We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another overrated 'boutique' hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Insolito Boutique Hotel
Ranked #45 of 105 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2012

When you pay 650 USD for a room, even if you sit on a pile of money you don't like to be fooled.
Insolito has a unique location, very nice decoration of the common areas and some very nice details.
HOWEVER, the rooms called 'luxury' are nothing special, not one single picture on the walls, view is inexistent, and aside from a comfortable bed, there was very little to justify such a hefty price (and one of the two showers was cold)
Also, the warm swimming pool was out of service, the hot tub was constantly dirty (very dirty) and there were several rain infiltrations in the pool area.
But the worst of all is that guests need to go fetch their own drinks, because there is no sufficient number of employees around when you sit somewhere in the (beautiful, it must be said) garden...
Had it cost 1/2 of the price, it would have been reasonable, for this money, I expect and am used to much, much more.
I'm never going back there, there are dozens of better options in Búzios!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Wave113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maximiliano B, Gerente at Insolito Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Dear Mr. ‘Wave’,
We thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts about the Insólito Boutique Hotel & Spa; We were recognized “Best Beach hotel of South America” in 2012 because we have been basing our training efforts on customers commentaries.
The customer’s choice and perception on the proposal of Insolito Boutique Hotel are ensured first.

We believe that our policies of rates and categories are clear and we keep the right to not make any remarks about values or classification of our rooms. The choice of category is an exclusive service of Insolito customer.
Furthermore, please consider that::
Our warm swimming pool is indeed under maintenance at the moment, as informed upon each guest’s reservation. In every guest room and in all public areas, there is a sign explaining that the other 3 swimming pools are available: the freshwater pool called “piscina azul”, the saltwater pool and of course the Natural Pool which surrounds Insólito`s property.

The two Ofuros and the Jacuzzi that can be found in our Garden, meticulously designed by French landscaper Anouck Barcat. Because of their location, in the middle of lush vegetation, they suffer from the inevitable action of nature, regardless of the daily maintainance.

Some of our suites are equipped with a double shower. One of them is purposely set on “cold”. The hotel provides instructions of how to set them both on “warm” is visibly posted in each room.

Our hotel adopts the concept of Tailor Made Hospitality. The personalized service delivered to our guests is guaranteed by the quality and quantity of our professionals. We consider ourselves privileged to have such professionals as part of our team and the recognition for the excellency of our service is our biggest pride. For those guests who prefer an exclusive attention, we propose our butler service for the duration of their stay.

We usually recognize all of our guests – even through their TripAdvisor profile. As we were not able to identify you from your Avatar and period of stay, we would appreciate if you could write directly to us, through our website, and allow us to demonstrate our intention to have you as our guest, again.

Cordially,
Maxx Tavares e Insolito Best Team

Sr Wave
Agrademos sua disposicao em expor seus pontos de vista sobre o Insolito.
‘E a opiniao de nossos clientes que nos fez reconhecidamente O Melhor Hotel de Praia da America do Sul em 2012!

A escolha do cliente e sua percepcao sobre a proposta do Insolito Boutique Hotel estao asseguradas em primeiro lugar. Consideramos que nossas politicas de preco e categoria sao claras e nos reservamos o direito de nao fazer observacoes sobre valores ou classificacao de apartamentos. A escolha de categoria ‘e de exclusividade do cliente Insolito.

A respeito de suas outras observacoes gostaria que fosse considerado:
Piscina: Nossa piscina aquecida encontra-se em manutencao conforme informado no ato da reserva. Ha disponivel nos apartamentos e areas sociais informativo sobre a reforma da mesma e nossa indicacao sobre nossas outras 3 piscinas disponiveis: a de agua doce, chamada piscina Azul, nossa piscina de agua Salgada e ainda a Pisicina Natural debrucada sobre as rochas que contornam nossa propriedade

Ofuro: Nossos dois ofuros e nossa Jacuzzi encontram-se em nosso Jardim, belamente projetado pela Paisagista Francesa Anouck Barcat. Por serem equipamentos dispostos em area de vegetacao frondosa, sofrem a acao natural da natureza mesmo com limpeza frequente e diaria.

Ducha Dupla: Em aptos com Ducha dupla, uma delas usualmente ‘e apenas de agua fria. Ha indicacao de uso no caso de desejar as duas em modo: quente.

Servico: Nosso hotel adota a politica de Hotelaria Tailor Made. Os servicos alem de personalizados contam com profissionais em qualidade e quantidade. Somos privilegiados com os profissionais que temos em nossas equipes e o reconhecimento pela excelencia de nossos servicos e atendimento ‘e nosso maior orgulho. Aos nossos clientes que mesmo assim preferem um atendimento mais exclusivo, oferecemos nossos servicos de Mordomos exclusivos durante a estadia conosco.

Por tratar-se de um hotel Exclusivo e com apenas 20 apartamentos, nosso atendimento personalizado possibilita que mesmo clientes nao Habitues nos deem os feedbacks de sua hospedagem conosco, seja pessoalmente ou atraves de nossos formularios internos.

Costumeiramente reconhecemos nossos hospedes – mesmo pelo perfil no tripAdvisor. Como nao reconhecemos seu Avatar e o periodo citado acima e rescente, gostariamos que se possivel o Sr. Se Identificasse com nossa equipe atraves de nosso site para que possamos entrar em contato e demonstrar nossa intencao em lhe receber novamente junto nos.
Cordialmente
Maximiliano Tavares e Time Insolito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

92 - 98 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2012

Beautiful hotel in a gorgeous location run by professionals. Exceptional service and food. Stayed 4 days and only ate outside the hotel once, food was so good.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank N R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Insolitobo, Operations Manager at Insolito Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Boa dia,

Thanks for the kind words! We would be delighted to welcome you once again in the near future at Insolito Boutique Hotel. Do not hesitate to contact us at any time.

Kind regards,
Eduardo Lang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We had a very enjoyable stay. Lovely designer room with a balcony large enough for 2 loungers, and with a great sea view. The food is great and the staff are all really friendly. There are a lot of public spaces, so quite often we had the impression we were the only guests in the hotel.

We had dreadful rainy weather all weekend - not the fault of the hotel, but it does have one disadvantage - as the hotel is a collection of small buildings, all the routes to the restaurant are outside (and it was hammering it down). However, the outdoor heated pool was fantastic.

the hotel has great attention to detail - unfortunately down to the bottle of much needed mosquito repellent in the bedroom. Even in winter there is so much greenery around the hotel that mosquitos can't be avoided.

We had an amazingly relaxing weekend and would return again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank confusedexpat401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Insolitobo, Operations Manager at Insolito Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Boa dia,

Firstly apologies for the late reply, none the less thank you for the great review! We understand that the mosquito situation is irritating and have taken actions to reduce the amount of mosquitoes in the hotel area. We would be delighted to welcome you back again now that the beach lounge is fully refurbished and renovated with a new theme and style. Do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards,
Eduardo Lang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Having been spoiled by the many beautiful 5 and 6 star resorts of Asia, it's hard to come to terms with the lack of bang-for-your-resort-buck in Brazil.

Insolito is indeed quite a charming hotel and the friendly staff certainly make up for the lack of real 5-star property attributes. But at $500-$1000+ per night, one does have to ask oneself whether the property is really delivering.

The rooms are nice, if a little cramped. The furnishings very beautiful and carefully chosen. But the level of finish lets the property down - perhaps it's just hard to get quality construction/trades skill in Brazil...? Geat design concept, but poorly executed at every turn.

The outdoor furniture is looking a little decrepit and the cushions faded and a little sad looking.

So I guess it just doesn't FEEL 5 star and the key is the lack of attention to detail.

It's one of those resorts that looks absolutely fabulous on the website and in the many editorials in which it's been featured, but the reality is a little disappointing.

Positives are definitely the very friendly and helpful staff - a real highlight. The breakfasts were fantastic... and sitting on the deck of an evening at sundown can't be beaten - such a gorgeous spot.

We stayed a couple of nights at Casas Brancas as well and I would say that Casas Brancas presents better value for money...

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SydneyPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Insolitobo, Operations Manager at Insolito Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Pete,

Thank you for the feedback. We appreciate both positive and negative comments in order to improve day by day. We are currently closed for 3 weeks before the world cup in order to get the whole hotel back into shape. The beach lounge is being refurbished fully with a new theme and feeling. We would be delighted to welcome you once again to experience true value for money. In the meantime please follow us on social media sites in order to keep up to date with changes and events in the Insoltio.

Kind regards,
Eduardo Lang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

The 3 days spent at the Insolito fully met all our expectations
- nice location with superb views on one of Buizios bays
- small number of rooms, spread over several small buildings, all very well integrated in the environment
- a lot of brazilian crafts and culture,different in each room
- several areas with different intimate atmosphere (3 swimming pools)
- direct access to a private beach
- late arrival, we had without asking sandwiches and fruits waiting for us
- very nice welcome and visit by the owner, enthusiastic about brazilian crafts, culture and artists
- food and service are fine, very kind staff
One of the very good places we know in the world, even better than their website

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean Luc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Insolitobo, Operations Manager at Insolito Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Jean,

Thank you for the great review and kind words! We appreciate the feedback and strive to improve day by day. We would be delighted to welcome your once again at the Insolito Boutique Hotel in the near future! For now please follow our social media sites and share any photos of your stay.

Kind regards,
Eduardo Lang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

As others have said this is a beautiful hotel. It was quiet when we arrived but even full there are so many public spaces it would never feel crowded. The rooms are designed to all feel private. We had a room with two almost completely glassed walls giving a spectacular view over the bay, and a large balcony shaded by plants. There are three swimming pools and two jacuzzis and a beach club with plenty of loungers within the resort. The sea is clear but very cold. Some of the Buzios beaches seemed a little warmer but it is definitely not the Caribbean. There were several indoor lounges with beautiful chairs and artworks everywhere. We discovered on our last day that the art was for sale. The breakfast was good but served in the open air. It is a tropical country with plenty of insects and I thought food which was lying out for around 3 hours should have been covered. Dinner was good. If you want to shop this hotel is a little isolated but only 5 minutes in a taxi to the town (15 reals). When the weather is cool it would be an easy walk but it was around 35 deg when we stayed so we didn't bother.
The negatives. The staff were very willing and friendly but not very forthcoming with information.
I think the owners are trying to create a "staying with friends vibe" but it is all a little too casual. We were told that there were two boats, and were told "we took the boat out yesterday as it was calm, and the other is for watersports" I saw no information in the room or on the beach about how to book these boats. The only information supplied was a short letter advising of mealtimes. The only water sports I saw on the beach were pedaloes and a banana boat which never moved. We went to the town and arranged our own boat trip. We had to ask for a mini bar price list, and did not know until check out whether the water was chargeable or not. Maid service was patchy. We had to ask for a wastepaper bin, and our water wasn't replaced one day. There was no breakfast menu, although eggs were on offer. The lady who served breakfast had only limited English so a printed menu would be good. However this lady was charming and remembered our order after the first day- great but difficult to change our minds. The other negative was internet access. It was so patchy as to be unusable. This was actually a positive for me as there was no point in even trying to check my email. However the hotel advertises WiFi and we saw a very frustrated business man apologising to a colleague that he was unable to respond to email. We discovered good internet access in the beach club on our last day so perhaps the access in parts of the hotel is good.
In summary- a unique hotel and great for a relaxing holiday, fantastic for honeymooners. I would like to see an information folder in the room, and improved internet access. If this is difficult a map of the hotel letting us know where access is good would be a start. I would like to see a catalogue of prices for the artworks.
I would definitely return. We had a very relaxed stay after the bustle of Rio, and the Buzios area felt very safe.

Room Tip: I did not see a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Edinburghtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Insolitobo, Operations Manager at Insolito Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Boa dia,

Thank you for the great review! We appreciate all feedback - both positive and negative - in order to improve day by day! We have recently designed a full experience menu for guests indicating all possible activities for guests in the hotel and around Buzios in general. Our wifi acess has also improved and we have a team working on the maintenance every day in order to keep up the access. Thanks again for the review and we would be delighted to welcome you once again in the near future! For now follow, like, share, post and comment on our social media sites! We have exciting events coming up with the world cup!

Kind regards,
Eduardo Lang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

stayed at Insolito for 2 nights, it was the perfect romantic escape. the hotel is beautiful, every detail of decoration in place. The room was amazing, with big varanda and jacuzzi. the hotel´s grounds are quite big, with several pools therefore it never feels crowed, and very relaxing. they have a beach lounge that has direct acess to a very nice beach, there you can enjoy great apetizers like the heart of palm pasteis that were delicious, and just chill while looking at the great views. the service was great, everyone very careful to little details. we would definitely stay there again and this littlie piece of heaven cannot to be missed when coming to Buzios.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnynel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Insolitobo, Operations Manager at Insolito Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Boa dia!

Thank you for the great rating and review! We would be delighted to welcome you in the near future again! For now please follow our social media sites and feel free to share and comment on any posts. We enjoy seeing photographic experiences from guests!

Have a great week,
Eduardo Lang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
1.2 mi away
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & Spa
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & S...
#5 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
979 reviews
1.2 mi away
Vila D'este
Vila D'este
#6 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
768 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ferradura Resort
Ferradura Resort
#20 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pousada Pedra Da Laguna
Pousada Pedra Da Laguna
#17 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
536 reviews
1.6 mi away
Abracadabra Pousada
Abracadabra Pousada
#13 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
576 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa
#12 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Insolito Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Insolito Boutique Hotel

Address: Rua E1 - Lotes 3 e 4 | Praia da Ferradura, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#11 Luxury Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#14 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#15 Spa Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range: £256 - £2,421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Insolito Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authenticity and charm in an exclusive location, this is the mixture that makes Insolito Hotel unique. Placed on one of the most beautiful beaches in Buzios, Praia da Ferradura, the Insolito is like a leap over the sea. A subtle luxury, fruit of its comfort, modernity and charm, manifested in all five senses, compose the Insolito. Living the Insolito is more than just turning that most special dream into reality. Living the Insolito, truthfully, is to have never awakened from that dream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Insolito Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Insolito Boutique Hotel Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing