We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most beautiful locations !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Insolito Boutique Hotel
Ranked #38 of 103 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful locations !”
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Great Hotel - supurb food , the hotel itself is amazing , great pools all with amazing views - good location and nice beach - staff are also excellent - nothing was too much for them . Very chilled atmosphere - one of the best hotels I have stayed in ! Thanks !

Room Tip: try and get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Insolitobo, Operations Manager at Insolito Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Lee,

Thank you for the kind words, we appreciate all positive and negative feedback in order to improve on a daily basis. We would be delighted to host your next vacation to Buzios. We some some really exciting events coming up with a new refurbished beach bar (Eden Beach) and new food and beverage menus all around the hotel.In the meantime indulge yourself in our social media pages for photos and articles.

Kind regards,
Eduardo Lang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    67
    35
    26
    12
See reviews for
66
239
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Spent 4 days at Insolito during off-season and the staff was incredibly attentive and kind. The resort was beautifully designed and decorated, amazing views, charming style. Further, the food was amazing. The massage / spa / yoga studio was lovely. We looked at other properties in the town while we were touring around and Insolito was by far the nicest in Buzios. Have had the opportunity to travel and stay at many luxury resorts and this was one of the best. We would definitely go back and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steftravels_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Insolitobo, Operations Manager at Insolito Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Stef,

Thank you for the great review! It is always great to hear the good experiences guests have had at the hotel. We are renewing our menus all around and adding interesting new drinks to the menus. Furthermore we have a new beach lounge opening in 3 weeks. Do not hesitate to contact us for more details and for booking your next trip to Insolito Boutique Hotel.

Kind regards,
Eduardo Lang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

When you pay 650 USD for a room, even if you sit on a pile of money you don't like to be fooled.
Insolito has a unique location, very nice decoration of the common areas and some very nice details.
HOWEVER, the rooms called 'luxury' are nothing special, not one single picture on the walls, view is inexistent, and aside from a comfortable bed, there was very little to justify such a hefty price (and one of the two showers was cold)
Also, the warm swimming pool was out of service, the hot tub was constantly dirty (very dirty) and there were several rain infiltrations in the pool area.
But the worst of all is that guests need to go fetch their own drinks, because there is no sufficient number of employees around when you sit somewhere in the (beautiful, it must be said) garden...
Had it cost 1/2 of the price, it would have been reasonable, for this money, I expect and am used to much, much more.
I'm never going back there, there are dozens of better options in Búzios!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Wave113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maximiliano B, Gerente at Insolito Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Dear Mr. ‘Wave’,
We thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts about the Insólito Boutique Hotel & Spa; We were recognized “Best Beach hotel of South America” in 2012 because we have been basing our training efforts on customers commentaries.
The customer’s choice and perception on the proposal of Insolito Boutique Hotel are ensured first.

We believe that our policies of rates and categories are clear and we keep the right to not make any remarks about values or classification of our rooms. The choice of category is an exclusive service of Insolito customer.
Furthermore, please consider that::
Our warm swimming pool is indeed under maintenance at the moment, as informed upon each guest’s reservation. In every guest room and in all public areas, there is a sign explaining that the other 3 swimming pools are available: the freshwater pool called “piscina azul”, the saltwater pool and of course the Natural Pool which surrounds Insólito`s property.

The two Ofuros and the Jacuzzi that can be found in our Garden, meticulously designed by French landscaper Anouck Barcat. Because of their location, in the middle of lush vegetation, they suffer from the inevitable action of nature, regardless of the daily maintainance.

Some of our suites are equipped with a double shower. One of them is purposely set on “cold”. The hotel provides instructions of how to set them both on “warm” is visibly posted in each room.

Our hotel adopts the concept of Tailor Made Hospitality. The personalized service delivered to our guests is guaranteed by the quality and quantity of our professionals. We consider ourselves privileged to have such professionals as part of our team and the recognition for the excellency of our service is our biggest pride. For those guests who prefer an exclusive attention, we propose our butler service for the duration of their stay.

We usually recognize all of our guests – even through their TripAdvisor profile. As we were not able to identify you from your Avatar and period of stay, we would appreciate if you could write directly to us, through our website, and allow us to demonstrate our intention to have you as our guest, again.

Cordially,
Maxx Tavares e Insolito Best Team

Sr Wave
Agrademos sua disposicao em expor seus pontos de vista sobre o Insolito.
‘E a opiniao de nossos clientes que nos fez reconhecidamente O Melhor Hotel de Praia da America do Sul em 2012!

A escolha do cliente e sua percepcao sobre a proposta do Insolito Boutique Hotel estao asseguradas em primeiro lugar. Consideramos que nossas politicas de preco e categoria sao claras e nos reservamos o direito de nao fazer observacoes sobre valores ou classificacao de apartamentos. A escolha de categoria ‘e de exclusividade do cliente Insolito.

A respeito de suas outras observacoes gostaria que fosse considerado:
Piscina: Nossa piscina aquecida encontra-se em manutencao conforme informado no ato da reserva. Ha disponivel nos apartamentos e areas sociais informativo sobre a reforma da mesma e nossa indicacao sobre nossas outras 3 piscinas disponiveis: a de agua doce, chamada piscina Azul, nossa piscina de agua Salgada e ainda a Pisicina Natural debrucada sobre as rochas que contornam nossa propriedade

Ofuro: Nossos dois ofuros e nossa Jacuzzi encontram-se em nosso Jardim, belamente projetado pela Paisagista Francesa Anouck Barcat. Por serem equipamentos dispostos em area de vegetacao frondosa, sofrem a acao natural da natureza mesmo com limpeza frequente e diaria.

Ducha Dupla: Em aptos com Ducha dupla, uma delas usualmente ‘e apenas de agua fria. Ha indicacao de uso no caso de desejar as duas em modo: quente.

Servico: Nosso hotel adota a politica de Hotelaria Tailor Made. Os servicos alem de personalizados contam com profissionais em qualidade e quantidade. Somos privilegiados com os profissionais que temos em nossas equipes e o reconhecimento pela excelencia de nossos servicos e atendimento ‘e nosso maior orgulho. Aos nossos clientes que mesmo assim preferem um atendimento mais exclusivo, oferecemos nossos servicos de Mordomos exclusivos durante a estadia conosco.

Por tratar-se de um hotel Exclusivo e com apenas 20 apartamentos, nosso atendimento personalizado possibilita que mesmo clientes nao Habitues nos deem os feedbacks de sua hospedagem conosco, seja pessoalmente ou atraves de nossos formularios internos.

Costumeiramente reconhecemos nossos hospedes – mesmo pelo perfil no tripAdvisor. Como nao reconhecemos seu Avatar e o periodo citado acima e rescente, gostariamos que se possivel o Sr. Se Identificasse com nossa equipe atraves de nosso site para que possamos entrar em contato e demonstrar nossa intencao em lhe receber novamente junto nos.
Cordialmente
Maximiliano Tavares e Time Insolito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Beautiful hotel in a gorgeous location run by professionals. Exceptional service and food. Stayed 4 days and only ate outside the hotel once, food was so good.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank N R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Insolitobo, Operations Manager at Insolito Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Boa dia,

Thanks for the kind words! We would be delighted to welcome you once again in the near future at Insolito Boutique Hotel. Do not hesitate to contact us at any time.

Kind regards,
Eduardo Lang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We had a very enjoyable stay. Lovely designer room with a balcony large enough for 2 loungers, and with a great sea view. The food is great and the staff are all really friendly. There are a lot of public spaces, so quite often we had the impression we were the only guests in the hotel.

We had dreadful rainy weather all weekend - not the fault of the hotel, but it does have one disadvantage - as the hotel is a collection of small buildings, all the routes to the restaurant are outside (and it was hammering it down). However, the outdoor heated pool was fantastic.

the hotel has great attention to detail - unfortunately down to the bottle of much needed mosquito repellent in the bedroom. Even in winter there is so much greenery around the hotel that mosquitos can't be avoided.

We had an amazingly relaxing weekend and would return again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank confusedexpat401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Insolitobo, Operations Manager at Insolito Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Boa dia,

Firstly apologies for the late reply, none the less thank you for the great review! We understand that the mosquito situation is irritating and have taken actions to reduce the amount of mosquitoes in the hotel area. We would be delighted to welcome you back again now that the beach lounge is fully refurbished and renovated with a new theme and style. Do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards,
Eduardo Lang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Having been spoiled by the many beautiful 5 and 6 star resorts of Asia, it's hard to come to terms with the lack of bang-for-your-resort-buck in Brazil.

Insolito is indeed quite a charming hotel and the friendly staff certainly make up for the lack of real 5-star property attributes. But at $500-$1000+ per night, one does have to ask oneself whether the property is really delivering.

The rooms are nice, if a little cramped. The furnishings very beautiful and carefully chosen. But the level of finish lets the property down - perhaps it's just hard to get quality construction/trades skill in Brazil...? Geat design concept, but poorly executed at every turn.

The outdoor furniture is looking a little decrepit and the cushions faded and a little sad looking.

So I guess it just doesn't FEEL 5 star and the key is the lack of attention to detail.

It's one of those resorts that looks absolutely fabulous on the website and in the many editorials in which it's been featured, but the reality is a little disappointing.

Positives are definitely the very friendly and helpful staff - a real highlight. The breakfasts were fantastic... and sitting on the deck of an evening at sundown can't be beaten - such a gorgeous spot.

We stayed a couple of nights at Casas Brancas as well and I would say that Casas Brancas presents better value for money...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SydneyPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Insolitobo, Operations Manager at Insolito Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Pete,

Thank you for the feedback. We appreciate both positive and negative comments in order to improve day by day. We are currently closed for 3 weeks before the world cup in order to get the whole hotel back into shape. The beach lounge is being refurbished fully with a new theme and feeling. We would be delighted to welcome you once again to experience true value for money. In the meantime please follow us on social media sites in order to keep up to date with changes and events in the Insoltio.

Kind regards,
Eduardo Lang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vannes, France
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

The 3 days spent at the Insolito fully met all our expectations
- nice location with superb views on one of Buizios bays
- small number of rooms, spread over several small buildings, all very well integrated in the environment
- a lot of brazilian crafts and culture,different in each room
- several areas with different intimate atmosphere (3 swimming pools)
- direct access to a private beach
- late arrival, we had without asking sandwiches and fruits waiting for us
- very nice welcome and visit by the owner, enthusiastic about brazilian crafts, culture and artists
- food and service are fine, very kind staff
One of the very good places we know in the world, even better than their website

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean Luc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Insolitobo, Operations Manager at Insolito Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Jean,

Thank you for the great review and kind words! We appreciate the feedback and strive to improve day by day. We would be delighted to welcome your once again at the Insolito Boutique Hotel in the near future! For now please follow our social media sites and share any photos of your stay.

Kind regards,
Eduardo Lang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
1.2 mi away
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & Spa
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & S...
#5 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
933 reviews
1.2 mi away
Vila D'este
Vila D'este
#6 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
646 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ferradura Private
Hotel Ferradura Private
#18 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Vila da Santa Hotel Boutique & Spa
Vila da Santa Hotel Boutique & S...
#1 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
173 reviews
1.6 mi away
Abracadabra Pousada
Abracadabra Pousada
#8 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
541 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ferradura Resort
Ferradura Resort
#19 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Insolito Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Insolito Boutique Hotel

Property: Insolito Boutique Hotel
Address: Rua E1 - Lotes 3 e 4 | Praia da Ferradura, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 2895-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#11 Luxury Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#11 Family Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#13 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#15 Spa Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Insolito Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authenticity and charm in an exclusive location, this is the mixture that makes Insolito Hotel unique. Placed on one of the most beautiful beaches in Buzios, Praia da Ferradura, the Insolito is like a leap over the sea. A subtle luxury, fruit of its comfort, modernity and charm, manifested in all five senses, compose the Insolito. Living the Insolito is more than just turning that most special dream into reality. Living the Insolito, truthfully, is to have never awakened from that dream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Insolito Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Insolito Boutique Hotel Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing