We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”
Review of PortoBay Buzios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
PortoBay Buzios
Ranked #11 of 104 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 28 April 2011

One negativ point is that the hotel is not at the beach but this givs you the oportunety to discover other beaches. Go to the brava beach the have a nice loung there and you can walk to the beach around 10 min.
Service was very good and helpfull. The staff staff speaks english and the place is just perfekt to relax. You will be also in 10 min in the center by foot.
Hotel is quiet

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maxigor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    181
    46
    10
    11
See reviews for
150
379
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wuppertal, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Visitors to Buzious usually do not come for peace and quiet but more for the night-life and beaches. And the beaches can only be recommended - they are lovely, clean and inviting and there is probably a beach for whatever beach and activities a person prefers. Glenzhaus is in the "Center" of Buzious - meaning it is not right at the beach or in the little town. However, beach as well as town are in walking distance - even if you do not like to walk... No need to hire a car unless you want to explore the countryside (or have small children). And - it is absolutely quiet at night - heavenly! The hotel is so nice that we had to force ourselves to go out at night. The pool is lovely, the service wonderful and a lot has been said about the Caipirinhas already. Staff is very helpful - and speaks English! Thanks to the team we had a wonderful Buzious experience.

Room Tip: Ask for room on a higher floor and enjouy the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank monika_everywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Very nicely furnished and designed hotel in the "St. Tropez of Brasil", Búzios, in the middle of palm trees, with a bit of sea view and 10 min walk to Búzios centre (shopping, eat&drink) and to our favourite beach praia Brava (other beaches approx. 20 min walk or 10 min by car).
We had a Royal Suite which was clean, spacious and cosy. The pool area (also for breakfast) is also nice, the main hall with the bar is like one big living room in a villa, very cosy, invites to stay, see photos on the hotel´s website (which makes look everything bigger due to fish eye photo, keep that in mind).
Our 10-day-stay was substantially enriched by the young (Portuguese) hotel manager Bernardo who, whenever he had time, came for a chat and provided us with very helpful hints where to go (e.g. small restaurant "O barco" which has very good fish dishes, authentic atmosphere at low prices, mostly frequented by locals) and once even drove us to a nice beach (we stayed there in low season, so we just might have been lucky).

We are a couple from Germany and expected Brazil and Búzios to be cheaper overall. Saying that, Porto Bay Glenzhaus´ prices are ok. The hotel´s beds are perfect, but you have mosquitos in Búzios, so we did not sleep well every night.

If we will visit Búzios again (we are from Germany), we would definitively stay again in the Porto Bay and also plan to visit the Lisboa Porto Bay, because it is a small family owned chain and that made us feel at home, not in a hotel (we also took a drink on the 21st floor pool bar in the Porto Bay Rio de Janeiro in Copacabana - tremendous view!!!)

Room Tip: Royal Suites (No. 3, 5, 7) are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank btx2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

The hotel is located in the village, but in a very quite location, so you feel a relaxed atmosphere and outside the party scene, in a very relaxing and charming place.
The staff are very helpfull and friendly and contribute to a good holiday experience. The room was considerably spacious and it was very clean.
There was a rich breakfast, with all ingredients having high quality and freshness.
What I liked best was the staff and the garden and pool area.

Room Tip: My room was very good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HenriqueSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

Thanks to all the staff for a great stay . Thanks to Sara and Marcos for the most warm welcome, the birthday surprise, great advice on where to eat around town and which beaches to go to (I agree Marcos- Arraial do Cabo was amazing!). The hotel is located on a peaceful hill 10 minutes away from the main area of town (and beach taxis). Shuttle services know the hotel well and will take you there.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zhirayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2011

I stayed with my friend at Porto Bay Glenzhaus and it was simply amazing. I told the Manager Bernardo and to his wife Sara that I would most definitely write about their hotel because they were truly helpful, polite, friendly in all aspects.

The restaurant tips were amazing, the way they explained everything, the bars they recommended were great.

The Breakfast...woooowwwww is what I have to say. The place is simple a morning paradise

The rooms are huge and super clean and Maria the evening lady is always there to help us if needed.

Also Raphael the Barman makes wonderful caipirinhas.. worth tasting.


Thank you very much

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertoSans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

From eating, to relaxing, to simply enjoying, we had an amazing stay. The hotel facilities are great and Staff is so cozy and friendly. We loved the rich breakfast by the pool. There is also a great environment for children. Thanks to you, we had a great vacation with outdoor activities. We're not used to that weather but we loved it.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zita25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
0.3 mi away
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & Spa
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & S...
#4 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
942 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ferradura Resort
Ferradura Resort
#19 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
730 reviews
0.7 mi away
Perola Buzios Hotel
Perola Buzios Hotel
#13 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa
#10 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
678 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Pousada Experience Joao Fernandes
Hotel Pousada Experience Joao Fe...
#8 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
677 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vila D'este
Vila D'este
#6 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortoBay Buzios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortoBay Buzios

Property: PortoBay Buzios
Address: Rua 15, n0 10 | Centro - Armacao de Buzios, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil (Formerly Porto Bay Glenzhaus)
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#5 Luxury Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#16 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — PortoBay Buzios 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Born as a small fishing village, today Buzios is a paradise for those who love gastronomy, art and ecology while at the same time boasting an amazing night life. PortoBay Buzios* is a boutique hotel in the city centre of the of Buzios. 21 Suites in a sumptuous tropical setting are a certain recipe for peace and quiet, all with silent air conditioning, free internet access and minibar. Breakfast can be served near the pool leading you to one more unforgettable moment... This boutique lodge is near the beaches that surround the peninsula and a few steps from the famous Rua das Pedras. Here you will find a huge variety of traditional stores, different art galleries, traditional handcraft and some amazing restaurants where you can appreciate the simple pleasures of food A corner of paradise...* Previously named as Porto Bay Glenzhaus ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your PortoBay Buzios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Bay Glenzhaus Hotel Buzios
Porto Bay Glenzhaus Buzios
PortoBay Buzios Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing