We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food of the trip, gracious hosts”
Review of Pousada L'Escale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pousada L'Escale
Ranked #54 of 105 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Reviewed 12 March 2012

L'escale is a cozy pousada right on the water at the marina in Ossos, about a 10 minute stroll from the central area of Buzios, but also close to some of the other fantastic beaches at the tip of the peninsula.
The room was basic and a bit small for three people, but the owners were very helpful and accomodating in rearranging the room for us. They were also great in holding our bags for the day and making sure that we got to the bus station on time.
Breakfast was included and was DELICIOUS...though we were a little upset our second morning that there were no croissants ;)
We ate twice at the restaurant --fantastic food, it was the best we ate in our three week vacation. Try the profiteroles!

Room Tip: Very much worth it to get a sea view room with a hammock!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robynja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2012

The hosts: very friendly and helpful. They did everything they could to make us feel comfortable. They even saved our personal belongings after checkout so we can enjoy the rest of our day in the city without worring or carrying anything.

The place: location was perfect - by the water, there's action but you have your quiet space. 2 beach options - BUT the food @ Lescale is UNREAL that we ate there the SAME thing 2 days in a row. Breakfast is included and it was delicious!!

Safety: We felt very safe considering we had locks to the room, locks to the building, and andother set of locks for the fence gate (at night).

The room: we were 3 girls travelling with big luggages so room was tight but we managed just fine. The room, bath, and beds were all clean!

Highly recommended place! Will go back there on my next visit to Buzios!

Room Tip: If you are 1-2 travellers, request a balcony room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Great place to stay. Had a homey feel more than hotel. The breakfast was awesome! The French owners seem genuinely friendly and were very helpful. Great view of the water front and location. At night the area is very peaceful with little to no traffic and no noise! However you are still just a 5 -10 min walk from the center of the buzios night life.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heady99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

It's a lovely pousada in Bùzios and Sylvia and Francis are incredibly kind and helpful. Our room had a great view on the sea and we really enjoyed its position as it's not far from Praya Azeda and Azedinha, two very nice beaches!
Unfortunately we had a very strong stomachache because we ate on the beach and it isn't a good idea for Europeans!! Sylvia and Francis were very kind and prepared some rice for us.
They also arranged all the transfers from Rio and to the international airport by bus and they were quite cheap! At night it's a bit noisy but it wasn't annoying!
We really suggest this nice pousada and we regret we didn't eat every day in their delicious restaurant.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giulyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Simple clean tidy rooms, we were in the back room but the rooms at the front with sea views, deck, looked even better. Best thing about this Pousada was the location and the meals cooked in the restaurant by the french owner Francis.. recommend the fish.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoastersNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

This is a real gem in Buzios. The place is central, but still in an quiet and relaxing area. Run by a very nice and helpful couple.
Rooms are simple and clean, and with a wonderful sea view.
The breakfast served is something you would not even in a expensive hotel.

PS: The owner is also a excellent chef, so the food here is also highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magnusp78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

you will find the most gracious hosts and fine food. dont miss this spot for any meal..it was simply MANIFIQUE!

The fish was the best in Buzios and at half the cost compared to other fine spots in this perfect location..

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawson1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
Pousada Boutique Bella Nina
#46 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
222 reviews
Le Village Buzios Boutique Hotel
#31 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
349 reviews
Barla Inn
#61 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Pousada e Spa Villa Merced...
#48 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
376 reviews
Pousada Casa do Molino
#86 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
92 reviews
City Center
Hotel Pousada Luar de Buzios
Hotel Pousada Luar de Buzios
#93 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada L'Escale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada L'Escale

Address: Travessa de Santana 14 | Praia dos Ossos, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#11 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range: £53 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pousada L'Escale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Escale is a small 5 rooms hotel, tastefully decorated, enjoying all the amenities. - 3 Rooms with sea view and balcony (double bed, minibar, Air conditioning, TV, WiFi, safetybox) - 1 Standard room (2 single beds or 1 king size,minibar, air conditioning, TV, WiFi). Views of the sea and the sunset close to beaches near the center, without suffering the nuisance Refined and hearty breakfast bedding recent balcony with hammock TV, air conditioning security Supports transfer Recommendations for activities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Pousada L'Escale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada L'Escale Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing