We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend with the deep sound of silence”
Review of PortoBay Buzios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
PortoBay Buzios
Ranked #10 of 105 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2012

It's just what you can ask for a relaxing and funny weekend. You can enjoy the silence and nature at the hotel or the contagious Buzios lifestyle. Since the moment we arrived we felt that our room was just a small part of our "big weekend beach house". Starting with the decoration of the beautiful and cozy living room just by the reception, you can enjoy the quiet Brazilian nature while having a refreshing drink looking at the great view on the balcony side by side with the bar.. When u go down to the pool for breakfast u have the typical, funny Brazilian woman behind the counter taking care of whatever u need, everything is fresh and natural, awesome fruit! The room has one of the best beds I've ever slept in, spacious areas and a very neat and modern bathroom. The balcony invites you to stay out all night... The service and the people were very kind and made us feel, once again, at our own home. To finish with golden key, we spent our last evening having a great cocktail (which u can see on the photo attached) so kindly prepared by the Manager Inês. It was a real pleasure!

Room Tip: Pick a Suite Royal, u'll not only be presented with a very well decorated and spacious room, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Buzios, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you in Porto Bay Búzios!
Thank you for you feedback, we are delighted you enjoy our facilities, services and of course, the city of Búzios. It is pleasing to receive such comments as yours and to know we are caring for our guest properly.
We look forward to hearing from you in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Porto Bay Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (674)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

123 - 129 of 674 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2012 via mobile

My family and I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and we had a great time!!!
What we love about this hotel:
- the staff was always very helpful, giving us a lot o tips about the best beaches, restaurants, etc.. And we loved all reccomendations. They really made us feel at home
- the size of the room was great! Our 2 children had 1 extra bed each and we had plenty of space! We also lived our e
private balcony with views to the pool
-the breakfast was served outdoors near the pool! Nice and a great start of the day!
- Bruno's caipirinhas with great sunset views on the main reception balcony! Priceless!
-location: it is located at walking distance from the city centre but in a very quite area.
Want to go back again very soon!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dinorah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luciana M, Gerente at PortoBay Buzios, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Dear Mrs. Dina,
Thank you very much for such nice coments regardig our Hotel Porto Bay Búzios.
It was really nice to meet you and your family and to have you here with us.
I am very glad to know you enjoyed our facilities and service. I will make sure your compliments are transmited to our staff, specially to Bruno.
We hope we can see you soon very soon!
Kind regards,
Inês Menano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

It seems a shame to give this hotel 3 stars because the staff are so nice and helpful, however I feel that in reality the hotel was not as good as it should be and considered even 2 stars.

The good points:
The staff: All super friendly and outgoing, trying to help in every way possible.
Breakfast: Don't expect an American breakfast (you're in Brasil) but do expect fresh bread, fruits, eggs, pastries and coffee in a great relaxed environment.

The bad points:
The staff: But not really, more a lack thereof, the hotel clearly seems to be lacking staff.
Location: There was building work going on opposite the entrance, a private residence so sure to not take long but not a pleasant first impression.
It is also fairly noisy, which surprised us being further up the hill but the main road was pretty close by. Certainly better than being in town I'm sure.
Maintenance: Our hot water in our shower kept stopping (not as in go cold, just stop), the shower head was so clogged with calcium it barely worked, the handle on the balcony door fell off, greasy fingerprints on bathroom vanity which would take a fight to open or close and kitchen curtain rail balanced on each other so wouldn't dare touch them. Saying that, the rest of the hotel was clean and seemed in great shape.

Would I stay here again? I doubt it, there are so many great places bay-side that I felt were a better location and probably in better shape. I will however return to Porto Bay Rio (see other review)

Room Tip: 1001 offer a bus service to and from Rio. Extremely comfortable and surprisingly pleasant experience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mycaptainchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luciana M, Gerente at PortoBay Buzios, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Dear Mr. Chris,
Thank you very much for your coments regarding our Hotel Porto Bay Búzios.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed our breakfast and to receive your positive feed back in relation to our staff . We always do our best to offer an unique service and making each stay the best experience to our guests.
I appologise for the incovenience regarding some maintenance issues.
We hope we can see you soon so that you can get a different prespective!
Best regards,
Inês Menano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We got the royal suite and the rooms were very spacious and comfortable. We spent one week at this hotel and it was a truly great relaxing place. This was also the first time we experienced this brand (Porto Bay, a Portuguese hotel chain).
We had one unfortunate experience with the housekeeping service but the hotel made an effort to minimize the situation and made a solution that we found acceptable.
We will definitely stay there again once we are in Buzios as it was very convenient, a good value for the price paid, and very private.
We stayed in suite 01 and 07 and we found suite 01 to be nicer and had a beautiful view. The breakfast was typical Brazilian fare, the fruits were excellent and there was a full supply each morning, no hot food however due to the size of the hotel breakfast is very private as you dine by the pool in a beautiful tropic setting.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank R_H-Bonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luciana M, Gerente at PortoBay Buzios, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear Mr. Ricardo,
Thank you very much for your comments regarding Porto Bay Búzios.
We are very glad to know you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to minimize your unfortunate experience.
It would be a pleasure for us to have you here once again.
See you soon!
Best regards,
Inês Menano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

A short walk to town, but a longer one to the beach.
Very quiet but nice place, nice pool. Good food etc.
Not overly helpful service.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Girlbrunno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luciana M, Gerente at PortoBay Buzios, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Dear Mr. Brunno,
Thank you very much for your comment regarding Porto Bay Búzios.
We are very glad to know that you enjoyed our facilities and service.
We hope we were able to create good memories from your vacations spent in Búzios.
See you soon!
Kind regards,
Inês Menano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Travelled here as part of our honeymoon.

Was a little apprehensive on the outside of the place, the hotel website certainly makes it look a lot more luxurious that it is. Nevertheless, the hotel was very welcoming, the lobby was lovely, and the pool was quite nice.

The room was clean, tidy with a nice large balcony - perfect for wine and cards in the evening on the balcony. Maid service came in once a day to clean. Make sure they tell you how to use the coffee machine in the room, as we managed to have 2 broken coffee machines.

The location was good, it was just away from all the noise, a little far to walk though but taxi's very cheap and the hotel had no trouble booking them for us. The area is fantastic, with bars, shops and amazing restaurants just a short taxi drive away.

Service was quick for drinks and anything we needed, but the lack of hotel dining was a total shame, as we are massive foodies. However the breakfast option was good.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ellyclarke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luciana M, Gerente at PortoBay Buzios, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Dear Mr. Clarke,
Thank you very much for your comments in relation to your stay at Hotel Porto Bay Búzios.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our facilities and services. It was a honor for us to be able to provide you good memories of such special occasion.
We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon!
Best regards,
Inês Menano.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We stayed in the Hotel for 4 nights starting Feb 10th 2012. We were pleasantly surprised with the excellent level of service provided by the reception staff at all times, day and night. They were always very helpful in terms of giving us advice on where and how to go and went out of their way to answer our queries. In the morning shift there was Alexandre Baroni and in the night shift there was another very helpful lady but I can't recall her name. Our room was very spacious and with a marvellous view (Royal suite) and was exactly like the pictures they have of it on their website. The location of the hotel was also excellent. For lazy people like us, it was a 2 minute drive to the city centre, but for the more active people it is less than a 10 min walk, so you can enjoy the peace and quiet of the area where the hotel is located but be in the bustling downtown area in just a few minutes drive or walk. I would definitely recommend the hotel for any couple planning to stay in Buzious.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ShamelAbaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Buzios, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to hear that you were satisfied with our frontdesk service that's always trying our best to assist all the guests with their doubts and their needs. It is encouraging as our guest’s satisfaction is our primary concern.
We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon!

Warm Regards from Búzios!

Porto Bay Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
0.7 mi away
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa
#11 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
712 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantico Buzios Hotel
Atlantico Buzios Hotel
#32 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
992 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vila D'este
Vila D'este
#6 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & Spa
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & S...
#5 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
968 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ferradura Resort
Ferradura Resort
#20 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
751 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Pousada Experience Joao Fernandes
Hotel Pousada Experience Joao Fe...
#8 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortoBay Buzios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortoBay Buzios

Address: Rua 15, n0 10 | Centro - Armacao de Buzios, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil (Formerly Porto Bay Glenzhaus)
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#4 Spa Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#17 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range: £91 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — PortoBay Buzios 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Born as a small fishing village, today Buzios is a paradise for those who love gastronomy, art and ecology while at the same time boasting an amazing night life. PortoBay Buzios* is a boutique hotel in the city centre of the of Buzios. 21 Suites in a sumptuous tropical setting are a certain recipe for peace and quiet, all with silent air conditioning, free internet access and minibar. Breakfast can be served near the pool leading you to one more unforgettable moment... This boutique lodge is near the beaches that surround the peninsula and a few steps from the famous Rua das Pedras. Here you will find a huge variety of traditional stores, different art galleries, traditional handcraft and some amazing restaurants where you can appreciate the simple pleasures of food A corner of paradise...* Previously named as Porto Bay Glenzhaus ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your PortoBay Buzios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Bay Glenzhaus Hotel Buzios
Porto Bay Glenzhaus Buzios
PortoBay Buzios Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing