully have other unforgettable experiences in our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (746)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 22 of 746 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2012

This is a high standard hotel in a small city. The structure is huge, new and complete. Breakfast, lunch and dinner quality and variety of excellence. In between city center and Ferradura beach.
Spacious rooms, kind staff. The swimming pools are great! I would recommend it for those wo wanna stay more time in house for relax and pleasure than at the beach or taking time to explore Buzios.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoudaBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luiz M, Gerente at Ferradura Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2015
Google Translation

Prezada hóspede,
Agradecemos pela escolha do Hotel Ferradura Resort como seu destino de descanso e tranquilidade. Procuramos oferecer sempre o melhor em conforto e bem estar aos nossos hóspedes e a sua avaliação confirma que estamos no caminho certo! Esperamos que possa ter outras experiências inesquecíveis em nosso hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Location: we were there for 10 days in June so it is low season. There is a great beach close by- about 50-60 meters. It was quiet and clean. The city (downtown) is about 2 km away. An easy walk, but take a flash light with you if you are walking at night as the street is not only poorly lit but it is a cobble-stone and uneven road.


The hotel is quite large. Part of the complex is quite older and that shows on the furniture and dark woodwork. The bathrooms also need major updating.
We ended up staying in a newer room, room 224. It is in a quiet part the hotel but no real view.
Rooms are clean (the whole hotel is very clean) and bright but there is only the bare minimum: shampoo, bar soap and conditioner-- No facial tissues, No glasses. The other inconvenience was those tiny ants. There was actually a bug spray in the room so it is common occurrence. They don’t bit so it is not a big deal. I just had to shake my computer every time I opened it because they were crawling out of the keys.
Another problem regarding the accommodation; we had a room with 2 full size beds. When I ask to have a room with a bigger bed, the person at the front desk said that all the bedrooms have the same bed. This is not true as I talked to another couple that had a King size bed in room 226. I went back to the front desk to tell them and his story changed from all rooms the same to all rooms beside 5 and they are all taken. There are at least 5 with King Size beds. With some effort, we were finally able to change to 226 which has a great view onto the bay.

Food: Breakfast buffet. A lot of variety: fresh fruits, cereals, eggs, breads etc.
Because of the conference we were attending, we also had lunch at the hotel, which was also a buffet. Overall the food was good and plentiful. Water is however not plentiful.

For excellent fresh seafood, we found a small restaurant in town called Peixaria Restaurante. It is on the water on the east side of Buzios, past the Brigitte Bardot statue.

There is a gym with treadmills, (1 elliptical that was out of order), and stationary bikes, in addition free-weights. In order to stop the treadmill, you have to pull on the security cords because the buttons don’t work. I did try them all. The gym is located in the basement under the restaurant and it was extremely stuffy- no air circulation there.

Advice:
1. When you do your reservations, make sure you tell them what size of bed you want if you don’t want any surprises.
2. There are 2 people who speaks English at the desk, None in the dining room. My advice- get a translator- free download on IPhone or get phrase book/dictionary. It will be extremely useful.
It is as if the Hotel and the restaurant are two separate entities. The staff at the restaurant is very nice and helpful. Try to speak Portuguese and they will do everything they can to help you. On the other hand, the staff at the front desk was less helpful and often grouchy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view towards the swimming pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sild-o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luiz M, Gerente at Ferradura Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2015

Dear guest,
Thank you for selecting the Hotel Ferradura Resort as their destination for rest and tranquility. We always seek to offer the best in comfort and well being to our guests .Through of his comments have the opportunity to view any points of improvement and even further enhance our infrastructure and services! This will hopefully have other experiences in our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed at the Ferradura for five days during a conference, and got to know it quite well.

The pluses: A quick walk away from Ferradura Beach, a nice, relatively secluded and sheltered beach that is nicely split between a short section populated by beach beer vendors etc. and a much less crowded, more open length that is quite lovely. The Ferradura Resort is quite attractive, with lots of hand-hewn wooden beams (ah, the rain forest that was) and glossy stone floors. Conference facilities are adequate. There are several swimming pools, one of which has a bar (of sorts, but see below). A restaurant serves breakfast and lunch, buffet-style; a dinner is available in theory (see below). Buzios' main drag, the Rua das Pedras (which must be pronounced hoo-hah dush pedrush or the locals will not understand you), is a fifteen-minute, easy walk away; don't believe the milksops who tell you it's too far to walk.

The minuses, alas, outweigh the pluses, though not to the extent of awarding the establishment a less than average score.

Minor shortcomings: The glossy stone tiles, so attractive when dry, turn into skating-rinks when wet. Why worry? Well, because when the tropical storms come, flooding happens. Our room, by way of example, rejoiced in two centimeters of water on the floor at 2 a.m. one night, soaking everything left at that altitude. It is necessary, in this state, to walk like a geriatric tip-toe artist to avoid slipping. The rooms lack coffee or tissues. Breakfast was Exactly. The. Same. Every. Single. Day. The food was lackluster and, as you will guess, monotonous.

Major shortcomings: At the best of times, only one employee (at the front desk, oddly enough across the street) could speak even a syllable of English. The rest did not even know "yes" or "no" or "one" or "two". Communication was entirely impossible, and this was a constant source of irritation and inconvenience. As an example, on one evening we decided to stay and have dinner in the restaurant. We absolutely could NOT get the waitrons to serve us. We got menus by foraging for them, but nothing we could do would tempt them to our table. Finally we had to get the front desk English speaker to intercede, and we eventually got served - an adequate though not exceptional meal at a very high cost. On the day we checked out, not a single English speaker was available at the front desk, and our driver (who was fluent in many languages) told us that while he waited, some tourists tried to dispute non-existent mini-bar charges and that without his help, they would not have succeeded - they were justifiably really angry.

In short, if you're a local or fluent in Portuguese, by all means stay at the Ferradura Resort. If, however, communication and trained staff are important to you, stay away.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoItinerant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luiz M, Gerente at Ferradura Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2015

Dear guest,
Thank you for selecting the Hotel Ferradura Resort as their destination for rest and tranquility. We always seek to offer the best in comfort and well being to our guests .Through of his comments have the opportunity to view any points of improvement and even further enhance our infrastructure and services! This will hopefully have other experiences in our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Staied in this hotel for a convention and is a wonderful hotel. Room 272 is one of the best i've been with a giant jacuzzi. The pools are great and the hotel is very near ferradura beach, one of the best in buzios. Breakfast is very good. You cant walk to rua das pedras, but is a short drive and the front desk can provide a taxi to take you there.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alexsmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luiz M, Gerente at Ferradura Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2015

Dear guest,
Thank you for selecting the Hotel Ferradura Resort as their destination for rest and tranquility. We always seek to offer the best in comfort and well being of our guests and their assessment confirms that we are on track! This will hopefully have other unforgettable experiences in our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2009

I satyed in Ferradura resort with my family right after a holliday. In the second day, some of us had dinner at the hotel´s restaurant, but the food was not good. The other day, everyone who had eaten in the restaurant was sick with the food-poisoning, inclusive the litlle kids. We couldn´t enjoy our stay no more and had to leave the city. It was very frustrating for all of us.... It´s inconceivable that a hotel like that doesn´t serve se

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank karinecuesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luiz M, Gerente at Ferradura Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2015

Dear guest,
Thank you for selecting the Hotel Ferradura Resort as their destination for rest and tranquility. We always seek to offer the best in comfort and well being to our guests .Through of his comments have the opportunity to view any points of improvement and even further enhance our infrastructure and services! This will hopefully have other experiences in our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Pedro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
1.1 mi away
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & Spa
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & S...
#4 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
961 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa
#10 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
703 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atlantico Buzios Hotel
Atlantico Buzios Hotel
#33 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Vila D'este
Vila D'este
#6 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
690 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Pousada Experience Joao Fernandes
Hotel Pousada Experience Joao Fe...
#7 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
697 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pousada Pedra Da Laguna
Pousada Pedra Da Laguna
#17 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferradura Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferradura Resort

Address: Rua D, Lote 4, Quadra O-Cond. Do Atlantico | Praia da Ferradura, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range: £134 - £387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ferradura Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by a unique and natural landscape, in harmony with the green and the sea, the Ferradura Hotel is 100m from the most beautiful beach in Buzios and 800 meters from the famous Rua das Pedras. The hotel boasts a unique decor, including swimming pools and gardens, along with an excellent structure for Accommodations, leisure and events.The Ferradura Resort offers 84 spacious and modern suites and a convention center with the capacity for 500 people (can be adapted for 5 modules), plus 5 breakout rooms. Come and enjoy the lush nature of Buzios and the sophistication of the finest bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ferradura Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferradura Resort Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing