We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel, but the restaurant...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Insolito Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Insolito Boutique Hotel
Ranked #34 of 101 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic hotel, but the restaurant...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

I had a wonderful dinner with my wife last year at Insolito's restaurant, very romantic... I thought I would be able to repeat that experience again, last week. But unfortunately the crew couldn't keep the same level of service. To start off, the starter, a salad, came at the same time as the main course... The starters in the menu were far less sophisticated than those we had last year. The main courses were fine, but nothing special. The dessert, a caramel mousse/cake was tasteless. Our overall experience was disappointing...

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luiz_mario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Insolitobo, Operations Manager at Insolito Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Luiz,

Firstly apologies for the late reply. Never the less thank you for the comment. It is important to hear the comments from our guests in order to improve on a daily basis. For this reason we have closed the hotel before the world cup for 2 weeks in order to redesign all menus for both food and beverages and redesign the furniture in the beach lounge. We ensure that the standard will be right up high again as soon as we open again so we would be delighted to welcome you again for a romantic dinner in the near future!

Kind regards,
Eduardo Lang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    67
    35
    25
    12
See reviews for
66
236
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

Insolito was a gorgeous boutique hotel. Never have to worry about getting a spot at the beautiful pools, and sometimes we even had the whole place to ourselves. I loved lounging on their modern couches in the morning, they made delicious Capirihanas, and the food was wonderful. This was the perfect final stop on our honeymoon through Rio, Salvador and the Amazon :) Would absolutely recommend...

Room Tip: Each room is unique & gorgeous - try for one of the rooms higher up for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRelationsInsolito, Gerente de relações com clientes at Insolito Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2013
Dear Kristin R,

Firstly I would like to thank you for reviewing our hotel as we take all guest reviews deep to heart, and I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed our secluded and private hotel.

We take a lot of pleasure in welcoming guests for special moments in their lives such as honeymoons, birthdays and anniversaries, and I thank you once again for choosing our property to celebrate this occasion.

If you plan to come back to Brazil in the future, do not hesitate to contact us so that we can arrange to provide you with an even more memorable experience!

Best sunny regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

This well located group of low dark pink houses is perched on the rocks at the eastern end of the very calm "Horseshoe" beach so it get wonderful sunsets. It was a luxury private beach home but has been extended and re-adapted by its affluent European owners into the most exclusive Possada in Buzios. It has about 20 double rooms all quite large and the whole place is beautifully decorated with eclectic '60's 70's 80's furniture that the owners have apparently found in and around Brazil. It has 3 pools and a tiny 'secret' beach plus a beach lounge area with DJs, so it's easy to find a quiet area and be alone. Helicopters can land at its own Helipad so it's very popular with the 'Cariocas' that fly in (35 mins) from Rio at weekends, the hotel also offers helicopter service. The food is very good but the menu is a bit limited if you're there for more than 3 or 4 days and choose not to eat out, but the chef will make anything and the veg soup was delicious! The staff are all friendly and professional. We will definitely return...in fact we're booked in for the "New Year" party...review to follow!

Room Tip: some of the rooms have outdoor Jacuzzi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enzo G, Gerente de relações com clientes at Insolito Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
Dear Mr. Marc F,

Thank you for the time to share your kind review about your stay at Insólito Boutique Hotel. You have summarized our hotel in a great way! We are glad that you enjoyed the calm and quiet that the Insólito can provide to our guests.

We look very much into welcoming you once again for New Years Eve!

Best sunny regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

I've been to Insolito for 5 days on october to spend some private and relaxing time with the person I love ! It was a kind of honey moon trip!!! hehe

I live in Rio and I had already been to Buzios before, but never to Praia da Ferradura (which is, by far, the best one over there ! Warm water, no waves and EMPTY!)
We went there from monday till friday (on weekend Buzios is always crowded) and we loved every single second...
When we first arrived, in the morning, the hotel didn't have the "something extra" that makes it worth...

The room was amazing and we made a tour, yet in the morning, around it... wasn't so surprising... Until the afternoon ! Somehow, in the afternoon the hotel looks different ! Everything looked much better! So don't be upset if you arrive in the morning and don't feel imediately the experience ! It'll come after noon !!!

The breakfast was wonderful with a great vegetable omelete (gets better when you add bacon on it)... Having a chef at the restaurant from 12pm till 12am is also another highlight in the hotel... The food there is great! By last, but not less important, the nicest girl MONIQUE, who works at the restaurant! More than friendly and helpful! With her nice smile she can definetely gain your heart !!!

4 meters pool and the hitting pool are great to relax and play some games! The view from all the parts of the hotel are amazing !

The private beach is not so great because of the many rocks they have there... but is also nice to relax !

Unfortuately the lounges were not open when we were there, but they also look nice!

The conclusion: Insolito hotel is an amazing hotel ! A little hard to find on the first time, but with great rooms, service and amenities! BUT, my comments might not be valid, since my truth happiness was being next to the person I love! So everything was looking perfect !!!

Room Tip: I've been to Insolito for 5 days on october to spend some private and relaxing time with the per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LKluss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Insolitobo, Operations Manager at Insolito Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for the kind words. It is great to hear that your honey moon was successful! We appreciate the feedback - both positive and negative - as we strive to improve day by day. We would be delighted to host your next anniversary too. Do not hesitate to contact us for any further information.
Kind regards,
Eduardo Lang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

Great Hotel - supurb food , the hotel itself is amazing , great pools all with amazing views - good location and nice beach - staff are also excellent - nothing was too much for them . Very chilled atmosphere - one of the best hotels I have stayed in ! Thanks !

Room Tip: try and get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Insolitobo, Operations Manager at Insolito Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Lee,

Thank you for the kind words, we appreciate all positive and negative feedback in order to improve on a daily basis. We would be delighted to host your next vacation to Buzios. We some some really exciting events coming up with a new refurbished beach bar (Eden Beach) and new food and beverage menus all around the hotel.In the meantime indulge yourself in our social media pages for photos and articles.

Kind regards,
Eduardo Lang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

Spent 4 days at Insolito during off-season and the staff was incredibly attentive and kind. The resort was beautifully designed and decorated, amazing views, charming style. Further, the food was amazing. The massage / spa / yoga studio was lovely. We looked at other properties in the town while we were touring around and Insolito was by far the nicest in Buzios. Have had the opportunity to travel and stay at many luxury resorts and this was one of the best. We would definitely go back and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steftravels_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Insolitobo, Operations Manager at Insolito Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Stef,

Thank you for the great review! It is always great to hear the good experiences guests have had at the hotel. We are renewing our menus all around and adding interesting new drinks to the menus. Furthermore we have a new beach lounge opening in 3 weeks. Do not hesitate to contact us for more details and for booking your next trip to Insolito Boutique Hotel.

Kind regards,
Eduardo Lang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

When you pay 650 USD for a room, even if you sit on a pile of money you don't like to be fooled.
Insolito has a unique location, very nice decoration of the common areas and some very nice details.
HOWEVER, the rooms called 'luxury' are nothing special, not one single picture on the walls, view is inexistent, and aside from a comfortable bed, there was very little to justify such a hefty price (and one of the two showers was cold)
Also, the warm swimming pool was out of service, the hot tub was constantly dirty (very dirty) and there were several rain infiltrations in the pool area.
But the worst of all is that guests need to go fetch their own drinks, because there is no sufficient number of employees around when you sit somewhere in the (beautiful, it must be said) garden...
Had it cost 1/2 of the price, it would have been reasonable, for this money, I expect and am used to much, much more.
I'm never going back there, there are dozens of better options in Búzios!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Wave113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maximiliano B, Gerente at Insolito Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Dear Mr. ‘Wave’,
We thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts about the Insólito Boutique Hotel & Spa; We were recognized “Best Beach hotel of South America” in 2012 because we have been basing our training efforts on customers commentaries.
The customer’s choice and perception on the proposal of Insolito Boutique Hotel are ensured first.

We believe that our policies of rates and categories are clear and we keep the right to not make any remarks about values or classification of our rooms. The choice of category is an exclusive service of Insolito customer.
Furthermore, please consider that::
Our warm swimming pool is indeed under maintenance at the moment, as informed upon each guest’s reservation. In every guest room and in all public areas, there is a sign explaining that the other 3 swimming pools are available: the freshwater pool called “piscina azul”, the saltwater pool and of course the Natural Pool which surrounds Insólito`s property.

The two Ofuros and the Jacuzzi that can be found in our Garden, meticulously designed by French landscaper Anouck Barcat. Because of their location, in the middle of lush vegetation, they suffer from the inevitable action of nature, regardless of the daily maintainance.

Some of our suites are equipped with a double shower. One of them is purposely set on “cold”. The hotel provides instructions of how to set them both on “warm” is visibly posted in each room.

Our hotel adopts the concept of Tailor Made Hospitality. The personalized service delivered to our guests is guaranteed by the quality and quantity of our professionals. We consider ourselves privileged to have such professionals as part of our team and the recognition for the excellency of our service is our biggest pride. For those guests who prefer an exclusive attention, we propose our butler service for the duration of their stay.

We usually recognize all of our guests – even through their TripAdvisor profile. As we were not able to identify you from your Avatar and period of stay, we would appreciate if you could write directly to us, through our website, and allow us to demonstrate our intention to have you as our guest, again.

Cordially,
Maxx Tavares e Insolito Best Team

Sr Wave
Agrademos sua disposicao em expor seus pontos de vista sobre o Insolito.
‘E a opiniao de nossos clientes que nos fez reconhecidamente O Melhor Hotel de Praia da America do Sul em 2012!

A escolha do cliente e sua percepcao sobre a proposta do Insolito Boutique Hotel estao asseguradas em primeiro lugar. Consideramos que nossas politicas de preco e categoria sao claras e nos reservamos o direito de nao fazer observacoes sobre valores ou classificacao de apartamentos. A escolha de categoria ‘e de exclusividade do cliente Insolito.

A respeito de suas outras observacoes gostaria que fosse considerado:
Piscina: Nossa piscina aquecida encontra-se em manutencao conforme informado no ato da reserva. Ha disponivel nos apartamentos e areas sociais informativo sobre a reforma da mesma e nossa indicacao sobre nossas outras 3 piscinas disponiveis: a de agua doce, chamada piscina Azul, nossa piscina de agua Salgada e ainda a Pisicina Natural debrucada sobre as rochas que contornam nossa propriedade

Ofuro: Nossos dois ofuros e nossa Jacuzzi encontram-se em nosso Jardim, belamente projetado pela Paisagista Francesa Anouck Barcat. Por serem equipamentos dispostos em area de vegetacao frondosa, sofrem a acao natural da natureza mesmo com limpeza frequente e diaria.

Ducha Dupla: Em aptos com Ducha dupla, uma delas usualmente ‘e apenas de agua fria. Ha indicacao de uso no caso de desejar as duas em modo: quente.

Servico: Nosso hotel adota a politica de Hotelaria Tailor Made. Os servicos alem de personalizados contam com profissionais em qualidade e quantidade. Somos privilegiados com os profissionais que temos em nossas equipes e o reconhecimento pela excelencia de nossos servicos e atendimento ‘e nosso maior orgulho. Aos nossos clientes que mesmo assim preferem um atendimento mais exclusivo, oferecemos nossos servicos de Mordomos exclusivos durante a estadia conosco.

Por tratar-se de um hotel Exclusivo e com apenas 20 apartamentos, nosso atendimento personalizado possibilita que mesmo clientes nao Habitues nos deem os feedbacks de sua hospedagem conosco, seja pessoalmente ou atraves de nossos formularios internos.

Costumeiramente reconhecemos nossos hospedes – mesmo pelo perfil no tripAdvisor. Como nao reconhecemos seu Avatar e o periodo citado acima e rescente, gostariamos que se possivel o Sr. Se Identificasse com nossa equipe atraves de nosso site para que possamos entrar em contato e demonstrar nossa intencao em lhe receber novamente junto nos.
Cordialmente
Maximiliano Tavares e Time Insolito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ferradura Private
Hotel Ferradura Private
#16 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & Spa
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & S...
#4 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ferradura Resort
Ferradura Resort
#22 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Abracadabra Pousada
Abracadabra Pousada
#7 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pousada Pedra Da Laguna
Pousada Pedra Da Laguna
#15 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
1.2 mi away
Vila d'este
Vila d'este
#6 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Insolito Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Insolito Boutique Hotel

Property: Insolito Boutique Hotel
Address: Rua E1 - Lotes 3 e 4 | Praia da Ferradura, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 2895-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#10 Luxury Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#12 Family Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#12 Spa Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#14 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Insolito Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authenticity and charm in an exclusive location, this is the mixture that makes Insolito Hotel unique. Placed on one of the most beautiful beaches in Buzios, Praia da Ferradura, the Insolito is like a leap over the sea. A subtle luxury, fruit of its comfort, modernity and charm, manifested in all five senses, compose the Insolito. Living the Insolito is more than just turning that most special dream into reality. Living the Insolito, truthfully, is to have never awakened from that dream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Insolito Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Insolito Boutique Hotel Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing