We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lunch place at the beach.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fishbone

Fishbone
Cuisines: Brazilian, Bar, Seafood, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, After-hours, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great lunch place at the beach.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

My fish sandwich was the best I have ever had. Staff is great and they have wonderful restrooms. Don't laugh when you need it, you need it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank janglytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    174
    58
    28
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Santiago, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“mmmm far away from the hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

we went once but Geribá is a very cold beach!.....for those who like surf and bodyboard this is a nice option!!! and the restaurant is really near the beach!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas_MC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
110 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Disappointing, overrated.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

It presents itself as "the place to be" in Geribà Beach...but I'd stay away.
Service is slow and unattentive, the overall feeling is of a filthy place with filthy tables and smell of cheap beer.
They closed very early in the late afternoon and food wasn't available after 6 o'clock. Music and view are great but it takes more than that.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank enryfal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte, Brazil
Level Contributor
139 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Nice for a sunset drink but over rated.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Have been here several times to meet up with friends. I like the bar, music & drinks (food available) but definitely more so for the younger crowd. Located on busy surf beach there is plenty of people watching to do.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank SJperth_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“tourist trap...over priced....5 bucks for bathroom...please read”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

i'm a gringo that has gone to brazil for the last 12 years straight. whenever i travel i believe and exploring local eateries, and passing up on the tourist traps.
fishbone flaunts a good location on the beach....not to mention the entrance to the beach. the staff don't really give the attention to the clients......they seem to waiting for the next big fish to enter (no pun). it looks like a big pavilion with a ton of wooden picnic tables.
Now, as for the menu I wanted to get the fishbone (signature dish)....it was $180.00 reals for a size of fish (one person) , which is about $98.00 u.s for a slice of fish....a bit much for a mass eatery.
the other thing that got me was they had a cashier booth set up for the bathroom....$5.00 reals per person per time....to use the bathroom (sounds like a business)
if u walk straight out of the beach....down the block going toward the main road...there is a restaurant with glass doors....sorry don't know the name. anyway, my wife and i ate at this great restaurant....nice fish...rice...beans ..etc. for 50 reals (for 2 people)...which is like $25.00 u.s
Please keep in mind i travel quite a bit and understand that you sometimes have to pay for location, but you also have to draw a line when paying a bit more becomes up-surd.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank offonvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fishbone also viewed

Armacao dos Buzios, RJ
Armacao dos Buzios, RJ
 
Armacao dos Buzios, RJ
 
Armacao dos Buzios, RJ
Armacao dos Buzios, RJ
 

Been to Fishbone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing