We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great balance for everything you want to do” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Porto Bay Buzios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Porto Bay Buzios
Ranked #11 of 101 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great balance for everything you want to do”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

If you don't mind a 10-15 to the beach or town, and if you particularly want to experience both with ease, this hotel is well positioned. We enjoyed being secluded and away from the hustle and bustle. We took a junior suite and were surprised at the size and loved sitting on our balcony surrounded by trees and the sound of birds.

Breakfast was basic but all we needed. And the best was that it was poolside. Staff were great, particularly when we arrived. Our onward flights needed to be rebooked and reception staff assisted us with language issues and made sure the flights were correct and flying(!) before we left Buzios. When the cable TV was not working properly, it was fixed immediately.

Probably not the best hotel in town, but one you won't be disappointed with.

Room Tip: For a couple, the junior suites are more than enough. Ask for a good terrace/balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BkkExPatLiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Buzios, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel. It is encouraging as our guest’s satisfaction is our primary concern.
We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon!
Warm Regards from Búzios!

Sincerely Grateful,
Porto Bay Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    168
    46
    9
    10
See reviews for
142
359
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

Stayed 1 night at Porto Bay Buzios in oct 2012. Loved everything about this hotel. Room (suite) was spacious and well decorated. Only negative point would be the bathroom. A little small and would require some more upkeep. Apart from that, service and reception was flawless, and the pool area is very agreable if you want a change from Buzios' beautiful beaches.
Would return anytime.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morgouz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Buzios, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Dear Guest,

We are really proud that your overall impression was excellent. Thank you for your choice to use our services, and in order to achieve this aim, it is always important to know your opinion on it.
We will be informing all the staff about your positive observations to motivate them even further.

Sincerely Grateful,
Porto Bay Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salvador
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

It's just what you can ask for a relaxing and funny weekend. You can enjoy the silence and nature at the hotel or the contagious Buzios lifestyle. Since the moment we arrived we felt that our room was just a small part of our "big weekend beach house". Starting with the decoration of the beautiful and cozy living room just by the reception, you can enjoy the quiet Brazilian nature while having a refreshing drink looking at the great view on the balcony side by side with the bar.. When u go down to the pool for breakfast u have the typical, funny Brazilian woman behind the counter taking care of whatever u need, everything is fresh and natural, awesome fruit! The room has one of the best beds I've ever slept in, spacious areas and a very neat and modern bathroom. The balcony invites you to stay out all night... The service and the people were very kind and made us feel, once again, at our own home. To finish with golden key, we spent our last evening having a great cocktail (which u can see on the photo attached) so kindly prepared by the Manager Inês. It was a real pleasure!

Room Tip: Pick a Suite Royal, u'll not only be presented with a very well decorated and spacious room, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Buzios, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you in Porto Bay Búzios!
Thank you for you feedback, we are delighted you enjoy our facilities, services and of course, the city of Búzios. It is pleasing to receive such comments as yours and to know we are caring for our guest properly.
We look forward to hearing from you in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Porto Bay Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012 via mobile

My family and I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and we had a great time!!!
What we love about this hotel:
- the staff was always very helpful, giving us a lot o tips about the best beaches, restaurants, etc.. And we loved all reccomendations. They really made us feel at home
- the size of the room was great! Our 2 children had 1 extra bed each and we had plenty of space! We also lived our e
private balcony with views to the pool
-the breakfast was served outdoors near the pool! Nice and a great start of the day!
- Bruno's caipirinhas with great sunset views on the main reception balcony! Priceless!
-location: it is located at walking distance from the city centre but in a very quite area.
Want to go back again very soon!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dinorah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luciana M, Gerente at Porto Bay Buzios, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Dear Mrs. Dina,
Thank you very much for such nice coments regardig our Hotel Porto Bay Búzios.
It was really nice to meet you and your family and to have you here with us.
I am very glad to know you enjoyed our facilities and service. I will make sure your compliments are transmited to our staff, specially to Bruno.
We hope we can see you soon very soon!
Kind regards,
Inês Menano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

It seems a shame to give this hotel 3 stars because the staff are so nice and helpful, however I feel that in reality the hotel was not as good as it should be and considered even 2 stars.

The good points:
The staff: All super friendly and outgoing, trying to help in every way possible.
Breakfast: Don't expect an American breakfast (you're in Brasil) but do expect fresh bread, fruits, eggs, pastries and coffee in a great relaxed environment.

The bad points:
The staff: But not really, more a lack thereof, the hotel clearly seems to be lacking staff.
Location: There was building work going on opposite the entrance, a private residence so sure to not take long but not a pleasant first impression.
It is also fairly noisy, which surprised us being further up the hill but the main road was pretty close by. Certainly better than being in town I'm sure.
Maintenance: Our hot water in our shower kept stopping (not as in go cold, just stop), the shower head was so clogged with calcium it barely worked, the handle on the balcony door fell off, greasy fingerprints on bathroom vanity which would take a fight to open or close and kitchen curtain rail balanced on each other so wouldn't dare touch them. Saying that, the rest of the hotel was clean and seemed in great shape.

Would I stay here again? I doubt it, there are so many great places bay-side that I felt were a better location and probably in better shape. I will however return to Porto Bay Rio (see other review)

Room Tip: 1001 offer a bus service to and from Rio. Extremely comfortable and surprisingly pleasant experience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mycaptainchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luciana M, Gerente at Porto Bay Buzios, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Dear Mr. Chris,
Thank you very much for your coments regarding our Hotel Porto Bay Búzios.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed our breakfast and to receive your positive feed back in relation to our staff . We always do our best to offer an unique service and making each stay the best experience to our guests.
I appologise for the incovenience regarding some maintenance issues.
We hope we can see you soon so that you can get a different prespective!
Best regards,
Inês Menano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

We got the royal suite and the rooms were very spacious and comfortable. We spent one week at this hotel and it was a truly great relaxing place. This was also the first time we experienced this brand (Porto Bay, a Portuguese hotel chain).
We had one unfortunate experience with the housekeeping service but the hotel made an effort to minimize the situation and made a solution that we found acceptable.
We will definitely stay there again once we are in Buzios as it was very convenient, a good value for the price paid, and very private.
We stayed in suite 01 and 07 and we found suite 01 to be nicer and had a beautiful view. The breakfast was typical Brazilian fare, the fruits were excellent and there was a full supply each morning, no hot food however due to the size of the hotel breakfast is very private as you dine by the pool in a beautiful tropic setting.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank R_H-Bonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luciana M, Gerente at Porto Bay Buzios, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear Mr. Ricardo,
Thank you very much for your comments regarding Porto Bay Búzios.
We are very glad to know you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to minimize your unfortunate experience.
It would be a pleasure for us to have you here once again.
See you soon!
Best regards,
Inês Menano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queen´S Park
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

A short walk to town, but a longer one to the beach.
Very quiet but nice place, nice pool. Good food etc.
Not overly helpful service.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Girlbrunno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luciana M, Gerente at Porto Bay Buzios, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear Mr. Brunno,
Thank you very much for your comment regarding Porto Bay Búzios.
We are very glad to know that you enjoyed our facilities and service.
We hope we were able to create good memories from your vacations spent in Búzios.
See you soon!
Kind regards,
Inês Menano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
0.5 mi away
Abracadabra Pousada
Abracadabra Pousada
#8 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & Spa
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & S...
#4 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
0.7 mi away
Perola Buzios Hotel
Perola Buzios Hotel
#13 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Pousada Pedra Da Laguna
Pousada Pedra Da Laguna
#15 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vila d'este
Vila d'este
#6 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pousada Aguas Claras Buzios
Pousada Aguas Claras Buzios
#5 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Bay Buzios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Bay Buzios

Property: Porto Bay Buzios
Address: Rua 15, n0 10 | Centro - Armacao de Buzios, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil (Formerly Porto Bay Glenzhaus)
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#4 Luxury Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#17 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Bay Buzios 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Born as a small fishing village, today Buzios is a paradise for those who love gastronomy, art and ecology while at the same time boasting an amazing night life. Porto Bay Buzios* is a boutique hotel in the city centre of the of Buzios. 21 Suites in a sumptuous tropical setting are a certain recipe for peace and quiet, all with silent air conditioning, free internet access and minibar. Breakfast can be served near the pool leading you to one more unforgettable moment... This boutique lodge is near the beaches that surround the peninsula and a few steps from the famous Rua das Pedras. Here you will find a huge variety of traditional stores, different art galleries, traditional handcraft and some amazing restaurants where you can appreciate the simple pleasures of food A corner of paradise...* Previously named as Porto Bay Glenzhaus ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Porto Bay Buzios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Bay Glenzhaus Hotel Buzios
Porto Bay Glenzhaus Buzios
Porto Bay Buzios Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing