We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location”
Review of Porto Bay Buzios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Porto Bay Buzios
Ranked #9 of 101 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice location”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

A small hotel in the mountain; ocean view. Easy access to the central Buzios . Close to most beaches. Breakfast close to the pool. Magnifique view from the lobby.
Good size Room . Small bathroom . Probleme to get hot Water ...

Room Tip: Ocean view top level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chawine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobayRI, Gerente geral at Porto Bay Buzios, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Chawine,

Thank you very much for your review, it is very important for us as to receive our guest’s feedback. Regarding the issues with the water it has been understood and taken care of. Once again thank you for your review, hoping to receive you again,

My kindest regards,
Tomaz Vilardebó
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    174
    46
    10
    11
See reviews for
149
371
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We absolutely adored this pousada. It was by far the best place we (two young couples on vacation for the World Cup) stayed in Brazil. The pool and breakfast area are like a private tropical sanctuary; I could have stayed there all day, every day. The rooms were clean and contemporary and Johnny at the front desk answered every little request or question with a huge smile, great attitude and efficiency. There's a very short walk to the center of town, but well worth it to enjoy the Porto Bay property - not to mention that the hotel's location also puts you within walking distance of Praia Brava, which was a gem. I'm always a little worried that hotels won't live up to the pictures online, but the Porto Bay was everything it promised and more. Enjoy a drink on the lobby balcony!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobayRI, Gerente geral at Porto Bay Buzios, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Meg,

It is thrilling for us as a hotel, as a team to read your comments regarding our hotel and staff, it is a feeling of a job well done, thank you very much. We hope you have made a safe trip back home, and with hope that we may receive you once again,

My best regards,
Tomaz Vilardebó
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
262 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We booked using a special offer in low season and we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel has a nice view although isn't on the water and is about 10 minutes walk from the town.

The rooms (we had a junior and king suite) are big, clean and comfortable.

The pool area is very nice and is a pleasant place to eat breakfast. Breakfast was very good, with a wide range of options including to have eggs cooked how you wish.

The staff are friendly and helpful.

My only slight feedback is that some of the bedroom furniture looks a bit worn (for the quality of the hotel) but this didn't bother us. Wifi would also be useful in the bedrooms as we only found it in the reception (which is a comfortable place to hang out).

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobayRI, Gerente geral at Porto Bay Buzios, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear RG Valentine,

Thank you very much for your review, it is imperative for us to know our guest opinion and comments regarding our service and establishment. We thank you once again for your comments with hope to see you once again,

My kindest regards,
Tomaz Vilardebó
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed at Porto Bay for a few nights before heading to Rio. Staff was very friendly and helpful, and rooms were very up to date and clean modern looking. Short walk to 3 or 4 beaches and short 10 to 15 min walk to the Centro (the square with all the shops and restaurants). Great breakfast with very nice staff that will make you eggs, etc. Premises very clean and nice landscaping, makes you feel like your in a jungle hotel. Great peaceful place at perfect location to get to several of the main attractions on foot.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David55412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cs0025, General Manager at Porto Bay Buzios, responded to this review, 26 November 2014
Dear David,

Thank you for your comments! Good to know that you have enjoyed the best out of Porto Bay. In the meantime we have continued to improve the hotel and its even better equipped and staffed. Hope to see you soon at PortoBay hotels.

Cláudio Santos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cascais, Portugal
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The location of the hotel is great, a 5 minute walk from the town centre but far away enough to not feel the hustle and bustle of Buzios.

The hotel grounds are absolutely magnificent with little plaques indicating the extensive variety of plants, trees and flowers. This makes the pool a calm and tranquil oasis and a great place to relax.

The rooms, though very large, are antiquated. The bathrooms need some serious upgrades as do the rooms more generally. There are amazingly large balconies but the furniture is uncomfortable and doesn't make it enticing to hang out there. Though there are tea and coffee making facilities in the room, there was never any tea or coffee.

Dont expect anything to be accomplished fast, be it room service (about an hour for a salad) or poolside service (never quite happened).

All this being said the staff is extremely friendly and helpful, the manager is often around to listen to any concerns or answer any questions you may and the bartender makes an amazing caipirinha.

If you are looking for a lazy place to unwind and relax this is a great choice.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the top level for views of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cs0025, General Manager at Porto Bay Buzios, responded to this review, 26 November 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review. In the meantime we have updated all rooms in the hotels as well as a part of our team, who remains nice and attentive. Hope to see you soon at PortoBay.
Claudio Santos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Friendly staff, clean, large spacious room with mini kitchen, surrounded by lush tropical gardens, pool with and out door breakfast bar.
Easy walking distance into the township and to the beach Praia Brava beach which is about a ten minute walk.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobayRI, Gerente geral at Porto Bay Buzios, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Mr. Tony H,

Thank you very much for your review regarding our hotel. It was an absolute pleasure having you staying with us. We are very happy that you have enjoyed our hotel and hope to see you soon.

Kindest regards,
Tomaz Vilardebó
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed here for a week at the beginning of February 2014. The hotel is beautifully situated, surrounded by palm trees and thick vegetation, very tropical! The staff are delightful and very attentive, especially Tomas, Alex and Alexander who went out of their way each day to make sure we were enjoying ourselves. Lots of small touches which were noticed and greatly appreciated.

An easy 10 minute walk into town, and also within walking distance to Brava beach which was our favorite of all the beaches we experienced. Room (Royal Suite) was very comfortable (bed was one of the best I've ever slept in) and spacious with beautiful views to the sea. Overall a fantastic stay. We plan to go back!

Room Tip: Bring mosquito repellent to breakfast No restaurant on site but food made to order was DELICIOUS!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tobdajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Buzios, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Porto Bay Búzios staff, I would like to thank you for your nice comments about our service and facilities.
We are very proud to know that your stay was very pleasant.
Looking forward to see you in the near future.
Best Regards,

Tomáz Vilardebó
Gerente Operacional
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
0.3 mi away
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & Spa
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & S...
#5 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
0.7 mi away
Perola Buzios Hotel
Perola Buzios Hotel
#13 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pousada Pedra Da Laguna
Pousada Pedra Da Laguna
#14 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Abracadabra Pousada
Abracadabra Pousada
#7 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vila d'este
Vila d'este
#6 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pousada Aguas Claras Buzios
Pousada Aguas Claras Buzios
#4 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Bay Buzios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Bay Buzios

Property: Porto Bay Buzios
Address: Rua 15, n0 10 | Centro - Armacao de Buzios, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil (Formerly Porto Bay Glenzhaus)
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#4 Spa Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#16 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Bay Buzios 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Born as a small fishing village, today Buzios is a paradise for those who love gastronomy, art and ecology while at the same time boasting an amazing night life. PortoBay Buzios* is a boutique hotel in the city centre of the of Buzios. 21 Suites in a sumptuous tropical setting are a certain recipe for peace and quiet, all with silent air conditioning, free internet access and minibar. Breakfast can be served near the pool leading you to one more unforgettable moment... This boutique lodge is near the beaches that surround the peninsula and a few steps from the famous Rua das Pedras. Here you will find a huge variety of traditional stores, different art galleries, traditional handcraft and some amazing restaurants where you can appreciate the simple pleasures of food A corner of paradise...* Previously named as Porto Bay Glenzhaus ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Porto Bay Buzios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Bay Glenzhaus Hotel Buzios
Porto Bay Glenzhaus Buzios
Porto Bay Buzios Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing